The Official Post Pics Of Your Rig 2014 Thread!

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by HardOCP News, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. Indio

    Indio n00bie

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Linux....
     
  2. JaccoW

    JaccoW [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    18 Kg of 4mm aluminum plate worked open in strategic places, folded 15 times and anodized in two different colours.
    That alone makes it really expensive.
    Add to that the included custom sleeved cables and you have a quality case on your hand.

    I have a custom solid aluminum keyboard that costs about as much as that case. :D

    My Zalman Z-Machine GT-1000 is my primary rig to this day and it is still a brilliant looking case. That too was an 18 Kg aluminum case. €350 at the time.
    It just depends where your priorities lie. ;)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    (Very old pic btw. But you get the idea)
    That thing is a beast! :eek:

    Aren't you afraid of the 5TB raid-0 though?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2014
  3. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    249
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    I can run 16GB (4 modules) at DDR4 3200. With 32GB (8 modules) I can only get 2800 with the same timings. Nothing I use actually needs 32GB, so I went with the faster 16GB.

    Nope, I backup to the 6TB HDD regularly.

    When I was running eight 512GB SSDs in RAID-0 on my X79 system I did the same thing. The drives never failed anyway in the 2 years I had it running.
     
  4. newparad1gm

    newparad1gm n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Think I'm hitting the limits of space and air cooling with my current setup in my FT02.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Kritter

    Kritter Gawd

    Messages:
    620
    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    10 pounds of computer in a 2 pound case.
    Doesn't go much over 40C

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jamsomito

    jamsomito 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,225
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    That's just awesome. Is that the Carbide 240 in your sig?

    I love how you mounted the pump on the back - genius. Fits perfectly there.
     
  7. deff

    deff 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,644
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Could you post more pics? Very interesting build!
     
  8. TorxT3D

    TorxT3D Gawd

    Messages:
    545
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    admiring all these builds.

    that inwin sframe is a sick case! but im sure you gotta have no pets, no dander, and keep your house sterile as possible or else lots of dust and static can be introduced into that case.
     
  9. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Love your system, but i think its in dire need of H2O cooling.

    Otherwise you will never get the max out of your video cards and CPU, specially my video cards loved water cooling, i got a 25% extra overclock, and i hear the 980 will go even higher.

    Tho you properly have to switch cases, like to a 900D or even better a Silverstone TJ11.

    Tho if you wane do water cooling for a rig like yours good its not cheap but worth it, a specially the noise reduction was very welcome, next to the performance boost.

    This is roughly what i have in my system, only i am using Titan cards, a TJ11 case, what imho the ultimate water cooling case is that you can get.

    I also wane go over to a X99 mobo, but i am waiting for 16GB memory modules to come out, as i dont wane do without a RAMdisk as in game level loading is so much faster then from SSDs, also i have less game stutters when i use a RAMdisk.

    I use Primo RAMdrive and i use batch files to load and unload my games, its a bit complicated to setup but i have it working the way i like.

    But Dimmdrive works also fine, and for that RAMdrive you dont have to have a lo of memory, and can be integrated with Steam.
     
  10. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    249
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Appreciate the feedback. Didn't think my system would be on the front page.

    I'll stick with the cooling I have now. If I want faster, I'll just upgrade to whatever the latest and greatest is in the coming months and sell off what I have now. This will undoubtedly happen. It's always been that way for me. It was the same for my X79 system, X58 system, and so on. People have always said the same thing. It's fine if others feel it should be a requirement. It's already faster than 99% of the custom water cooled PCs in the world. No need for me to go all out. :)
     
  11. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    When i got my 3x Titan (v1) setup, i had too wait on the blocks, i really hated to be in the same room as the PC, the noise was irritating me as hell, and i even used 3 slot spacing then.

    Even with the old Quad CF 2GB 5870 Matrix setup, clocked at 1.1GHz and a 5GHz 3930K drawing from 900W to a 1300W max from the wall during stress testing, my system was whisper quiet.


    Dose the noise not bother you at all of those 4 cards?
     
  12. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    249
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    No, doesn't bother me. The HEPA air filter in my computer room is louder. The fans on the 980s don't really get all that loud when gaming anyway. With vsync on and load balanced across all GPUs there's not much to make the fans spin way up. Only during benchmarking or stress testing do I hear them. It's much better compared to the 4X Titans I had before.
     
  13. w00t69

    w00t69 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    320
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    At the very least you need to take the plates off each of the 980's in order to facilitate better airflow to the fan on each one.

    It's that little raised plate held on by one screw. Take em off :D
     
  14. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    He is talking about these plates.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you can see there is a temp difference whit the back open and closed.

    I am glad tho that mine are water cooled as you say you can really hear the Titans, and as i have 50% more mega pixels then you, i also need every bid of GPU hp i can get, and next to that 4GB VRAM is not enough for 12.3MP of screen space during gaming.
     
  15. Curl

    Curl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    [​IMG]

    Not much, but she's mine. Still working airflow and aestetics. I'll take more pics after I get it all sorted. Specs in sig.
     
  16. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    249
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    I just read that PC Perspective article. They said with the back plate on the noise was reduced with "smoother air" coming in, but some cards were about 4 degrees hotter. They said with it off the noise increased due to "air turbulence". I'll certainly remove 3 of them when I get home from work and keep them off. I didn't even know that portion of the back plate was removable.
     
