The Official Core 2 OverClocking Database *READ 1st Post for Instructions*

U HAX0R

Gawd
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
925
Thanks for the add! :D

And finally the thread has been renamed so all core 2 duo are really welcome now. ;)
 

skudmunky

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,462
Thanks for the add! :D

And finally the thread has been renamed so all core 2 duo are really welcome now. ;)
I intend to top your E4300 score, as soon as my Ram and Heatsink gets here from CA. Might end up waiting till feb break to build, but you'll be in trouble then ;)
 

vincentfox

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
38
User Name: VincentFox
Stability: 4+ hours Orthos Small FFTs

CPU: E4300
OC: 3150 MHz
Stepping: 2L6
Week: Q640
Code: A520
Vcore: 1.344

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Scythe Ninja Rev.B (SNCJ-1100P)
Operating System: XP32
Motherboard: Gigabyte DS3, BIOS F10

RAM Brand: G.Skill
RAM rated speed: 6400
Latency: 5 5 5 14

I will include every number on the CPU, since I may have misinterpreted what was what:
4300 SL9TB Malay
1.80 GHz/2M/800/06
Q640A520
2L64872
2A1399

CPU-Z Validation link

Screen shot:
 

vincentfox

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
38
The high temps on my E4300 is I think due to the goofy Scythe LGA-775 mounting system. The push-pins don't provide enough clamping force, so it's not getting the kind of heat-transfer that it should. I know the heatsink didn't feel like 78C even near the base. I'm going to take the motherboard back out tomorrow and see if there isn't something I can do. It's a shame that such a fantastic heatsink has this very poor mounting system. I should probably mention there is no fan on the Ninja, just the case fan directly behind it sucking air out of the system. I am trying to run passive and quiet. But still, the major problem is the Ninja system. With a heatpipe setup I should expect to be able to grab the sink and go YEOW! This is how it works with my Zalman 80D-HP on the 7600GT card. When the GPU is running, that heatsink does get quite toasty. The Ninja on the other hand feels a little above ambient, so something is not right. I already filed off a small amount of metal on one side of the bracket to avoid capacitors near the socket.
 

belmicah

Gawd
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
853
Hot as hell!!!

Tone it down a little on the Vcore if you can.
And/Or, reseat the heatsink, lap it, lap the IHS on the CPU, and make sure that the heatsink is real snug on there.
 

U HAX0R

Gawd
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
925
TAT gives me insane temps too with my E4300 ... I even made a thread about it. Try CoreTemp.
 

vincentfox

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
38
I ran 3 programs and got 3 different results on my now-idle E4300 system:

Intel TAT v2.05.2006.0427: 44C
RightMark CPU Clock Utility v2.2: 18C
CoreTemp Beta 0.94: 27C

Crazy! Later I'll cross-check these with BIOS temps and see who is closest.
 

mlambert890

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
175
User Name: mlambert890
Stability: 6 hours Orthos custom blend (reduced mem size for 4 threads)

CPU: QX6700
OC: 3200
Stepping: 7 B3
Week: L640
Code: A707
Vcore: 1.375

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9700LED

Motherboard: eVGA 680i
Bios Version: P24
Operating System: XPSP2 32

RAM brand: OCZ
RAM rated speed: 6400
RAM actual speed: 800
Latency: 5-5-5-15

http://picasaweb.google.com/mlambert890/Oclock/photo#5029049662939787810
 

mlambert890

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
175
One other thing... In my testing to get to the above sweet spot, I noticed that the QX6700 heats up quickly past 1.4V. Im very sure I can go beyond 3.2Ghz, but for the incremental gain, the investment in additional cooling wouldnt be worth it for me.

The same rig that keeps the proc 63-70C max under a 24hr 4 core prime load at 3.2Ghz/1.375V cant keep it out of the upper 80s at 1.45V/3.2Ghz (all air)
 

skudmunky

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,462
One other thing... In my testing to get to the above sweet spot, I noticed that the QX6700 heats up quickly past 1.4V. Im very sure I can go beyond 3.2Ghz, but for the incremental gain, the investment in additional cooling wouldnt be worth it for me.

