The Official Core 2 OverClocking Database *READ 1st Post for Instructions*

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by videomasterz, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. U HAX0R

    U HAX0R Gawd

    Messages:
    925
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Thanks for the add! :D

    And finally the thread has been renamed so all core 2 duo are really welcome now. ;)
     
  2. skudmunky

    skudmunky [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    I intend to top your E4300 score, as soon as my Ram and Heatsink gets here from CA. Might end up waiting till feb break to build, but you'll be in trouble then ;)
     
  3. vincentfox

    vincentfox n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    User Name: VincentFox
    Stability: 4+ hours Orthos Small FFTs

    CPU: E4300
    OC: 3150 MHz
    Stepping: 2L6
    Week: Q640
    Code: A520
    Vcore: 1.344

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Scythe Ninja Rev.B (SNCJ-1100P)
    Operating System: XP32
    Motherboard: Gigabyte DS3, BIOS F10

    RAM Brand: G.Skill
    RAM rated speed: 6400
    Latency: 5 5 5 14

    I will include every number on the CPU, since I may have misinterpreted what was what:
    4300 SL9TB Malay
    1.80 GHz/2M/800/06
    Q640A520
    2L64872
    2A1399

    CPU-Z Validation link

    Screen shot:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. skudmunky

    skudmunky [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    that's pretty toasty, what's your ambient temp?
     
  5. vincentfox

    vincentfox n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    The high temps on my E4300 is I think due to the goofy Scythe LGA-775 mounting system. The push-pins don't provide enough clamping force, so it's not getting the kind of heat-transfer that it should. I know the heatsink didn't feel like 78C even near the base. I'm going to take the motherboard back out tomorrow and see if there isn't something I can do. It's a shame that such a fantastic heatsink has this very poor mounting system. I should probably mention there is no fan on the Ninja, just the case fan directly behind it sucking air out of the system. I am trying to run passive and quiet. But still, the major problem is the Ninja system. With a heatpipe setup I should expect to be able to grab the sink and go YEOW! This is how it works with my Zalman 80D-HP on the 7600GT card. When the GPU is running, that heatsink does get quite toasty. The Ninja on the other hand feels a little above ambient, so something is not right. I already filed off a small amount of metal on one side of the bracket to avoid capacitors near the socket.
     
  6. belmicah

    belmicah Gawd

    Messages:
    853
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Hot as hell!!!

    Tone it down a little on the Vcore if you can.
    And/Or, reseat the heatsink, lap it, lap the IHS on the CPU, and make sure that the heatsink is real snug on there.
     
  7. U HAX0R

    U HAX0R Gawd

    Messages:
    925
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    TAT gives me insane temps too with my E4300 ... I even made a thread about it. Try CoreTemp.
     
  8. vincentfox

    vincentfox n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    I ran 3 programs and got 3 different results on my now-idle E4300 system:

    Intel TAT v2.05.2006.0427: 44C
    RightMark CPU Clock Utility v2.2: 18C
    CoreTemp Beta 0.94: 27C

    Crazy! Later I'll cross-check these with BIOS temps and see who is closest.
     
  9. merlin87

    merlin87 Gawd

    Messages:
    964
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Coretemp is 15*c different from TAT
     
  10. mlambert890

    mlambert890 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    User Name: mlambert890
    Stability: 6 hours Orthos custom blend (reduced mem size for 4 threads)

    CPU: QX6700
    OC: 3200
    Stepping: 7 B3
    Week: L640
    Code: A707
    Vcore: 1.375

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9700LED

    Motherboard: eVGA 680i
    Bios Version: P24
    Operating System: XPSP2 32

    RAM brand: OCZ
    RAM rated speed: 6400
    RAM actual speed: 800
    Latency: 5-5-5-15

    http://picasaweb.google.com/mlambert890/Oclock/photo#5029049662939787810
     
  11. mlambert890

    mlambert890 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    One other thing... In my testing to get to the above sweet spot, I noticed that the QX6700 heats up quickly past 1.4V. Im very sure I can go beyond 3.2Ghz, but for the incremental gain, the investment in additional cooling wouldnt be worth it for me.

