The rebirth of Origami Master

W.Feather

[H]ard DCOTM x4 & [H]DCOTY x1
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
11,681
those cooler master fans dont move enough air for your prposes.....
 

chaandan

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
256
i am running my chips at 2.6 ghz and my temps stay at 48 to 50 and my apt ambient temp is at 80 F.

so for your 6174's those temps at 68 degree are really high.

i used to get 65 degree before because of wrong placement of fans/ speed of each. after tinkering for a while and changing the placement and speed now my temps are at a good level i think.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
i am running my chips at 2.6 ghz and my temps stay at 48 to 50 and my apt ambient temp is at 80 F.

so for your 6174's those temps at 68 degree are really high.

i used to get 65 degree before because of wrong placement of fans/ speed of each. after tinkering for a while and changing the placement and speed now my temps are at a good level i think.

What HSFs are you using? There is no way I could get my 6166s that low with basic Dynatron HSFs, let alone 6174s.
 

pjkenned

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
1,971
Bit higher than the 58C +/-2C that I was seeing with a very similar setup. Never had to use the 120mm -> 80mm adapters. Those A1's are ultra dense so once airflow is worked out, they will work well. One other thing is that I was using a 3 sided Silverstone HTPC case top flipped upside down for the board and then an Antec 900 (I think) case top to close off the top and mount a fan. The airflow was actually pretty good in that it would come from the top, get picked up by the 120mm fans through the A1's and out through the open sides.
 

DSee

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
2,176
I'm getting around 55-60C with 4x 6136's.. fans are set to 45% (Dynatron A6s).
 

chaandan

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
256
sorry forgot to mention , i use noctuas, also i use 8 fans per rig. i guess my temps will be a bit better than kendrak because of the noctuas.

anyways just like sfield mentioned if Kendrak changes the position of the fans slightly or use adapters his temps will be better
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Yeh, it is the fans.....

I ripped some 80mm fans out of a case and dropped them on the HSF.

There is a full 10C difference between them.

Now, where to find 120mm -> 80mm adapters quickly in small town Ohio.... ohh wait :(
 

sfield

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
74
You can tell if throttling has taken place via the handy -htc feature of TurionPowerControl (make sure to use the most recent version of this that is multi-node aware).

Code:
TurionPowerControl -htc | grep -i past

HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false
HTC features has been active (means overheated in past): false

You can reset the overheated in the past indicator by setting the limit again (70C being the default):
Code:
TurionPowerControl -htctemplimit 70

From what we can tell last night the chips are hitting a thermal threshold and downclocking.

I will try flipping the fans. I also have better ones on the way.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Well it seems that I have cobbled together something that will keep me working for a bit.

80mm fans work MUCH better. (bigger is not always better it seems)

Temps seem to be holding at mid to upper 50's

I just passed 1% on a 6901 and first fame was 7:11. I want to see what it will settle into.
 

flogge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
1,888
Step 1: Obtain six 22oz beer cans.
Step 2: Dispose of contents of cans in whatever fashion you see fit.
Step 3: Cut bottoms and tops from beer cans, then slice lengthwise to obtain flat aluminum sheets.
Step 4: Find out if you can fold as well as your boxen!
 

jfb9301

[H]ard DCOTM February 2016
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,652
I normally drink bottles, but in a pinch, I could help out a fellow folder and drink some beer.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Well, I have 2 better 80mm fans to go with the 2 good ones I have.

The better 2 are keeping them at 51C. So once I get those in, It will be OC time :cool:

Looks like this system will turn in 2 regular -bigadv every day.

Edit: I know it is working, but Ubuntu only tracks 32 threads. Anyway to see all 48?
 
Last edited:

Biffa

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Messages
226
525W is good! My 6176SE's are pulling near 720W at full chat, mind you temps are sub 50°C
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
525W is good! My 6176SE's are pulling near 720W at full chat, mind you temps are sub 50°C

It seems that it has lvl-ed out at 560 watts, but still not bad.
 
Last edited:

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
That's pretty impressive, although I don't approve of the fact that you are folding naked. With the kind of numbers you quad Magny people are getting, I really cannot wait to see what you will get once the Interlagos 16 cores are out. To be honest, I was kinda hoping to see Noctuas on this rig, but I suppose a bitch rigged cooling setup works just as well.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
That's pretty impressive, although I don't approve of the fact that you are folding naked. With the kind of numbers you quad Magny people are getting, I really cannot wait to see what you will get once the Interlagos 16 cores are out. To be honest, I was kinda hoping to see Noctuas on this rig, but I suppose a bitch rigged cooling setup works just as well.

HS I got where included in the deal. Noctuas would have added a fair bit to the cost of the rig.
 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,563
That's pretty impressive, although I don't approve of the fact that you are folding naked. With the kind of numbers you quad Magny people are getting, I really cannot wait to see what you will get once the Interlagos 16 cores are out. To be honest, I was kinda hoping to see Noctuas on this rig, but I suppose a bitch rigged cooling setup works just as well.
You might approve off my upcoming upgrade to my 6172 rig :)
 

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
You might approve off my upcoming upgrade to my 6172 rig :)

You already had me at the thought of a Magny Cour. I used to be very disappointed in these server chips until they started getting very popular with the folding crowd. It turns out that folding on a massively multiprocessor scale is the absolute perfect application to take advantage of such a processor. The fact that Intel rapes people on the quad capable server chips of course helps.