The same rig that keeps the proc 63-70C max under a 24hr 4 core prime load at 3.2Ghz/1.375V cant keep it out of the upper 80s at 1.45V/3.2Ghz (all air)
maybe 'cause instead of 1 core heating up with the voltage increase, you have 4? That's my layman's early morning guess :p
 

~LoKe

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 29, 2006
Messages
393
Gonna try for 3.4/3.5 soon.

User Name: ~LoKe
Stability: 12 hours Orthos Small FFTs

CPU: E6300
OC: 3290
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L627
Code: A585
Vcore: 1.376

Cooling: Water
Cooler brand/model: Coolermaster Aquagate

Motherboard: Gigabyte 965P-S3
Bios Version: F6
Operating System: XP 32

RAM brand: Corsair
RAM rated speed: 5300
RAM actual speed: 940
Latency: 5-5-5-15
CPU-Z Validation


EDIT: Just noticed I had CPU-Z on CPU, instead of CPU/Memory/Mainboard. :D
 

mlambert890

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
175
maybe 'cause instead of 1 core heating up with the voltage increase, you have 4? That's my layman's early morning guess :p
So THATS what it is! :D

In all seriousness though, the QX does start to heat up alarmingly fast past certain voltages. It's thermal profile is interesting. If you made assumptions about its behavior based on stepping from 1.33 to 1.40, youd be pretty surprised what starts to happen as you move to 1.45 and beyond.

That said, I made some changes to my airflow, so new proof photo (7 hrs Orthos):

http://picasaweb.google.com/mlambert890/Oclock/photo#5029205576574953378
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
834
UPDATE:
Added: InorganicMatter, merlin87, adunz, vincentfox, mlambert890, and ~LoKe

Deleted: None.

Editted: None.

First post reflects current changes. Please REFRESH!

mlambert890 noticed you used a custom orthos blend for the mem is this because your using a quad core cpu?? for all 4 threads (cores) I did allow this thanks for indicating it on your entry....

AMD T-type please read the rules on the first post of this thread:

"RULE #1: I will require the following data for each OC submission to the database.

MUST! Be posted in the following format:

User Name: (Example: videomasterz)
Stability: (Example: 4hours+ Small FFTs orthos, 4hours+ Prime95)

CPU: (Example: E6600, X6800, QX6700)
OC: (Example: 3403MHz)
Stepping: (Example: 6 B2)
Week: (Example: L623)
Code: (Example: A790)
Vcore: (Example: 1.425) "Stock" is not acceptable. Stock voltage varies from different motherboard manufacturers.

Cooling: (Example: Water, Phase)
Cooler brand/model: (Example: Thermaltake blue orb2, Scythe Infinity)

Motherboard: (Example: eVGA 680i, Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4)
Bios Version: (Example: P23, F4E)
Operating System: (Examples: XP 32, XP 64, Vista, OS X)

RAM brand: (Example: Corsair)
RAM rated speed: (Example: 6400)
RAM actual speed: (Example: 942)
Latency: (Example: 4-3-4-12)"

thanks.
 

drizzt81

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2004
Messages
12,361
just got my new E6300. This post will be updated when I am done overclocking. For now the markings:
L632B158

CPU: e6300
OC: 2800mhz
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L632
Code: B158
Vcore: 1.4000 V set in bios, CPUz says 1.36
Cooling: Water
Cooler brand/model: Storm, AS3

Motherboard: Gigabyte BA-965P-DS3
Bios Version: F10
Operating System: XP x32

RAM brand: G.Skill
RAM rated speed: PC2-800
RAM actual speed: PC2-800
Latency: 5-5-5-15
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,150
Heres mine,

User Name: Grentz
Stability: 30min OCCT, 6.5+ Hours Orthos Blend

CPU: e6600
OC: 3200mhz
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L632
Code: B419
Vcore: 1.4875v set in bios
Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9500 w/AS5

Motherboard: Asus P5B-E
Bios Version: 0904
Operating System: XP and Vista Business (Both 32bit)

RAM brand: G.Skill
RAM rated speed: DDR2800
RAM actual speed: DDR2800
Latency: 5-5-5-15

