The Official 100 HDCP ready video card list.

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by mentok1982, Jun 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    What are you full pc specs?
     
  2. PGHammer

    PGHammer 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,315
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Power supply requirements are not being driven by HDCP; far from it.

    A 350W PSU considered *massive*? Nowadays a PSU like my Antec TruePower 420 would be considered *puny*, and it dates back to 2004 (and replaced a generic 400W PSU) and is itself due for replacement later this *month* (not *year*).

    I don't have a fancy PC (remember, the core is 2004 technology!); however, advancement in overall *computer* technology are requiring more and more oomph from a computer's power supply (in addition to the rather old CPU and GPU, I have dual DVD burners and dual HARD drives), and I'm upgrading the PSU simply to increase the *safety margin* as I'm replacing the AIW 9700 Pro with an X1950 Pro (also AGP) and I'm also looking seriously at replacing the smaller PATA hard drive with a larger (and quicker) SATA drive prior to passing the system down.

    HDCP doesn't really add to a computer's power hunger these days (if it ever has); in fact, it's become a *check-box item*. (Consider that not only do very few PCIe X1950 Pro-driven cards lack HDCP support, but that exactly *zero* AGP X1950 Pro-driven cards lack HDCP support.) As further adoption drives the price-per-card-implementation further down, you could very well see the end of non-HDCP-based PC implementations *this year* (except for hyperniche applications).
     
  3. alienvenom

    alienvenom n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Gigabyte GA-M51GM-S2G (GeForce 6100 + nForce 430)
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (2.2 GHz)
    1GB PC6400 DDR2 - Single Channel (I know it supports dual channel)
    VisionTek X1600PRO HDMI (with HDCP)

    The video was totally jittery and about every 5 minutes there was a complete RETRACE of the video. This is all probably due to the fact that PowerDVD incisted upon using subittles (THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO WAY TO DISABLE THEM WITH KING KONG -- SO ANNOYING.)

    Either way. This card recommends a 350W power supply. I don't have 350W, only a 300W with just one 80GB HD and a DVD-ROM drive (the HD-DVD drive is connected via USB).
     
  4. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Is there anyway for you to disable hardware acceleration? Its possible that if you do that, then the image stutter that you are experiencing may vanish. This might be a software issue.

    One thing that I have learnt from these forums also is that the hardware acceleration on the ATI cards is poor in comparison to NVidia. If hardware acceleration is important then go the NVidia route.

    One more thing is that HD video is cpu intensive and it requires the fastest cpus around. I read an article saying that HD-DVD was stuttering when using a E6300 on its own (no video card acceleration). Obviously your cpu is slower than a E6300. So, if you are ready to upgrade, then you could switch to Intel Core2Duo. A cheaper solution might be to overclock your current cpu and video card as high as the will go and see if that helps.

    Either way, Amd x2 4200 and X1600PRO isnt a powerful combo these days.
     
  5. xxxomxxx

    xxxomxxx n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Which cards are REALLY fully HDCP compliant...for instance i have a Sapphire Radeon X1600 HDMI that has a HUGE HDCP sticker on it ;-)

    but if i connect it to a receiver and then to a Beamer, HDCP FAILS!!! If i connect it directly (no repeater in between) it works, but i dont have a pricey setup just to switch inputs on the beamer every now and then....oh and yes, the receiver is 100% HDCP Compliant, since the HD Satellite recceiver here in Europe uses HDCP on its HD channels and at least that works...:confused:

    The part where Appendix A of the HDCP Compendium should be implemented just got left out...:mad: :mad: :mad:

    I would really appreciate a list where all HDCP issues have been tested like a little table where we can see what works and what doesnt work.

    Why arent the sued over this....:confused:
     
  6. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    I have purchased the Leadtek 7900GS HDCP card:

    http://www.leadtek.com/3d_graphic/winfast_px7900gs_tdh_1.html

    I tried out Cyberlink's HD-DVD/Blu-ray advisor. It states that my video card is not HDCP capable. Most strange.