Heh, jebs knows how to roll in style as he is probably not one of those guys who goes and gets a big body BMW and only puts $5 worth of gas in it at a time :)

I just hope he won't be folding naked.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Well, I'm not sure what is going on. The WU finished a while ago (30 min or more) and it is just sitting here:

g34hung.jpg


I'm not sure if something got messed up on the install, but the SR-2 rigs never had this issue.
 

Haitch

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
383
did you remember to make the filesystem EXT3 - the one hour delay at the end of the unit is a known issue with the ( default ) EXT4 filesystem.

H.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
did you remember to make the filesystem EXT3 - the one hour delay at the end of the unit is a known issue with the ( default ) EXT4 filesystem.

H.

Probably not..... yeh, I know I didn't.

Well, I took the old HDD from the SR-2 system and plugged it in and it seems to be doing fine.... :p

I hope :eek:

(If this works I'm tempted to make a ISO of this install and back it up)
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
Well, I'm not sure what is going on. The WU finished a while ago (30 min or more) and it is just sitting here:

g34hung.jpg


I'm not sure if something got messed up on the install, but the SR-2 rigs never had this issue.

One word - langouste - it is working fine.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
But no network activity...

It was my bad not setting up the file system correctly :(

May have been that langouste wasn't running....who knows. I thought I set up a startup script, but we never tested it.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
It seems we shaved about 10 seconds of the TPF with using the older version of ubuntu...

Humm go figure

/shrug
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
921
You can mount EXT4 as EXT3... I don't know if it'll fix the problem but it's worth the try if you don't want to reinstall everything.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Well I cheated and just used a HDD that was already setup. :eek:
 

Activate: AMD

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
1,994
You can mount EXT4 as EXT3... I don't know if it'll fix the problem but it's worth the try if you don't want to reinstall everything.
yea, i'll probably just reformat as EXT3 when this 6904 finishes (in like 3 days) theres nothing else on the rig and the setup takes only 30 min or so
 

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
As much as you guys seem to love Linux, I sure hope that the PG brings bigbeta to Windows sooner rather than later. I wouldn't mind giving it a try with my Gulftown which is clocked at 3.6ghz.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
921
As much as you guys seem to love Linux, I sure hope that the PG brings bigbeta to Windows sooner rather than later. I wouldn't mind giving it a try with my Gulftown which is clocked at 3.6ghz.
Looking at the crazy people here I think it's more of a love for MOAR D than anything else really. Linux just happens to be the flavor of the month right now. :D
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,502
Looking at the crazy people here I think it's more of a love for MOAR D than anything else really. Linux just happens to be the flavor of the month right now. :D

2 reason why that won't happen soon...

the linux client is native 64bit... windows client is 32bit... bigadv needs the space for lots of cores... kind of... it would on windows...

and windows takes another performance hit for lacking full numa support... linux has this... and the kraken wrapper adds this for the fah client.

I would like linux and windows to both have viable clients for bigadv... but until PG revs the client windows side...
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
As much as you guys seem to love Linux, I sure hope that the PG brings bigbeta to Windows sooner rather than later. I wouldn't mind giving it a try with my Gulftown which is clocked at 3.6ghz.

I actually hate Linux for most things. My love of the ~80% ppd increase (or whatever it is) for quad socket AMD rig overrides my hate for Linux. Even the 15% boost on Intel systems overrode my hate for Linux.

You, my friend, have the perfect setup for Linux. You don't do anything with your two machines besides fold, so you won't run into issues related to trying to get Linux to do something besides fold - what I affectionately refer to as the jebo "why can't a click a button and Ubuntu acts like WHS?" syndrome. You also don't have multiple proc machines, so that takes out the need for the kraken. That leaves you with a basic Ubuntu install plus BFS, which is pretty simple.

For those of you who use "I don't know anything about Linux" as an excuse for not using it, I'll let you in on a secret - in the spring of last year, I had never installed Linux on a PC in my life. My first install was Ubuntu 8.10 Desktop on an I7 920 dedicated folder to get rid of the VM and run bigadv natively. My point is, I am a relatively new to Linux myself, and I can function with it.
 

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
I actually hate Linux for most things. My love of the ~80% ppd increase (or whatever it is) for quad socket AMD rig overrides my hate for Linux. Even the 15% boost on Intel systems overrode my hate for Linux.

You, my friend, have the perfect setup for Linux. You don't do anything with your two machines besides fold, so you won't run into issues related to trying to get Linux to do something besides fold - what I affectionately refer to as the jebo "why can't a click a button and Ubuntu acts like WHS?" syndrome. You also don't have multiple proc machines, so that takes out the need for the kraken. That leaves you with a basic Ubuntu install plus BFS, which is pretty simple.

For those of you who use "I don't know anything about Linux" as an excuse for not using it, I'll let you in on a secret - in the spring of last year, I had never installed Linux on a PC in my life. My first install was Ubuntu 8.10 Desktop on an I7 920 dedicated folder to get rid of the VM and run bigadv natively. My point is, I am a relatively new to Linux myself, and I can function with it.

Yeah, but i'd have to do some work to get it running. Windows is so frickin easy that I just point and click and the client is up and running. I have thought about toying with it, but I would need to pick up another router first so that I can get it to act as a bridge since both folding rigs are on wireless. Especially with things running so smoothly right now, i'm just not too interested in fidgeting with it and having to spend money on another router.
 
Top