CPUZ Link:
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=166339

Screenshot:


Currently it is at 6hrs 40min and still running, so i may have to come back and update with a longer time if needed :)

EDIT: Now up to 7hrs 38min :)
 

mlambert890

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
175
mlambert890 noticed you used a custom orthos blend for the mem is this because your using a quad core cpu?? for all 4 threads (cores) I did allow this thanks for indicating it on your entry....
Thanks! Reason behind that was the default Orthos footprint seems to be 1.7GB RAM and, times 4 cores, the paging was keeping the instances from doing anything (they look like they run, but util is 0%).

I tried changing the .INI, but it seemed to change back when Orthos would run. Im sure theres some way to fix that, but just setting memory to something lower before running the test seemed the easiest way. Only drawback is it becomes a "custom" test.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
834
umm...

what is the point of double posting everything?

I understand where you are coming from... I can see some information from the pic.. but there are reasons for the format...

one main reason is it is easier for me to add your entry to the database, but i always look at the pic if it is legit and if orthos is ran for more than 4 hours and also look at the cpu-z entry link or pic....

thanks ~LoKe.. yes some info is missing such as week and code... if those are missing or if alot of info is missing your entry will be in black text color meaning incomplete...

also mlamber890 thanks for explaining this i was a bit confused .. also not sure but i heard that orthos is mainly for dual core? but all your four cores are at 100% correct?
 

Grentz

Fully [H]
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
17,150
Would 30 minutes of OCCT be enough to consider a system stable?

Probably not since OCCT is kinda an early detector but not a stable detector. I have had overclocks pass OCCT fine, but no way be able to pass more than 2hrs of Orthos....
 

mlambert890

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2007
Messages
175
also mlamber890 thanks for explaining this i was a bit confused .. also not sure but i heard that orthos is mainly for dual core? but all your four cores are at 100% correct?
Yep, you have to run Orthosx4 basically, setting the "CPU" setting to which proc you want that instance on. Also have to create four Orthos directories. If you look at my screenshot and JethroXPs, you'll see the four Orthose boxes. Im not running a wide screen res, so they're a little mashed in there, but I tried to make sure that the run times show for each one.

Interesting thing on my QX is that Core 3 is stubborn. I can get 0 1 and 2 to even run at 3.46 unvervolted at 1.375! Core 3 wont go stable until >>1.56<< though. At that voltage, air wont cut its as temps climb iinto the 90s! Im not a paranoid temp guy, but 90s is too high.
 

wdn

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
504
User Name: wdn
Stability: 4 hours Orthos small fft

CPU: E6400
OC: 3888
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L631
Code: B271
Vcore: 1.57 volts

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9700 LED

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev 2.0
Bios Version: F7
Operating System: XP 32 service pack 2

RAM brand: Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4
RAM rated speed: 6400
RAM actual speed: 972
Latency: 5-7-7-20 2T

 

onebelo

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
89
User Name: onebelo
Stability: Orthos 4hrs +

CPU: E4300
OC: 3000mhz
Stepping: 6F2
Week: Q643?
Code: A026?
Vcore: 1.44v

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Thermaltake SI-120

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 rev2
Bios Version: F10
Operating System: Vista

Ram brand: PQI Turbo
Ram rated speed: 5300
Ram actual speed: 667
Latency: 4-4-4-12

Edit: picture too big so i'll ink to it instead
Screenshot
 

AndyM

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
322
User Name: AndyM
Stability: Orthos 9+ hours

CPU name: E6600
OC: 3.6 GHz
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L627
Code: B155
Vcore: 1.3875 (bios)

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Tuniq Tower

Motherboard: Bad Axe 2
Bios Version: 2507
Operating System: XP 32

RAM brand: Corsair
RAM rated speed: PC6400
RAM actual speed: 800DDR2
Latency: 4-4-4-12

 

Jake

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 17, 2000
Messages
4,525
My first Intel chip in a long time. I just got done setting this thing up and this is my first set of tweaks.