    I think that Cyberlink's advisor needs to be taken with a grain of salt - they havent got it working perfectly yet.
     
  7. Ajax9000

    Ajax9000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    I contacted Galaxy to find out what happened to their low profile 7600GT (discussed here) and after a few e-mails back and forth, I got this:
    So, low profile 7900GT+HDMI coming soon. Sounds very interesting.

    They didn't say what the connectors on the low profile section will be. Rather than HDMI+s-video or HDMI+VGA I hope it will be HDMI+DL-DVI (after all, the new Sparkle 7300GT LP HDMI looks to have DVI+HDMI).
     
  8. bass4040

    bass4040 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Are there any Nvidia AGP hdcp video cards?
     
  9. mentok1982

    mentok1982 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,359
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    I don't think there is. Sorry.
     
  10. RangerXML

    RangerXML [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,369
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
  11. lt_wentoncha

    lt_wentoncha Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    285
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Is HDCP OS dependent (Vista)? The more I research the less and less I'm happy about Vista and their DRM scheme. Not that it matters I suppse, as I don't regularly watch movies on my compy.

    Thanks.
     
  12. priyaradha

    priyaradha Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    I brought this Sapphire X1600 Pro HDMI 128MB and 256MB (100167L) version card since its HDCP ready. But i have been hearing mixed reviews about it not being HDCP ready. The AGP ones are but not the PCI-E ones. Any one confirm.
     
  13. grunnsat

    grunnsat n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    I'm also looking for ATI video card for e new HTPC. There are at least 10 producers of such cards, and I must say it is amazing to see how all of these producers manage to build video cards that have one feature missing to make them ideal for HTPC use. :mad:

    It would be nice to have a card with these features:

    silent - no blower
    HDCP ready / compliant
    HDMI

    So we find cards with HDMI but also with a blower, or silent cards without HDCP, or HDCP cards with a blower.

    And then, what is the difference between HDCP ready and HDCP compliant? As far as I know every X1950 card has a HDCP EEprom, and so we find all X1950 cards from Asus with the HDCP compliant stamp. However I've read that HDCP compliant means that a producer can use a chipset to build a HDCP ready card, but does not have to do so. Very confusing... :confused:

    Connect3D has a very nice pdf list of all of its video cards, with a special HDCP column. Well done!

    Contrary to the US situation, European HDTV is transmitted in H.264 MPEG-4. This applies to terrestial (DVB-T), cable (DVB-C) and satellite (DVB-S2) transmissions. It may depend on the station how 'complicated' the signal is. The BBC uses a very high bit rate for the satellite transmissions, and really uses all posibilities of the H.264 encoding. The result is a stunning picture, and a red hot HTPC cpu. :) For that reason I need a fitting ATI card to prevent freezing pictures etc. Lets hope that all manufacturers wil make there cards HDCP ready in short time, because otherwise there products are not truly Vista ready if I'm not mistaken.

    P.S.
    This is what I found on the ATI web site about the X1950:
    Radeon X1950 PRO graphics cards built by ATI are HDCP-compliant, including a built-in EEPROM and HDCP key. Other components such as HDCP content and an HDCP-capable display are also required and not provided by ATI Technologies Inc. Third parties have the option of making their Radeon X1950 boards HDCP-compliant as well. If this is an important feature to you, check with the third party board partner prior to purchasing a third party product.
     
  14. xxxomxxx

    xxxomxxx n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    HI

    DO NOT BUY SAPPHIRE X1600 Pro HDMI AGP Version

    i have the Sapphire X1600 Pro HDMI AGP Card.and it does work with old drivers but only if connected directly. it does NOT, under any circumstances work with a so called Repeater (DVI Switch, AV Receiver ) which of course are fullyHDCP compliant.

    My Setup

    Sony VPL-VW100 Projector 10000$
    Denon 4306 AV Receiver 2000$
    Sapphire X1600 HDCP AGP 200$
    Blu Ray Drive 800$
    High End HDMI Cables 400$
    Hours of trying approx 10 @ 100$ = 1000$

    Balance Net Worth for playing Blu-Ray: 0$

    does anybody pay me back? mad:

    I will try the same Setup with a XFX8800GTX, lets see if you have to have a 800$ card just to make the industry happy....or the customer even more angry (possible?)

    PS: HD Receiver works fine through Receiver
    Awaiting a PS3 in the mail, lets hope the PS3 runs smoothly
     
  15. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Crikey man, you have spent a fortune on your home cinema set up. And the best thing about it is your jewel - the ruby.

    I have read on another forum about the repeater not allowing the HDCP signal to pass along. Without the repeater everything runs fine and the cyberlink adviser says that everything is HDCP compliant. The moment you add the repeater, HDCP compliance is lost. I just cant remember the video card they were using when this happened.
     
  16. xxxomxxx

    xxxomxxx n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    thx, yes the Ruby is a Masterpiece

    have you read that on the sapphire forums, because i probably wrote that ;-). Yes, the Cyberlink Advisor does say it still is HDCP compliant.

    The problem seems to be that the Appendix A of the HDCP Compendium is not implemented into the Driver correctly...i will see if it is with the NVidia drivers...

    i will also try Cyberlinks Ultra BD Player before replacing the Mainboard (no PCI-E on my old one... and the Graphicscard...

    it is very unfortunate that HDCP can not be "soldered" onto a piece of Hardware with a Chip dedicated to HDCP...since it is also software based, everything is possible...especially for the consumer this is not acceptable since you can not rely on a HDCP sticker...it might work with one device they tested it with but not with another...

    for example i have my HD Sat Receiver and the mentioned Denon AV Receiver. If i want to watch the HDCP encrypted channel, i have to switch between channels on the Sat Receiver for approx 10 min until the HDCP handshake finally works. The problem is, that the Sat Recievers HDCP wnats a ultra fast repsonse which it does not get from the receiver, so you have to slow down its CPU so the handshake works... :eek: but the handshake lasts as long as the deivces stay in standby...

    i just dont know why HDCP is still alive... there cant be alot off fully HDCP compatible Hardware out there...but there sure are a lot of angry customers....
     
  17. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    It definitely wasnt the sapphire forums as Ive never visited them.

    One thing you have to remember about HDCP is that it really is in its infancy and only just taking off, so there are bound to be teething troubles. Unfortunately, it is the early adopters like yourself who have to bear the brunt of the problems. In a year or so Im sure all HDCP equipment will be working in tandem, but until then, early adopters will not have a smooth ride.

    Even my own Leadtek Winfast 7900GS and my Panasonic HD projector can not get a successful HDCP handshake (according to Cyberlink advisor anyway), but Im not fussed at this point as I havent got a hd-dvd/blu-ray drive for my PC as yet. Once I get one of these HD drives and want to view HD material from my PC, on my Projector, then things will come to a head.
     
  18. xxxomxxx

    xxxomxxx n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    IT WORKS

    i have jsut installed the new XFX8800GTX with the latest forceware drivers and i am able to loop it through the Denon 4306 AVR Receiver. Amazing ;-)

    it seems as if the XFX8800GTX fully complies to HDCP and even its Appendixes.

    Full System Specs:
    Asus P5WDG2 WS Pro
    (not optimal because it is for ATI boards and only has 8x lanes if in SLI/Crossfire mode, but it has a Optical output;-)
    P4 3Ghz Single Core
    (not optimal, dual core would be better for HD)
    2x1GB Kingston Hyper X
    36GB WD Raptor
    XFX8800GTX
    Plextor Blu-Ray DVD Burner
     
  19. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    I have noticed people having problems with non 8800 cards, with regards to HDCP. Even myself with the 7900GS am having problems getting the Cyberlink advisor to recognise it as HDCP compliant. I guess right now the only way to be sure of HDCP is to buy the most expensive video card available - 8800GTS/GTX.
     
