The remote support on the widespread "managed" level

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by YeOldeStonecat, May 15, 2009.

  1. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    I'm peeling this subcategory out of the common remote support/remote access threads that go around.

    Not a thread for instant remote access one time deals like Teamviewer, basic logmein.free, ShowMyPC, etc.

    Just starting a thread to get a good list of the remote support apps out there which can support multiple (many) machines out across the internet from one centralized management console that shows all of them. Something that can run as a full time agent on remote PCs...so you can log into them from one centralized control/management panel...in most cases "unattended" logins (nobody at the other end).

    The option of getting quick access to this from home at ones batcave, or from being out on the road via laptop would be good also.

    Not only have agents on the servers at clients sites...but also an agent on a few desktops of the primary users on these networks.

    Logmeins answer to this seems to be Logmein IT Reach
    https://secure.logmein.com/products/it/features.asp

    Kaseya
    http://www.kaseya.com/

    Bomgar appliance...the first one I saw.
    http://www.bomgar.com/

    N-Able
    http://www.n-able.com/press-room/mar12-07.php

    Let the list grow! :D
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  2. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,891
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    I use LMI IT Reach. Works very well

    I have heard of Bomgar as well.

    There is LMI Rescue also, but that requires user assistance
     
  3. orienz

    orienz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    techinline.net by far the best for instant remote,
    but yes Kaseya is good too but slow as shit :(
     
  4. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    I checked their site...but it just wants to shove a browser plugin in, I can't find anything else on it, I'm not looking for instant support (as stated above)...I already have 3x apps for that, I'm looking for a full time agent that has a main management console/panel so I can see hundreds of different managed clients in it all over the country and instantly connect without end user interaction, like a full time agent that runs on servers 'n workstations.
     
  5. calvinj

    calvinj [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Same consensus on our part. We were using radmin and it works with kaseya.. Try that combo out.
     
  6. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,191
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
  7. marley1

    marley1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,447
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    rescue isn't what you want, IT Reach is what you want
     
  8. SJConsultant

    SJConsultant 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    We use Kaseya... have been for a couple years now. Feel free to ask any questions.
     
  9. jratzo

    jratzo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Why not just logmein free?
     
  10. TechieSooner

    TechieSooner [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,601
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    That's what I use for our multiple-state machines... And it works great.
    The best thing is I can do it from home or relatives machines if I've ever got an issue I need to address.
     
  11. vapb400

    vapb400 Gawd

    Messages:
    786
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Kaseya! But not because of the remote features but its hundreds of other features!
    If doing any unattended work change it from VNC to RDP (it's a built in option) and speed will not be an issue.

    However if you are showing a user something I would recommend to just put up with the slowness of VNC

    Contact me if you want to demo Kaseya, I can set you up an account on our server to test for a weekend or something
     
  12. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,611
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    back page of this months Technet mag "http://netsupportmanager.com/", cant find any pricing though
     
  13. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Looks cool! I saw "Barclay" as one of their users....I've done work for accounting firms to access their banks across seas.
     
  14. calvinj

    calvinj [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,738
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Sorry If I'm derailing the thread, but how long did it take you to implement Kaseya and the features? Roughly from start to go live with it?
     
  15. Cax6ton

    Cax6ton Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    AD management and unattended remote access: Dameware NTU. It was easy to deploy the agent via logon script. Since it uses AD everything is already organized by container. Tweaking some other things (like the WOL database) can take some time, but overall it was very easy to put it out there, and easy for new admins to learn and use.
     
  16. TechieSooner

    TechieSooner [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,601
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Looks promising...
    How does it work for accounts of users that are not joined to the domain? IE, I've got users in AD but they are on standalone workgroup computers working from home...

    I like the per-administrator licensing too. For one admin:
    Explorer: 149
    Remote: 90
    NT Utilities (Both of the above): 289

    If all you want is the remote software... $90 can't be beat.
     
  17. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,611
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    we use Dameware for our remote tool, it works fairly good, only on domain machines, although the new version defaulted to installing the mirror driver, which f*d up our on air machines (when you disconnected the display/mirror driver shuts down/turns off)
     
  18. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,891
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
  19. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,191
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Definitely cheaper, also got a discount for participating in the beta. So it was even better for me. Also on Dameware, Dameware rocks, we have it here. Works fantastic in an AD environment, workable in a workgroup also. But definitely shines in AD for sure. :)
     
  20. Cax6ton

    Cax6ton Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    This is purely conjecture on my part, best shot is to try it with the demo - the eval version works just like the full version:

    If you can see the workgroup on your own machine, then DWRC can too. I have some workstations in my setup that are on the same network but not on the domain, and it works - obviously you can't manage accounts by remote, but as long as you can see a machine and remote to it as the admin, you can manage local accounts. Users offsite at home may be a different story, if you can't see their workgroup from inside your domain. You cans et the remote agent to use the proprietary credential login instead of Windows or AD challenge/response, which is the best way I have found to work on computers that aren't on my domain.
     
  21. MikeTrike

    MikeTrike [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,191
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Workgroup + Static IP + Admin Account = No problem for dameware if it does not show up automatically. You can manually add it to the list of machines.
     
  22. SJConsultant

    SJConsultant 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,600
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Not long, but that depends on how much time your willing to put into learning about all the features. The scripting portion is where we spend the majority of our time as we are automating as much as possible.

    Honestly the possibilities are endless therefore your always finding new ways to leverage the capabilities it offers.