The *Official* Post Pics Of Your Network Thread

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by big-homer, Jan 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ibanez3434

    Ibanez3434 Bad Trader

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Eh, the noise is my only complaint. Man, and I thought my ASPIRE X-Alien was loud. Plus 30$ shipped wasn't bad either :).
     
  2. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    where did it retire to? in a box to my house i hope...
     
  3. osbjmg

    osbjmg n00b

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
  4. Veeb0rg

    Veeb0rg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,278
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    prolly gonna gut it and turn it into a 2u router..
     
  5. Artluo100

    Artluo100 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    451
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    This is a general overview of mine..eh just came out of college so it's alright for now

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Veeb0rg

    Veeb0rg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,278
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    nah it was in the basement, i never heard it..

    I just got sick of it.. i didn't know what i was doing with it, the management stuff scared me..

    i don't like hardware thats smarter then i am.
     
  7. TekieB

    TekieB [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    300gb scsi dirves???? do they exist? Other than that holy :eek:

    what type of pipe do you have feeding all of that?
     
  8. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    pics are necessary!
     
  9. Scheizekopf

    Scheizekopf [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,694
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Definately!!
     
  10. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    jesus christ thats a private home?
     
  11. corran_horn314

    corran_horn314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    445
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
  12. Xipher

    Xipher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,621
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Dude, they are already making 400GB SATA drives, and I believe 500GB are in the works (functional but not yet mass produced)
     
  13. corran_horn314

    corran_horn314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    445
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    he seemed to be surprised not that hard drives that big existed, but that they were scsi. scsi drives in general are held to a much higher standard than others, so they are fast and reliable but don't always have terribly high capacities.
     
  14. TekieB

    TekieB [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    qft... Thought it might have been a type, espcially for a home system.

    and for all that mac hardware you should get a x-raid!
     
  15. Artluo100

    Artluo100 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    451
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    I'll try to get some pics up as soon as possible my EXILIM was sent back because it stopped working and my brother and my sister are in college right now. I'm going to ask my friend for his camera. I'll keep you guys posted. Also, do you think I should switch to Verizon DSL since it has increased the DL speed to 3.0 Mbps and Upload to 768 Kbps, my Optimum is great (10/1) but I'm always getting capped because of my FTP server. Any help would be great. Thanks.
     
  16. EnderW

    EnderW [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,889
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    holy shit

    and what did you use to make that neat little pic?
     
  17. Ibanez3434

    Ibanez3434 Bad Trader

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Microsoft Visio 2003

    And yes, Holy shit...

    [​IMG]
     
  18. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    What are you hosting on the FTP? keyboard drivers?? ;)

    shutting that down might help you out a bit......I personally would stay with 10/1 any day
     
  19. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    I switched to verizon only because you never actually get anywhere near 10. Oh and Optimum is like $50 a month and capped and worse yet its monitored. Verizon offered me 6 months free and a free 4 port wireless router. So I've been using this for two months now and get consistant speeds.
     
  20. KoZLop

    KoZLop [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Originally Posted by Artluo100
    I'll try to get some pics up as soon as possible my EXILIM was sent back because it stopped working and my brother and my sister are in college right now. I'm going to ask my friend for his camera. I'll keep you guys posted. Also, do you think I should switch to Verizon DSL since it has increased the DL speed to 3.0 Mbps and Upload to 768 Kbps, my Optimum is great (10/1) but I'm always getting capped because of my FTP server. Any help would be great. Thanks.


    Try switching you're ftp server ports.
     
  21. Artluo100

    Artluo100 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    451
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    would switching server ports work? they still would cap you on how much you upload on any port right? i mean i get a constant 9-10 on optimum and i LOVE it but the capping is driving me nuts. I hope verizon FIOS won't have capping because then it's just not worth it.
     
  22. KoZLop

    KoZLop [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    I can't see them capping every port, Only the one's you used.
     
  23. Cactus Jack

    Cactus Jack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    508
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    You're going to have to live with the upload nazis until you move somewhere else. Optonline caps your total upload amount, it doesn't matter about what port the data is coming from.
     