  17. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    249
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    You may want to take two of the back plate sections off of your cards as well. I took three of the plates off of the bottom cards in my system. Left the plate on for the top card. I do notice it takes a bit longer for the cards to heat up when looping Unigine Heaven. Don't notice a significant increase in noise. It doesn't seem to do much, but I suppose every little bit helps.
     
  18. likeman

    likeman Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    why cant you just use a single SSD as the map is loaded when joining server (they all do at least 500MB/s just pick an SSD that has the lowest latency if that matters much with an modern SSD any more)

    at some point before the end of this year a going to replace this work horse i7-920 i have (24gb thought comes in handy with one game that eats ram the more planets there are)
     
  19. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    For me as is raw Sequential SSD speed is the most important, as i move the hole image of a game from SSD to the RAM.

    But to explain it how it all works, i have to go then way offtopic, but basically it works similair as mounting a ISO image whit Win8 or Deamon Tools, and you load all game data in system memory, and system memory is about 10 till 100 times faster then a SSD.
     
  20. PCunicorn

    PCunicorn [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,639
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Not much? Are you joking? It's beautiful, and beefy. Maybe it's not insane but "not much" is way too modest.
     
  21. Curl

    Curl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Thanks bro! Thing is, I look at some of the rigs in this thread and "damn... and I thought I was doing a little something..." lol
     
  22. newparad1gm

    newparad1gm n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Yeah I didn't even know those were removable. Time to go back into my machine and get those off. Although I'm not sure what the results for removing the one on the top card will be, as that is the one that is touching my CPU cooler.
     
  23. CaptNumbNutz

    CaptNumbNutz Bulls[H]it Master

    Messages:
    18,147
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    The only point to remove them is to allow a couple extra millimeters of space so the card that is sandwiched next to it can breathe in air. Removing the plates on your top most card closest to the CPU will do nothing.
     
  24. Spotswood

    Spotswood Gawd

    Messages:
    660
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Here's a custom test bench I just finished. Its "custom" feature is enough mounting rails for 6 HDs and some extra extrusions to fully "enclose" the case.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I hope bare aluminum cases are ok in this thread.
     
  25. newparad1gm

    newparad1gm n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    On the 980 closest to my CPU, that extra piece of the backplate actually touches the cooling fins of the NH-D15 and pushes the bottom fan to the side as well. If I remove this, the card no longer touches the CPU cooler.

    I have my cards actually set to prioritize temperature and try to maintain 80C. With the pieces removed, my middle card still hits 80C in some games, but I've noticed in Afterburner that the core clocks are faster than before at 80C with the backplate pieces still on, so removing them definitely helped.
     
  26. Armenius

    Armenius [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,582
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Damn, that's a sexy case. $900, though :eek:... I'd rather spend that on your monitor.
     
  27. PCunicorn

    PCunicorn [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,639
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    You can't really get a single monitor thats better then that. Higher resolution, yes, but some people dont want that. They want width.

    Nice build Neutrino!
     
  28. Whach

    Whach Gawd

    Messages:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    My little work-horse. Some of the rigs in this thread are unreal! So good.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2014
  29. spugm1r3

    spugm1r3 Gawd

    Messages:
    870
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    I have that same background on my desktop :)
     
  30. Whach

    Whach Gawd

    Messages:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Jinx ! ; )
     
  31. Mannymal

    Mannymal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    201
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Can you share that background?
     
  32. blade52x

    blade52x 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,880
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    My new X99 workstation. Too much sunlight in this room taking away from the LED light up effect. :)

    [​IMG]

    It requires a custom side panel (WIP - just going to make something meshes without any intake fans and let negative pressure draw air in) as all of my rads are blowing out of the case.
     
  33. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    You can just go to NASA, and there are many other places, and download a high res photo from there, some even have super resolution and are many MBs big.

    I had no problem finding a 7680x2800 photo of the milky way, ware i have the milky way in the middle of my 30" monitors, and the picture stretching out over the two 24'' screens that hang on top of that.

    And yes it looks real cool
     
  34. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    302
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Yea plz retake the photo at night or so, because you cant even really see the waterblock's, and it looks like your case is worth it. :D

    Btw what speeds do you get from your WC Titans, i get 1215/1850 max game stable, and 1180/1850 for Furmark.
     
  35. blade52x

    blade52x 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,880
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    I get 1215/1825 bench stable AFAIK. I'm not sure what game stable is. I tend to leave them running at "stock" which is a 1006mhz on the Skyn3t bios. I'm still running a single monitor, and even though 144Hz 1440p is as demanding at 60Hz 4K, running 80+ fps on 1440p feels a lot better than 35 on 4K. I'll start overclocking them finding game stable if I start falling below 80 consistently. :D
     
  36. ebduncan

    ebduncan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,920
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Here is mine. I'm due for some external cable management behind the desk but well ya...

    [​IMG][/URL]
     
  37. Mobolo

    Mobolo n00bie

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
  38. Mobolo

    Mobolo n00bie

    Messages:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
  39. kipliq

    kipliq n00bie

    Messages:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Hey all I'm back after a few years rebuilding my computer I have a stock PC-A05, The single braded cables look very nice but I don't have windows or lights any benefits? Trying to talk my self out of spending $200 on a set lol. I have my wires tucked pretty good atm.
     
  40. blairellis

    blairellis Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    398
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007