    The same rig that keeps the proc 63-70C max under a 24hr 4 core prime load at 3.2Ghz/1.375V cant keep it out of the upper 80s at 1.45V/3.2Ghz (all air)
     
  12. videomasterz

    videomasterz Gawd

    Messages:
    834
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    wow some more e4300's coming in :D sweet..... ill update the DB tomorrow thanks for all the entrys...
     
  13. skudmunky

    skudmunky [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    maybe 'cause instead of 1 core heating up with the voltage increase, you have 4? That's my layman's early morning guess :p
     
  14. ~LoKe

    ~LoKe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    393
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Gonna try for 3.4/3.5 soon.

    CPU-Z Validation
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: Just noticed I had CPU-Z on CPU, instead of CPU/Memory/Mainboard. :D
     
  15. mlambert890

    mlambert890 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    So THATS what it is! :D

    In all seriousness though, the QX does start to heat up alarmingly fast past certain voltages. It's thermal profile is interesting. If you made assumptions about its behavior based on stepping from 1.33 to 1.40, youd be pretty surprised what starts to happen as you move to 1.45 and beyond.

    That said, I made some changes to my airflow, so new proof photo (7 hrs Orthos):

    http://picasaweb.google.com/mlambert890/Oclock/photo#5029205576574953378
     
  16. AMD T-type

    AMD T-type [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,591
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
  17. videomasterz

    videomasterz Gawd

    Messages:
    834
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    UPDATE:
    Added: InorganicMatter, merlin87, adunz, vincentfox, mlambert890, and ~LoKe

    Deleted: None.

    Editted: None.

    First post reflects current changes. Please REFRESH!

    mlambert890 noticed you used a custom orthos blend for the mem is this because your using a quad core cpu?? for all 4 threads (cores) I did allow this thanks for indicating it on your entry....

    AMD T-type please read the rules on the first post of this thread:

    "RULE #1: I will require the following data for each OC submission to the database.

    MUST! Be posted in the following format:

    User Name: (Example: videomasterz)
    Stability: (Example: 4hours+ Small FFTs orthos, 4hours+ Prime95)

    CPU: (Example: E6600, X6800, QX6700)
    OC: (Example: 3403MHz)
    Stepping: (Example: 6 B2)
    Week: (Example: L623)
    Code: (Example: A790)
    Vcore: (Example: 1.425) "Stock" is not acceptable. Stock voltage varies from different motherboard manufacturers.

    Cooling: (Example: Water, Phase)
    Cooler brand/model: (Example: Thermaltake blue orb2, Scythe Infinity)

    Motherboard: (Example: eVGA 680i, Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4)
    Bios Version: (Example: P23, F4E)
    Operating System: (Examples: XP 32, XP 64, Vista, OS X)

    RAM brand: (Example: Corsair)
    RAM rated speed: (Example: 6400)
    RAM actual speed: (Example: 942)
    Latency: (Example: 4-3-4-12)"

    thanks.
     
  18. drizzt81

    drizzt81 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,361
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    just got my new E6300. This post will be updated when I am done overclocking. For now the markings:
    L632B158

    CPU: e6300
    OC: 2800mhz
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L632
    Code: B158
    Vcore: 1.4000 V set in bios, CPUz says 1.36
    Cooling: Water
    Cooler brand/model: Storm, AS3

    Motherboard: Gigabyte BA-965P-DS3
    Bios Version: F10
    Operating System: XP x32

    RAM brand: G.Skill
    RAM rated speed: PC2-800
    RAM actual speed: PC2-800
    Latency: 5-5-5-15
     
  19. Grentz

    Grentz [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,118
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Heres mine,

    User Name: Grentz
    Stability: 30min OCCT, 6.5+ Hours Orthos Blend

    CPU: e6600
    OC: 3200mhz
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L632
    Code: B419
    Vcore: 1.4875v set in bios
    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9500 w/AS5

    Motherboard: Asus P5B-E
    Bios Version: 0904
    Operating System: XP and Vista Business (Both 32bit)

    RAM brand: G.Skill
    RAM rated speed: DDR2800
    RAM actual speed: DDR2800
    Latency: 5-5-5-15

    CPUZ Link:
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=166339

    Screenshot:
    [​IMG]

    Currently it is at 6hrs 40min and still running, so i may have to come back and update with a longer time if needed :)

    EDIT: Now up to 7hrs 38min :)
     
  20. ~LoKe

    ~LoKe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    393
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Would 30 minutes of OCCT be enough to consider a system stable?
     
  21. AMD T-type

    AMD T-type [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,591
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    umm...

    what is the point of double posting everything?
     
  22. ~LoKe

    ~LoKe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    393
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Easier for him to read to add to the database?
    EDIT: Plus, some information is missing (Week, Code, cooling, etc).
     
  23. mlambert890

    mlambert890 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Thanks! Reason behind that was the default Orthos footprint seems to be 1.7GB RAM and, times 4 cores, the paging was keeping the instances from doing anything (they look like they run, but util is 0%).

    I tried changing the .INI, but it seemed to change back when Orthos would run. Im sure theres some way to fix that, but just setting memory to something lower before running the test seemed the easiest way. Only drawback is it becomes a "custom" test.
     
  24. videomasterz

    videomasterz Gawd

    Messages:
    834
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006

    I understand where you are coming from... I can see some information from the pic.. but there are reasons for the format...

    one main reason is it is easier for me to add your entry to the database, but i always look at the pic if it is legit and if orthos is ran for more than 4 hours and also look at the cpu-z entry link or pic....

    thanks ~LoKe.. yes some info is missing such as week and code... if those are missing or if alot of info is missing your entry will be in black text color meaning incomplete...

    also mlamber890 thanks for explaining this i was a bit confused .. also not sure but i heard that orthos is mainly for dual core? but all your four cores are at 100% correct?
     
  25. Grentz

    Grentz [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,118
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006

    Probably not since OCCT is kinda an early detector but not a stable detector. I have had overclocks pass OCCT fine, but no way be able to pass more than 2hrs of Orthos....
     
  26. mlambert890

    mlambert890 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Yep, you have to run Orthosx4 basically, setting the "CPU" setting to which proc you want that instance on. Also have to create four Orthos directories. If you look at my screenshot and JethroXPs, you'll see the four Orthose boxes. Im not running a wide screen res, so they're a little mashed in there, but I tried to make sure that the run times show for each one.

    Interesting thing on my QX is that Core 3 is stubborn. I can get 0 1 and 2 to even run at 3.46 unvervolted at 1.375! Core 3 wont go stable until >>1.56<< though. At that voltage, air wont cut its as temps climb iinto the 90s! Im not a paranoid temp guy, but 90s is too high.
     
  27. wdn

    wdn Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    504
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    User Name: wdn
    Stability: 4 hours Orthos small fft

    CPU: E6400
    OC: 3888
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L631
    Code: B271
    Vcore: 1.57 volts

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9700 LED

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev 2.0
    Bios Version: F7
    Operating System: XP 32 service pack 2

    RAM brand: Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4
    RAM rated speed: 6400
    RAM actual speed: 972
    Latency: 5-7-7-20 2T

    [​IMG]
     
  28. onebelo

    onebelo [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    User Name: onebelo
    Stability: Orthos 4hrs +

    CPU: E4300
    OC: 3000mhz
    Stepping: 6F2
    Week: Q643?
    Code: A026?
    Vcore: 1.44v

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Thermaltake SI-120

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 rev2
    Bios Version: F10
    Operating System: Vista

    Ram brand: PQI Turbo
    Ram rated speed: 5300
    Ram actual speed: 667
    Latency: 4-4-4-12

    Edit: picture too big so i'll ink to it instead
    Screenshot
     
  29. AndyM

    AndyM Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    User Name: AndyM
    Stability: Orthos 9+ hours

    CPU name: E6600
    OC: 3.6 GHz
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L627
    Code: B155
    Vcore: 1.3875 (bios)

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Tuniq Tower

    Motherboard: Bad Axe 2
    Bios Version: 2507
    Operating System: XP 32

    RAM brand: Corsair
    RAM rated speed: PC6400
    RAM actual speed: 800DDR2
    Latency: 4-4-4-12

    [​IMG]
     
  30. mlambert890

    mlambert890 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
  31. Jake

    Jake [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,499
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2000
    My first Intel chip in a long time. I just got done setting this thing up and this is my first set of tweaks.

    User Name: Jake
    Stability: 4hours Small FFTs orthos

    CPU: E6300
    OC: 2450MHz
    Stepping: 6B2
    Week: (forgot to get these before I installed the chip, will get soon)
    Code: (forgot to get these before I installed the chip, will get soon)
    Vcore: 1.310V

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Zalman 7700Cu

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 V2.0
    Bios Version: F10
    Operating System: XP32

    RAM brand: Corsair
    RAM rated speed: PC2-5300
    RAM actual speed: 700
    Latency: 5-6-6-17

    Getting a screengrab. Will update this post when I get it uploaded.

    ETA:
    http://jakee.shackspace.com/screenshots/E6300-ocresults-021107.png
     
  32. BinaryMan

    BinaryMan n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    User Name: BinaryMan
    Stability: 4.5 Hours Orthos Beta (both cores)

    CPU: E6600
    OC: 3600MHz
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L636
    Code: A548
    Vcore: 1.6475

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Zalman 9700

    Motherboard: eVGA 680i
    Bios Version: P24
    Operating System: XP 32

    RAM brand: G. Skill
    RAM rated speed: 6400
    RAM actual speed: 1000MHz
    Latency: 5-5-5-15

    [​IMG]
     
  33. videomasterz

    videomasterz Gawd

    Messages:
    834
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    UPDATE:

    Added: Grentz, onebelo (2.997MHz is real cpu speed), AndyM, Jake, and BinaryMan.

    Deleted: None.

    Editted: wdn (OC: 3,888 NEW TOP OC RECORD FOR E6400! Vcore: 1.57)

    First post reflects current changes. Please REFRESH!


    drizzt81 <--- I need a pic or link for CPU-Z to add you to the database! thanks! :D

    Will put Average CPU speed for e4300 soon... thanks for being patient...... :)
     
  34. skudmunky

    skudmunky [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    shouldn't that be ThermalRIGHT SI-120?
     
  35. onebelo

    onebelo [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006

    lol my bad. ThermalRIGHT!

    tx for the headups :D
     
  36. saan44

    saan44 Gawd

    Messages:
    673
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
  37. jebo_4jc

    jebo_4jc [H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011

    Messages:
    14,521
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    User Name: jebo_4jc
    Stability: 8 hours Orthos small FFTs

    CPU: E6600
    OC: 3515mhz
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L629
    Code: A809
    Vcore: 1.45

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Scythe Ninja

    Motherboard: Biostar 965PT
    Bios Version: default (p96ca103)
    Operating System: Vista

    RAM brand: PNY
    RAM rated speed: 6400
    RAM actual speed: 781
    Latency: 5-4-4-12

    [​IMG]
     
  38. Jake

    Jake [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,499
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2000
    User Name: Jake
    Stability: ~6hours Small FFTs orthos

    CPU: E6300
    OC: 2800MHz
    Stepping: 6B2
    Week:
    Code:
    Vcore: 1.30V (lower)

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Zalman 7700Cu

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 V2.0
    Bios Version: F10
    Operating System: XP32

    New RAM:
    RAM brand: Corsair
    RAM rated speed: PC2-6400
    RAM actual speed: 800
    Latency: 5-5-5-15

    http://jakee.shackspace.com/screenshots/E6300-ocresults-021307.png
    Doh, I realized I stopped Orthos because I started to line everything up for the screenshot.
    Still need to get the stepping and week codes.

    PCI-E voltage had to go up by .1 because the onboard network card wouldn't connect at gigabit.
     
  39. Donkers

    Donkers n00b

    Messages:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    User name: Donkers
    Stability: Orthos 4 hrs +

    CPU name: E6300
    OC: 3731 mhz
    Stepping: 6 B2
    Week: L632
    Code: B422
    Vcore: 1.52

    Cooling: Air
    Cooler brand/model: Sunbeam Tuniq Tower 120

    Motherboard: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi
    Bios Version: 0614
    OS: XP Pro 32

    RAM brand: OCZ Platinum XTC
    RAM rated speed: PC6400
    RAM actual speed: 1040
    Latency: 5-4-5-15

    Powered by Enermax Liberty 500w

    Location: Vancouver, B.C.
    Room temp: 8 C
    household electric fan directed at Mobo: temp with wind chill approx. 2 C

    http://www.members.shaw.ca/alafriz/untitled.jpg
     
  40. Donkers

    Donkers n00b

    Messages:
    61
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Correction: Ram actual speed 1066
    Latency: 4-5-4-15