  24. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    switching ports wont do jack. A friend of mine and I were invited to an optonline confrence a few years back regarding issues its users would like to see solved or changed. I was the only who addressed the issue. I got up and was like so why do you guys cap out connections, isnt that illegal since we are paying for a service we arent receiving? Then they asked what I was transfering. I figured what the hell no one knows my name I said music, movies and porn. everyone laughed and the spokesmen said well you can't do that, I said who are you to tell me what I can and can't do? I don't see a badge on you, I got a nice big applause, sat down and they were silent for a good 2 minutes, then I finished my soda and in silence I slurped the last bit out.
     
  25. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    After the green fibers now some blue ones :D

    We set up a network for a 450 gamers last thursday...

    [​IMG]

    Of course some Cisco Switches... :rolleyes:
     
  26. PlusLabs

    PlusLabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    You still have not told us where you get the cables or your equipment... :confused:
     
  27. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Uhh.. yes.. i forgot that... :rolleyes: i will ask our network technician...
    as far as i know we buy them via a large cablesupplier here in Switzerland.
     
  28. rayman2k2

    rayman2k2 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,070
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002

    how can someone gather the courage to say that?
     
  29. ikari303

    ikari303 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    :p sexy.
     
  30. RogerX

    RogerX Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    212
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Forum crash while I was trying to post. Ghey :(

    Anyway, can't post pics of my work datacenter. It's a Fortune 500 company, though, and the networking hardware is bad ass. :cool:

    Here are some pics of my home network. I installed 10 jacks in my 50-year-old home... 16 Cat5e ethernet, 8 RG-60 CATV, and 9 RJ-11 POTS. Got the jacks and such on eBay, and built the rack myself. Whadya think? ;)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  31. Xipher

    Xipher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,621
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Like the rack setup. Thats alot of cables though, lol.
     
  32. Ibanez3434

    Ibanez3434 Bad Trader

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    ROFL, yes, my day is made, I can die happy. Wish I could see that on tape. Move over superman I have a new hero...

    [​IMG]
     
  33. Raving_Maniac

    Raving_Maniac Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    169
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    My Home network is rather small, 5 computers and 4 port switch.

    [​IMG]
    This is my room...
    No noisy computers, only the monitor, keyboard and laptop....
    The cable for the monitor goes thru the wall in to the next room, and the keyboard and mouse are wireless....

    [​IMG]
    The bed and couch...

    [​IMG]
    Then 2 of my computers in the next room...
    Two Linux servers, one firewall and one for fun...

    [​IMG]
    This is my gaming computer and storage...

    [​IMG]
    It has 1 SCSI hdd 15k and 4 200Gb...

    [​IMG]
    My PSTN, ISDN , Skype and ADSL...
    The switch is only temporary I have ordered a new 16 port switch.
    The green cable goes from a network card to a WiFi box on the roof that connects me to my friend’s network.

    [​IMG]
    And my KVM switch for all boxes...


    The black laptop in my room isn’t my own I’m fixing it for at friend...
    I don't have pictures of my 5 computer it is connected to my TV and sound system.
     
  34. accessx

    accessx n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    looks good, should get a 1U rackmount KVM!!!
     
  35. ksanders2006

    ksanders2006 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    157
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003

    Caaaaaabbblllee management :cool:
     
  36. Flo

    Flo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    296
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    [​IMG]

    Fairly standard stuff here. Linksys BEFSR41 (rev 2) DSL router, no-name 5-port 10/100 hub (caseless because it gets freaking hot) on top, DSL modem in the back. Connected to 5 computers (100Mbit) and my digital satellite receiver (10Mbit).
     
  37. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Is that a single drive bezel occupying two 3.5" bays?
     
  38. AaronP

    AaronP Bad [H]SS Mofo

    Messages:
    11,550
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005

    o_O I'd give anything just to have 1/2 that many computers in my home...you rich sob!
     
  39. Z3Px

    Z3Px Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    325
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Thats pretty rediculous right there...
     
  40. AMDXP

    AMDXP 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,631
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Agreed 13 computers common........
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.