The *Official* Post Pics Of Your Network Thread

Discussion in 'Networking Gallery' started by big-homer, Jan 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PlusLabs

    PlusLabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    By the way, I want to make my galleries big, so please do not hesitate to upload all of your computer/networking related pictures here
     
  2. PlusLabs

    PlusLabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
  3. Scheizekopf

    Scheizekopf [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,694
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
  4. PlusLabs

    PlusLabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
  5. Kaiga

    Kaiga Gawd

    Messages:
    827
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    damn... just.. just damn....

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    I'll give ya two of those for that coronet of yours
     
  7. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    heh they would probably cost more than I paid for it :eek:
     
  8. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    lol.
     
  9. Alyosha

    Alyosha [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,870
    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Here's my rather haphazard network. I live in a big "frat house", which isn't really a frat as my church owns it and we have about 25 UoMN students from our church living here. The network has been built in little segments over the years until I took it over about a year and a half ago and tried to instill some hardness into it.

    Cable modem and 16 port switch in our office in the basement.
    [​IMG]

    From the modem it goes to my clark connect router (the box on the far right). Also shown are laser printer, inkjet, and fax machine. And if you can't read it, the note on the router's moniter is "Don't touch me, I'm making the internet work". To which someone added, "thanks Al Gore", and so my router was given a name.
    [​IMG]

    From the router, we go back to the above shown switch which serves all the machine's in our office and sends a line up to the third floor. To another switch and wireless AP which gets ethernet to all the second and third floor.
    [​IMG]

    And for scale, our thrid floor network hardware is placed high up to keep it out of the reach of curious fingers.
    [​IMG]

    Lastly is a little computer lounge I just finished building in a little nook on our 1st floor. Only spend about 300$ to get it all together, so the machines are pretty slow, but they're fine for typing papers and checking e-mail. I also managed to find the 2 most finicky wifi cards in the world to put in these machines.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. iownyou14

    iownyou14 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    473
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
  11. enforcer17

    enforcer17 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,443
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Kool setup Alyosha... nice starting point if you plan on becoming a network admin or similar later on down the road.

    Here's my current setup at home:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. xeetim

    xeetim Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    129
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    What laptop is that? ME LIKES IT!!!!

    [​IMG]
     
  13. klart

    klart n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    I'm sure that the notebook there is a Toshiba but I don't know which one exactly...
     
  14. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002

    you can connect your receiver to your network????? thats awesome! what all can you do with it that way?
     
  15. enforcer17

    enforcer17 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,443
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    That's my HTPC.

    You can find the case here
     
  16. draconius

    draconius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,081
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    ahhh very nice case..../me adds it to his bookmarks for that HTPC project :D
     
  17. PlusLabs

    PlusLabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
  18. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    After all the photos its time for some different Stuff...

    If ben working on this Render for some time now... kind of "Post Pics Of Your Modelled Network Stuff" :p

    Its a Cisco Catalyst 6506 Chassis with some Line Cards and a Supervisor Engine 720...

    Here we go

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Have Fun

    Repuls
     
  19. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    two more renders....

    [​IMG]
    Datasheet render

    [​IMG]

    Have Fun

    Repuls
     
  20. DoMeHardR

    DoMeHardR Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    227
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
  21. ikari303

    ikari303 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    But where are the 10GbE modules? :p
     
  22. jeffmoss26

    jeffmoss26 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,267
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    did you make those in 3dmax?
     
  23. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    @DoMeHardR
    Thx :)

    @jeffmoss26
    Its done in Cinema 4D...

    @ikari303

    [​IMG]

    Here you go :rolleyes:
    Its the WS-X6802-10GE Line Card with two 10GbE SC Ports...

    Have Fun

    Repuls
     
  24. ikari303

    ikari303 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
  25. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    I think this would be the best configuration for a 50 Person LAN Party :eek:
     
  26. Xipher

    Xipher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,621
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    They use one of these (different config though, but similar chassis I believe) at Quakecon for the core switch. I believe it was 1gb to each outer switch which were at the tables. Reason I mentioned that is because QC had roughly 3000 people in the BYOC, so it can handle alot more then 50, lol.
     
