The *Official* Post Pics Of Your Network Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

PlusLabs

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
182
By the way, I want to make my galleries big, so please do not hesitate to upload all of your computer/networking related pictures here
 

Kaiga

Gawd
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
827
draconius said:
not to throw this in anyones favor
but I have the video of one of Nvidias data centers
all those sexy SUN machines with GB's of ram and 8 processors and such, as well as the racks upon racks full of 1U dual processor /2gb ram poweredge servers. its pretty kick ass looking.
hah the guy giving the tour has to yell because all the equipment is so loud:D

oh and i guess since i mentioned poweredges, i have to put a pic of some high performing basic athlons so i dont make anyone mad now :p
These are pics from a beowulf cluster"The Cube"



damn... just.. just damn....

 

Alyosha

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2003
Messages
1,869
Here's my rather haphazard network. I live in a big "frat house", which isn't really a frat as my church owns it and we have about 25 UoMN students from our church living here. The network has been built in little segments over the years until I took it over about a year and a half ago and tried to instill some hardness into it.

Cable modem and 16 port switch in our office in the basement.


From the modem it goes to my clark connect router (the box on the far right). Also shown are laser printer, inkjet, and fax machine. And if you can't read it, the note on the router's moniter is "Don't touch me, I'm making the internet work". To which someone added, "thanks Al Gore", and so my router was given a name.


From the router, we go back to the above shown switch which serves all the machine's in our office and sends a line up to the third floor. To another switch and wireless AP which gets ethernet to all the second and third floor.


And for scale, our thrid floor network hardware is placed high up to keep it out of the reach of curious fingers.


Lastly is a little computer lounge I just finished building in a little nook on our 1st floor. Only spend about 300$ to get it all together, so the machines are pretty slow, but they're fine for typing papers and checking e-mail. I also managed to find the 2 most finicky wifi cards in the world to put in these machines.
 

enforcer17

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,443
Kool setup Alyosha... nice starting point if you plan on becoming a network admin or similar later on down the road.

Here's my current setup at home:

 

draconius

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 8, 2002
Messages
2,081
enforcer17 said:
Kool setup Alyosha... nice starting point if you plan on becoming a network admin or similar later on down the road.

Here's my current setup at home:


you can connect your receiver to your network????? thats awesome! what all can you do with it that way?
 

Repuls

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2001
Messages
444
After all the photos its time for some different Stuff...

If ben working on this Render for some time now... kind of "Post Pics Of Your Modelled Network Stuff" :p

Its a Cisco Catalyst 6506 Chassis with some Line Cards and a Supervisor Engine 720...

Here we go













Have Fun

Repuls
 

Repuls

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2001
Messages
444
@DoMeHardR
Thx :)

@jeffmoss26
Its done in Cinema 4D...

@ikari303



Here you go :rolleyes:
Its the WS-X6802-10GE Line Card with two 10GbE SC Ports...

Have Fun

Repuls
 

Xipher

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 15, 2004
Messages
2,621
They use one of these (different config though, but similar chassis I believe) at Quakecon for the core switch. I believe it was 1gb to each outer switch which were at the tables. Reason I mentioned that is because QC had roughly 3000 people in the BYOC, so it can handle alot more then 50, lol.
 

Repuls

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2001
Messages
444
We also use that setup for larger LAN Partys...
Catalyst 6506 with Sup2 and 5 WS-X6408A-GBIC (8 Port GBIC) which connect to the Userswitches...

And yes... it can handel alot more than 50 Users :p

We also use 4000 Series Catalysts...



 

Repuls

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 6, 2001
Messages
444
uhhhhh green fibers :eek:

Actually theyre realy unspectacular... the green ones are single mode fibers... :rolleyes:
 

rusek

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
282
I'll get better pics sometime with my other cam...



The xbox








All of my networking gear...mostly old school. SMC 802.11b Router, 8 Port Hub(10mb ew), 12 port Hubstack Hub (10mb ew), and cable modem. The hubs currently are attached to my brothers game pc and his xbox ;). The Router hooks into my two servers, my main PC, and the hub over the wired network. Laptop on the wireless network. Router also serves as the networks main firewall.







The Windows 200 Server Box. Print Server, and soon to be webserving. Only has a PIII Katmai in it, but it folds full time.

Also my laptop. PIII, used for browsing web.






My other server. Runs Windows XP Pro. 768mb Ram and a Celeron. Folds full time, but should be a game server soemtime soon. Probably DOD.







My main rig. Oh so beautiful. 2.8P4 @ 3.4. Runs folding full time. Dual displays, 4.1 surround sound, and a 19" TV.

The monitors are a HUGE Sun, and a KDS/ Both look nice.






My old PC, brothers new PC. 1.3 Duron. Folds full time.
Plays CS just fine, but not much else.




Well, theres the network, Everything that needs speeds is connected right off the router, everything else connected to the hubs.

Eventually I'll get a nice switch, but money is tight now.


Will hopefully be adding more folding boxen soon.




 

SKiTLz

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
2,664
enforcer17 said:
That's my HTPC.

You can find the case here
You were off to a good start with the naming scheme. Skyline, S2000..Integra just scrapes in. But where the hell does Civic fit in? :p

Sweet Case too. Thinkin I'll use the same for my next HTPC.
 

enforcer17

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Messages
1,443
the naming convention was based on cars and how fast they were. I named that one civic cuz it's only a PII 450 MHz :p
 

SKiTLz

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
2,664
enforcer17 said:
the naming convention was based on cars and how fast they were. I named that one civic cuz it's only a PII 450 MHz :p
ahh.. now it makes sense..

U know all you have to do is slap a NOS sticker on that PII box and you could rename it too Murcielago. :D
 

Cactus Jack

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
508
Update to my previous post.

Before


After


From top to bottom:

Dell E173FP (temporary)
Bay Networks Baystack 350T
4 port KVM
Beige System - Bubba: 1.4ghz Athlon XP, 512MB RAM, 320gb storage
Black System - Hotep: P3 700 @ 933mhz, 384MB RAM
Compaq 1850R - Boomstick: 2x500Mhz P3, 640MB RAM, 73GB 10krpm SCSI
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top