The *Official* Post Pics Of Your Network Thread

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by big-homer, Jan 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. :p Dont worry about that one.
     
  2. Sniper|3d-R|

    Sniper|3d-R| [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,730
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Thanks, I enjoy it :D

    Yeah.... the poweredge was free, So I got 3 of them. Peiced them together to make one solid server. Still slow, but its functional and its damn solid!
     
  3. jojo1224

    jojo1224 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    177
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Whats the specs?
     
  4. Sniper|3d-R|

    Sniper|3d-R| [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,730
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    P3 500mhz

    ~900mb pc133

    3x15k SCSI 80GB drives
    3x10k SCSI 100gb drives

    intel dual gig NIC

    win2k3

    nothing fancy.:p
     
  5. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    New toy coming to a network near me :D

    (a.k.a. coming to me via UPS Ground)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Jay_2

    Jay_2 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,583
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    I have one of those Dell server around here as well. I think the PSU may be faulty though.

    I have a couple of 1600SC Dual Xeon 2.4s as well.
     
  7. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    looking good
    What model is it? Hard to see in the picture
     
  8. Watch out, someone will complain about useless posts ;)
     
  9. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    eh, the person who complains is increasing their post count with useless posts ;)
     
  10. The thing is i dont actually care about post count, im just bored..

    I dont understand this whole post count thing.
     
  11. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    i'm with ya. To be honest, i haven't checked my post count in a while. I think i'm probably over 1000 by now...
     
  12. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Looks like a 3550-48.
     
  13. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    ok, thanks for the clarification.. :)
     
  14. marley1

    marley1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,447
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    both you guys are noobs, joined in 2007 and have like 3000 posts. useless posts is right!!!!!!!!!!11111

    =p

    AMD_Rules
    Join Date: 03-26-2007
    Posts
    Total Posts: 1,356 (4.17 posts per day)

    ring.of.steel
    Join Date: 01-06-2007
    Posts
    Total Posts: 2,538 (6.27 posts per day)

    marley1
    Join Date: 07-18-2000
    Posts
    Total Posts: 2,246 (0.81 posts per day)

    lols you guys are nerds. AMD_Rules, how the fukc you have so much free time as a dentist?
     
  15. LittleMe

    LittleMe 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,977
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2001
    I guess mine isn't so bad. I've been around here posting for 7 years and reading for 8+.

    LittleMe
    Join Date: 02-20-2001
    Posts
    Total Posts: 2,363 (0.93 posts per day)
     
  16. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Geez... I'm quoting myself :p

    It's a Cisco Catalyst 3500 XL 48 Port Switch, Model WS-C3548-XL-EN

    Going to be setting up a new network for a company that's moving to a new building. Wiring Cat5E and so on. I don't think they'll need Gigabit and I got this for about $90 with shipping. Retails online for $200+. I'll sell it to them for $500+ :D
     
  17. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    nice deal ;) j/k
     
  18. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Sad thing is, its End of Service. So when it does die, they'll have to replace the switch. Cisco will not sell you a service contract on it.

    I've got about a dozen of them setting in my lab that have various problems wrong with them and another dozen in my warehouse that are completely dead.
     
  19. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    I always give a 1 year guarantee. If it dies within a 1 year, I replace it FREE OF CHARGE. So, by marking up the price by about 400%, I'm hedging myself against the failure of the switch. If it doesn't die, I'm in the clear after 1 year. After that, I will replace it with whatever switch I can get my hands on and I'll give them a good deal and be professional about it.

    If it does die within 1 year, then I'll have to get another with the costs coming out of pocket (my own, that is). It's a risk, but a small risk. Either way, they're a good company and I do a good job for them and always stay longer and if it's a short visit, I don't even charge them. So, it's a mutual understanding.
     
  20. Jay_2

    Jay_2 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,583
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    I think Cisco "end of service" to many things way too soon.
     
  21. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Actually, Not really. The 3500 XL series switches are around least 5yrs old. Seems like a decent life span to me. (Looking at the one on my desk, its 7yrs old. MFG Jan 21, 2001)

    End of Life = Cisco stops selling the device.
    End of Service = Cisco stops supporting the device.

    IIRC, you get at least 2yrs EoL before the device goes EoS.


    Ravin,
    Hey thats fine, if thats how you do business. I wouldn't be caught dead doing things that way.
     
  22. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    How would you go about it?
     
  23. marley1

    marley1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,447
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    better way is getting stuff below msrp or retail and charging them msrp or retail. thats where the wonderful world of resellers and ebay come into play.
     
  24. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Not sell them old and outdated equipment. This is the same reason why people get a bad taste in there mouth over cisco equipment. Someone sold them an old piece of hardware and it died out of warranty.

    CDW and your local Cisco VAR are your friends. Cisco has a VAR search engine for a reason.

    marley,
    This is the same reason VAR's like the company I work for are in business. Cisco requires you to have a certain level of certifications to get certain discounts. No one on ebay can match our prices and if by chance they can, its because they are breaking terms.
     
