Thinking about building a NAS, have some questions.

Overblod

Limp Gawd
I could really use a NAS so that different DVRs and Media servers can use a common storage. Retail price of the NAS seems to be pretty high so thinking about using desktop (2400G) or a Pi 3, both are sitting unused. Main question is, I have multiple 4TB HDDs, all desktop drives or "surveillance" drives, not "NAS" rated, is it okay to use these drives for home NAS? If I use the desktop, they will be connected to the SATA port or I use Pi it will be in a 2 bay USB dock.
Which is a better idea? Pi or 2400G? I would prefer the Pi due the to potential low power usage. As far as the OS goes, I have no preference, but as I have never done it before, it will be a steep learning curve, but I have the time and I am ready for the challenge.

The 2400G is going to make for a better server. The Pi 3 is really limited in its connectivity for storage: it basically only has USB (2?) and 100Mb Ethernet, which will really limit its capability. While the Pi 3 is good for a lot of little server type things, it is drastically slower than a typical x86 and it's noticeable (even thought in many cases the Pi is adequate). If those performance limitations are acceptable to you, the Pi is OK.

Standard drives are OK, but it kind of depends. If you're looking to put it in some sort of RAID, NAS drives avoid some of the TLER problems that normal drives encounter, and I believe they are built to reduce the compounded vibration issues that can arise using standard drives in large chassis arrays. If you're just going to hang them off a computer as individual shares it won't make a difference.

I would agree with iroc409. If you plan to only use it for storage and don't mind if it is slow. Then the pi might be ok. WOuld certainly be a fun project (if you look at it that way.) But I would definitely go with the 2400g. That will give you lots of options and ability to expand.