  27. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    We also use that setup for larger LAN Partys...
    Catalyst 6506 with Sup2 and 5 WS-X6408A-GBIC (8 Port GBIC) which connect to the Userswitches...

    And yes... it can handel alot more than 50 Users :p

    We also use 4000 Series Catalysts...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  28. PlusLabs

    PlusLabs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Where does one get green fiber from?
     
  29. ikari303

    ikari303 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    230
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    I'd like to know where you get fiber patch cords with outer sheaths like that.
     
  30. twan

    twan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    :eek:

    orange rocks ;)
     
  31. Zero_Distortion

    Zero_Distortion Gawd

    Messages:
    572
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    moldy bran muffins
     
  32. Repuls

    Repuls Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    uhhhhh green fibers :eek:

    Actually theyre realy unspectacular... the green ones are single mode fibers... :rolleyes:
     
  33. rusek

    rusek Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    282
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    I'll get better pics sometime with my other cam...



    The xbox

    [​IMG]






    All of my networking gear...mostly old school. SMC 802.11b Router, 8 Port Hub(10mb ew), 12 port Hubstack Hub (10mb ew), and cable modem. The hubs currently are attached to my brothers game pc and his xbox ;). The Router hooks into my two servers, my main PC, and the hub over the wired network. Laptop on the wireless network. Router also serves as the networks main firewall.

    [​IMG]





    The Windows 200 Server Box. Print Server, and soon to be webserving. Only has a PIII Katmai in it, but it folds full time.

    Also my laptop. PIII, used for browsing web.

    [​IMG]




    My other server. Runs Windows XP Pro. 768mb Ram and a Celeron. Folds full time, but should be a game server soemtime soon. Probably DOD.

    [​IMG]





    My main rig. Oh so beautiful. 2.8P4 @ 3.4. Runs folding full time. Dual displays, 4.1 surround sound, and a 19" TV.

    The monitors are a HUGE Sun, and a KDS/ Both look nice.

    [​IMG]




    My old PC, brothers new PC. 1.3 Duron. Folds full time.
    Plays CS just fine, but not much else.

    [​IMG]


    Well, theres the network, Everything that needs speeds is connected right off the router, everything else connected to the hubs.

    Eventually I'll get a nice switch, but money is tight now.


    Will hopefully be adding more folding boxen soon.




    [​IMG]
     
  34. SKiTLz

    SKiTLz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,664
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    You were off to a good start with the naming scheme. Skyline, S2000..Integra just scrapes in. But where the hell does Civic fit in? :p

    Sweet Case too. Thinkin I'll use the same for my next HTPC.
     
  35. enforcer17

    enforcer17 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,443
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    the naming convention was based on cars and how fast they were. I named that one civic cuz it's only a PII 450 MHz :p
     
  36. SKiTLz

    SKiTLz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,664
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    ahh.. now it makes sense..

    U know all you have to do is slap a NOS sticker on that PII box and you could rename it too Murcielago. :D
     
  37. Ibanez3434

    Ibanez3434 Bad Trader

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Heh here's my 1337 Network,
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  38. Cactus Jack

    Cactus Jack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    508
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Update to my previous post.

    Before
    [​IMG]

    After
    [​IMG]

    From top to bottom:

    Dell E173FP (temporary)
    Bay Networks Baystack 350T
    4 port KVM
    Beige System - Bubba: 1.4ghz Athlon XP, 512MB RAM, 320gb storage
    Black System - Hotep: P3 700 @ 933mhz, 384MB RAM
    Compaq 1850R - Boomstick: 2x500Mhz P3, 640MB RAM, 73GB 10krpm SCSI
     
  39. Veeb0rg

    Veeb0rg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,278
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    hows that 3com Superstack 3000 workin for ya? I just retired mine infavor of a "dumb" linksys switch.



    [​IMG]
     
  40. SKiTLz

    SKiTLz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,664
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    got sick of the jet engine?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.