  25. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Companies like your are exactly what drives sole proprietors and small business owners to do exactly what I do. $1,500 for a 24 port switch? $3k for a 48-port switch? C'mon... They'd be happy with a Netgear GS724T that I use and got for sub $300.

    So, which is better? A sub-$300 Netgear switch or the Cisco aforementioned? Either way... they get the switch replaced for free.

    I was under the impression that a Cisco switch that's 5 years old is better than a new Netgear. Am I wrong?

    I don't know enough networking to know the difference... Level 2 and Level 3 switching means nothing to me and to my customers. Companies that neeed L2 and L3 switching would neither hire me nor would I want to go and f*ck things up for them. I know my place in the real world and I know how much I can and cannot handle. So, for a company who will have 1 server, or even if that (they're fine the way they are and don't want to change), I thought a Cisco was a good idea.

    Hmmm... maybe I should rethink my strategy. Any thoughts?

    P.S. Yes, I know I should be posting this under the main Networking thread, but I'll attach a pic so as to give something useful :D

    [​IMG]
     
  26. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Ravin,
    The 3500 XL is a good switch (It does L3 and QoS) and is hands down better than the netgear. I was getting at the fact the Cisco switch has no warranty nor can you buy one for it.

    I know what your doing and thats fine. I have a local company that wanted Cisco but refused to pay the price for them. The instead went with some $50 Cnet switches. The argument they had was the same situation your in. They didn't know what the Cisco switch they have in service was capable of and all they wanted was L2 switching. Regardless of how much I explained things to them, they didn't care. Mind you this was a metal processing facility with roughly 10x 24port switches. The network was slow and clunky, it could of used some segmenting and gigabit uplinks. (The old network was 100Mb Hubs and 100Mb uplinks between switches.)

    Generally I'd say, "Leave it to the professionals" however, in this case i'll let it slide.
     
  27. marley1

    marley1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,447
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
    if you aren't using managed switch, or see a need for them why are you even recommending cisco or using gear like that.

    you would much be better off getting dell 24 ports gig with web managed for 270 bucks and having a quality unit thats new and will be replaced overnite if there are any problems.

    you are probably in the same field I am, most of my clients are small home office, home users, small businesses (no more then 30 machines). i don't over recommend crap they wont need. i run those Dell Powerconnect switches that I get for a little under retail through the VAR, and charge the client just a little more to pay for shipping, tax + hassle of putting together estimate lol. I immediately turn off the web managed and I just have a quality switch with overnite warranty.

    I am not a big fan of netgear, dlink or linksys switches. I have had the same linkysy switch fail after a year after each time it was replaced, same with all those brands.

    I like using the Dell gear just because they have been the best to me in terms of sale and support. I also just picked up Freedom9 as a reseller because they have proven to be extremely good with support and sales again. I call up never put on hold and the stuff works well. They started out targeting places that I support.

    I try to never sell used, refurbished gear, and if I do I tell the client that there is no warranty and I make that clear to them. The better way to do is to get your gear off ebay that still has a warranty and charge them msrp or newegg pricing.

    But dont let us tell you what to do, if its been working out for you, go for it!
     
  28. jeffmoss26

    jeffmoss26 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,267
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    I think that Cisco switch is overkill for that application, especially because you stated you don't know about L2 and L3 switching. That leads me to ask, why did you recommend this switch then? As others have said, you would have been fine with a Dell switch or something along those lines.
     
  29. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Thanks for the input guys!

    I didn't have any reason for recommending Cisco. In fact, they probably wouldn't care and wouldn't know the difference. But, at sub-$100 for this Cisco, I think it's a reasonable switch with 48 ports (the # of ports was my main concern).

    But, yeah... definitely no need for L2 and L3 switching. Have to learn more about it... once I do that, I think it'll open up a whole new market to me.
     
  30. jeffmoss26

    jeffmoss26 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,267
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Let me ask you this...was it guaranteed not DOA from the seller? If you get it and it's dead...you will likely have to spend more money and buy a different switch. You will have more time and money wrapped up in this project. You mentioned it being less than 100 dollars...that is your cost. The customer is still paying 500 dollars or whatever it is you are charging them. I wouldn't feel right marking something up that much, especially because it is not new.
    If this were my customer, I would sell them a new switch, one that is right for their needs.
     
  31. RavinDJ

    RavinDJ 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,952
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    The $500 figure I gave was arbitrary. However, I do agree with you about the fact that a new switch would be a much better.

    Which of these would you recommend?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122082

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124269

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833105143

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122092

    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

    P.S. The Cisco can then stay in my hands and I could add it to my soon-to-be growing rack :p
     
  32. AMD_RULES

    AMD_RULES 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    And people were complaining about useless posts... :rolleyes:

    Ask your questions in a new thread, not this thread. Only post pictures, not questions.

    Back on topic!!
     
  33. marley1

    marley1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,447
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2000
  34. BobSutan

    BobSutan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,467
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.