User Name: Jake
Stability: 4hours Small FFTs orthos

CPU: E6300
OC: 2450MHz
Stepping: 6B2
Week: (forgot to get these before I installed the chip, will get soon)
Code: (forgot to get these before I installed the chip, will get soon)
Vcore: 1.310V

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Zalman 7700Cu

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 V2.0
Bios Version: F10
Operating System: XP32

RAM brand: Corsair
RAM rated speed: PC2-5300
RAM actual speed: 700
Latency: 5-6-6-17

Getting a screengrab. Will update this post when I get it uploaded.

ETA:
http://jakee.shackspace.com/screenshots/E6300-ocresults-021107.png
 

BinaryMan

n00b
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
4
User Name: BinaryMan
Stability: 4.5 Hours Orthos Beta (both cores)

CPU: E6600
OC: 3600MHz
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L636
Code: A548
Vcore: 1.6475

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9700

Motherboard: eVGA 680i
Bios Version: P24
Operating System: XP 32

RAM brand: G. Skill
RAM rated speed: 6400
RAM actual speed: 1000MHz
Latency: 5-5-5-15

 
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
834
UPDATE:

Added: Grentz, onebelo (2.997MHz is real cpu speed), AndyM, Jake, and BinaryMan.

Deleted: None.

Editted: wdn (OC: 3,888 NEW TOP OC RECORD FOR E6400! Vcore: 1.57)

First post reflects current changes. Please REFRESH!


drizzt81 <--- I need a pic or link for CPU-Z to add you to the database! thanks! :D

Will put Average CPU speed for e4300 soon... thanks for being patient...... :)
 

skudmunky

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 1, 2005
Messages
1,462
User Name: onebelo
Stability: Orthos 4hrs +

CPU: E4300
OC: 3000mhz
Stepping: 6F2
Week: Q643?
Code: A026?
Vcore: 1.44v

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Thermaltake SI-120

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 rev2
Bios Version: F10
Operating System: Vista

Ram brand: PQI Turbo
Ram rated speed: 5300
Ram actual speed: 667
Latency: 4-4-4-12

Edit: picture too big so i'll ink to it instead
Screenshot
shouldn't that be ThermalRIGHT SI-120?
 

saan44

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
673

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,527
User Name: jebo_4jc
Stability: 8 hours Orthos small FFTs

CPU: E6600
OC: 3515mhz
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L629
Code: A809
Vcore: 1.45

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Scythe Ninja

Motherboard: Biostar 965PT
Bios Version: default (p96ca103)
Operating System: Vista

RAM brand: PNY
RAM rated speed: 6400
RAM actual speed: 781
Latency: 5-4-4-12

 

Jake

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 17, 2000
Messages
4,525
User Name: Jake
Stability: ~6hours Small FFTs orthos

CPU: E6300
OC: 2800MHz
Stepping: 6B2
Week:
Code:
Vcore: 1.30V (lower)

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Zalman 7700Cu

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 V2.0
Bios Version: F10
Operating System: XP32

New RAM:
RAM brand: Corsair
RAM rated speed: PC2-6400
RAM actual speed: 800
Latency: 5-5-5-15

http://jakee.shackspace.com/screenshots/E6300-ocresults-021307.png
Doh, I realized I stopped Orthos because I started to line everything up for the screenshot.
Still need to get the stepping and week codes.

PCI-E voltage had to go up by .1 because the onboard network card wouldn't connect at gigabit.
 

Donkers

n00b
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
61
User name: Donkers
Stability: Orthos 4 hrs +

CPU name: E6300
OC: 3731 mhz
Stepping: 6 B2
Week: L632
Code: B422
Vcore: 1.52

Cooling: Air
Cooler brand/model: Sunbeam Tuniq Tower 120

Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi
Bios Version: 0614
OS: XP Pro 32

RAM brand: OCZ Platinum XTC
RAM rated speed: PC6400
RAM actual speed: 1040
Latency: 5-4-5-15

Powered by Enermax Liberty 500w

Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Room temp: 8 C
household electric fan directed at Mobo: temp with wind chill approx. 2 C

http://www.members.shaw.ca/alafriz/untitled.jpg
 
Top