The New Old Pencil Trick for 8th Gen Intel

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by FrgMstr, Jun 20, 2018.

  1. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,356
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    The old pencil trick so many of us Thunderbird owners remember is new again.....kinda. Over at Taobao.com, you can order a set of Kapton stickers for 8th generation Intel processors that will allow you to use those on 100 and 200 series chipset motherboards. You will need a modified UEFI however, so don't go crazy with your $15 just yet. They do seem to be selling the UEFI hacks needed to do this as well. Don't let the magic smoke out. Thanks cageymaru.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018
    DrezKill, TheHig, Krenum and 2 others like this.
  2. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,861
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Remember, Intel doesn't hold back its engineers by making them compromise designs to suit an old chipset.






    /s
     
    Jovian, jfreund, Patton187 and 18 others like this.
  3. HeadRusch

    HeadRusch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Remember that time you were just a neophyte builder and you totally turned the power on your in-process build only to watch your Thunderbird go up before your eyes in smoke within 4 seconds of power-on because you, like a complete dumbass, didn't have the HSF on...…...cuz I sure as shit do. On that day, the blue smoke escaped....
     
  4. Thor

    Thor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,882
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2001
    This doesn't look like bridging traces like we used to, this looks like strips of flexi pcb, with no traces... you paying 15$ for a piece of electrical tape. All you have to do is block the correct 11 (by my count) pads and your good to go. I would guess that nail polish would be more permanent (go full blond and use white out /s) , and packing tape would be just as doable and long as you got the thicker stuff.

    TLDR: I would love to see someone order 1 and see if it is conductive... I bet its not.
     
    auntjemima likes this.
  5. Frito11

    Frito11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    that's just insulating tape, the 6 core cpu's need two pins connected together to work and you need an external programmer to force an unsigned bios on the motherboard. also lastly gigabyte boards need a TON of other pins covered or you WILL blow the VRM up all other make boards so far as i have seen / heard of do not and just need two pins covered in the area this tape covers and if you don't cover them its no big deal the pins just might burn but nobody has seen any bad side effects thus far as i have heard.
     
    AlphaAtlas likes this.
  6. naib

    naib [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,266
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    That isn't copper stickers, that kapton tape, insulator. Essentially they are "blocking" a number of pins to trick the system. Good if it works




    Kapton-Tape10mm.jpg


    --edit--
    Google translate

    8 generation 6 core CPU insulation stick protection Shu Bao high temperature no residue adhesive i5 8400 8500 8600 i7 8700
     
  7. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,356
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Updated. You are correct, it is translucent. Totally missed that.
     
  8. DTN107

    DTN107 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,781
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Damn I wish I still had that ASUS z170 itx board that I found at a garage sale for $15. Would like to give this mod a spin.
     
  9. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,861
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Luckily I have a spare z170 board, and I work at a PC shop with ample access to 8700Ks....
     
  10. jcvjcvjcvjcv

    jcvjcvjcvjcv Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Also in English?

    Oh yes, instead they rename the old chipset and it becomes new again :p
     
  11. dragonstongue

    dragonstongue 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,151
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    pretty fk sad when "others" are able to do what Intel should have "allowed" and did not as well as claiming "impossible"

    thin dies, poor thermal interface material selections, I guess Nv is not the only complete douches out there ^.^

    Wonder how long before Intel figure as "way around this" sort of speak, lawsuits, bios lock or whatever?

    stick it to that big blue gorilla O.O
     
    jfreund and TitaniumLizzard like this.
  12. IL Seong RYU

    IL Seong RYU n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    oh wow i should get this since i have spare z170 left over
     
  13. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,462
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Asus told us this was possible Intel maintained it wasn't and this just cements that it is


    Forced obsolescence isnt a good look.
     
  14. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,863
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Didn't expect this but it was known already to be possible. Intel just isn't having a good year with PR.
     
  15. Methadras

    Methadras [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,131
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    What does this do?
     
    DukenukemX likes this.
  16. DukenukemX

    DukenukemX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    That looks like the BSEL mod I used to overclock my Q6600 that I still have.
    That's also what I'd like to know.
     
  17. DTN107

    DTN107 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,781
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Opens up a new backdoor.

    In order to closed it, please provide your mother's maiden name and your SS last four digits.
     
    TitaniumLizzard and GoldenTiger like this.
  18. KazeoHin

    KazeoHin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,861
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    This allows Coffee Lake CPUs (Core 8000 series) to be used on Z170 and Z270 based mainboards.
     