  20. Stereodude

    Stereodude 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,285
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    My 7900GS with HDCP works fine with PowerDVD 7.1 for HD-DVD playback (other than using the spdif causing stuttering).
     
  21. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Is that the Leadtek Winfast 7900GS?
     
  22. Stereodude

    Stereodude 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,285
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2000
    MSI, and I'm running it through my Pioneer Elite 84TXSi too, so it even support "repeater" devices.
     
  23. sunama

    sunama [H]Lite

    Messages:
    101
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Aaaaah.

    Perhaps its the Leadtek Winfast 7900GS that I have that isnt supporting HDCP properly, even though it has a big 'HDCP' monika on the box.
     
  24. mentok1982

    mentok1982 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,359
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
  25. Sandik28

    Sandik28 n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
  26. wollyka

    wollyka [H]Lite

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    I also want to know..
    coz there is a difference in the MSI sites if the MSI NX8800GTX-T2D768E supports HDCP or no (http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=NX8800GTX-T2D768E&class=vga)
    .. because in the US MSI website, it said it does but in the global one (tw) said that it can only support HDTV! no mention of HDCP (http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/vga/vga/pro_vga_detail.php?UID=776)
    So does it or does it not? :)
    i sent them an email btw!
     
  27. HighTest

    HighTest [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,245
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
  28. Prodigalfish

    Prodigalfish n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    New to this here forum and and would first off like to say thank you for all that I have learned here thus far.
    And the above I can agree with- MSI is not very nice. Long story short, have a fully tested MSI NX7300GS-MD256EH and it is Not HDCP ready (hope I didn't miss that being stated on here already...I did search). Connected to an HP PL4260N.
    Live and learn...
     
  29. jagercola

    jagercola [H]Lite

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    For some reason, I heard it does 720p w/ HDCP but not 1080p. Would that be a driver or hardware limitation?
     
  30. matrix563

    matrix563 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,022
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    any idea if the 7600go for laptops will make the list? i have it for my evereix stepnote i bought in the hot deals section.
     
  31. renethx

    renethx n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
  32. FORNOWAGAIN

    FORNOWAGAIN Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
  33. Harb

    Harb Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    On the product page for the Sapphire x1800xt, it says:

    "Dual integrated dual-link DVI transmitters
    * DVI 1.0 compliant / HDMI interoperable and HDCP ready*

    *Specifications are subject to change without notice and may vary depending upon product sku*"

    Does anybody know the info behind this? Which sku's are HDCP ready and which aren't?
     
  34. Ajax9000

    Ajax9000 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    210
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    A small update to an old post http://www.hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1030492544&postcount=167

    I had been wondering if I'd mis-read the Galaxy e-mail -- I'd read their e-mail as saying 7600GT full- and half-height versions as well as 7900GS full- and half-height versions were in the pipe -- and from what's come out of CeBIT I think I did.

    Galaxy seems to be touting only the following:
    a low profile 7600GS + HDMI (w/HDCP)
    a low profile 7600GT + HDMI (w/HDCP)
    a full height 7900GS + DVI (w/HDCP)
     
  35. evolucion8

    evolucion8 Gawd

    Messages:
    914
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    In the manufacturer's web site it says that it does support HDCP/HDMI, could that be true?
     
  36. Snowdog

    Snowdog [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,342
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
  37. eckndu

    eckndu Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    183
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    OMG for a LONG time i always though eVGA is an other slot interface, like vga and pci-e......:p
     
  38. mentok1982

    mentok1982 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,359
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    I have just completed a huge redesign of the first post. It is less cluttered and easier to read. I
    hope you like it. I also added the 8600 and 8500 series.
     
  39. Rembrandt

    Rembrandt Gawd

    Messages:
    596
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Thank you for the update. There may be some problems with some of the 8600GT’s not being compliant. The Gigabyte passive model does not say it is HDCP compliant at its web site or at Newegg.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.