  19. SSimmons05

    SSimmons05 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    I have several rolls, though none that small, of Kap tape leftover from my years with NASA and the Shuttle. Makes great outdoor fly tape strips too.
     
    admiralperpetual likes this.
  20. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,975
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    so the good $1000 a roll stuff right? ;)
     
  21. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,562
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Cool, I'm still running a Z170 MSI board :)
     
  22. Frito11

    Frito11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    well the issue is and there are technical issues they just mostly happen to be minor on *most* make motherboards and that is that motherboard makers made use of RSVD pins on Z170/270 boards that CFL uses for more power input mostly. turns out on the vast majority (basically everyone but gigabyte) the consequence is small and not damaging other than maybe a burned pin or two but gigabyte apparently took it upon themselves to wire up a bunch of other RSVD pins to the power delivery unlike other makers and if you insert a CFL into them without taping over said pins, instantly fried motherboard VRM on power up. people pioneering these bios mods have discovered this by accident.
     
  23. Frito11

    Frito11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    this alone does nothing but cover up a large amount of rsvd pins on prior to CFL motherboards, taping over those pins alone will not do anything.

    for most z170/270 motherboards what is required to get CFL running on them is to modify the bios, the most successful methods have been via taking a near identical Z370 board bios and simply replacing its intel management engine regions as well as some other related bits and replacing them with older versions then flashing the bios to the board via SPI interface (NOT the way its normally done, requires an external computer and a SPI programmer connected to the BIOS IC) and after that you simply just need to follow this pic for pin mods on the CPU depending on if its a quad core or a hexacore, hexacores require the shorting of two pins as the pic shows on *most* motherboards but not all!

    coffee_lake_cpu_in_z170_or_z270_socket_-_how_to_connect_and_disable_pins_preview.jpg
     
  24. DTN107

    DTN107 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,781
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Easy peasy lemon squeezy
     
    clockdogg and TitaniumLizzard like this.
  25. Kor

    Kor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,175
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    I had a friend who soldered the bridges on his TBird, proper hardcore.
     
    N4CR and pendragon1 like this.
  26. DukenukemX

    DukenukemX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Seriously? Man those Intel guys better have a good explanation for this.
     
    TitaniumLizzard and KazeoHin like this.
  27. Mode13

    Mode13 Gawd

    Messages:
    658
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    They will mention that they forgot to mention it was possible I'm sure.

    Besides that i wouldn't expect much more than a few former intel employees collecting unemployment for not doing a better job of obsoleting last years chipset.

    We're heading into a dark era in pc building! Almost as bad as fake l2 cache socket 3 boards.
     
  28. Nookie420

    Nookie420 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    I actually did this with a 1Ghz tbird many years ago :p on my very first build.
     
    Methos likes this.
  29. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,492
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Selling? SELLING?

    That's not the right way.
     
  30. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,157
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    I let the blue smoke out on a third by having the HSF on backwards. Apparently I already borked it at that point.
     
  31. Saki630

    Saki630 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    330
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    im suprised this was not already out for us [H]ard users to use.

    I'm sure people here knew how to do the shorting and whatever else you need to get the CPU to not fry itself. Then all you need is a call any programmers who want to hack BIOS chips and someone else to trial and error a working method.

    Is the BIOS thing really hard to do?
     
  32. Iratus

    Iratus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,226
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    So hang on, would this mean I could put a 8700 in the spare Z270 (Maximus IX Apex) I have sitting under my desk.
     
  33. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,489
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Yeah, they want you to buy a new motherboard so you can pad their pockets. I've been preaching this in the Intel subsection for 8 months. Got two bans for arguing with the Intel Defense Force. All because I thought that my 4 month old Z270 board should support a new processor. Fuck Intel.
     
    jfreund, testicle and alxlwson like this.
  34. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    487
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    But you only get 4 cores.
     
  35. HeadRusch

    HeadRusch [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    As did I. I shorted the leads to my motherboard to turn the power supply on to test a fan (Vornado, you could hear it three blocks away) before I realized I'd test-seated the chip...….a slight sizzle sound, some whisps of smoke and yeah.....time to go shopping again. #PotatoHead.
     
  36. DukenukemX

    DukenukemX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    The problem is that we've allowed both AMD and Intel to make their own chipsets without allowing third parties. There's no Ali, no Via, no Nvidia, no SIS chipsets. Just AMD an Intel with respect to their own CPUs. This wasn't a thing before, and it really shouldn't be a thing now when none of the chipsets for years have a memory controller on them, which I would imagine would be the bulk of the R&D spent on making them.
     
    TMCM likes this.
  37. schlitzbull

    schlitzbull Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    301
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    So does this allow the full 6C/12T or will it run 4C/8T? This is tempting as I have a leftover Z170 board!
     
  38. TMCM

    TMCM [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,373
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    I'm very interested to know this too. It sounds like you will need some type of hacked bios too
     
  39. Gweenz

    Gweenz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,216
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Oh yes blast from the past! I totally forgot about the pencil mod.
     
  40. OregonLAN

    OregonLAN 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,627
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    That's what I did with mine. You could literally bridge the gap with solder given the right temperatures and some flux. Back then, I had a nice station because I was previously "modding" playstations for a friend that was selling them on the blackmarket. Some of the early mods required some SMD jumpers.

    Also, a lot of people used window defrost repair kits...
     
    honegod likes this.
Tags: