The New, (now) official, Show off Your Video Card Thread

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by ubern00b15, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. chile7236

    chile7236 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    their twin turbo cooling set up is pretty quiet...even on the ultras from what i've read.
     
  2. JoeBoomz

    JoeBoomz n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    [​IMG]

    6800GE running at Ultra speeds

    I had to modify my Maze4 a bit to fit it on the card, can't talk myself (yet) into ordering a 6800 block from Danger Den.
     
  3. starhawk

    starhawk [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,909
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    what was that infamous video card that sounded like a leaf blower...? they still make 'em i think...
     
  4. LyCoS

    LyCoS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    5800u :rolleyes:
     
  5. starhawk

    starhawk [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,909
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    thought it was a *700 something...

    hm.
     
  6. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Haha, not quite. :p
     
  7. Anarchy

    Anarchy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    here comes teh pix :D

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  8. chile7236

    chile7236 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    nice...have you ever disassembled the A300's? i'm thinking about doing it to put some AS5 on....
     
  9. Anarchy

    Anarchy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000

    These are A350 -> FX5900, haven't touched em yet ... but one has bout 70° @ load , the other 105° ... ouch

    And i have a A300 -> 5800 too, currently watercooled ... but this litte Copper HSF & RAM sinks setup was still better than the standard cooling solution ...

    [​IMG]
     
  10. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Anarchy, where'd you get those ramsinks? I'm gonna be adding a Maze4 block to my XT-PE in about a week and will need some ramsinks. I had some OCZ BGA copper 'sinks lined up, but I'd like something a little beefier if I could. ;)
     
  11. Anarchy

    Anarchy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Those are Revoltek RAMsinks ... but i somehow doubt that you can get em in cancda cause they are a German Company

    Here's alink :

    http://www.listan.de/shop/shop.php?...f3f2211eb7479fb564a14d006a59&s=&id=882&idgr=5


    The base of the sinks doesn't cover all the RAMs surface but that's still enough to keep the friggin hot DDR2 @ 500MHZ cool ...
     
  12. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Gah, that sux.....

    I think that my only other options might be to find a way to get ahold of some FrozenCPU Monster ramsinks.....here's a pic of them, in comparison to the Tweakmonster, and OCZ aluminum (same size as teh copper ones I'd be getting) ramsinks.

    If anything I think I'd have to get someone from [H]ard to order them and ship them via UPS to canada for me, as it'd be a HELL of a lot cheaper.
     
  13. Anarchy

    Anarchy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    The original Card
    [​IMG]

    OMG !!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111111111 There's nothing in between the GPU and HSF :eek: -> temps were 120° after 5mis Q3A (RivaTuner graph)
    [​IMG]

    Plastic isolation
    [​IMG]

    Backside with a huge load of SMD components
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    GPU :)
    [​IMG]

    2.8ns Hynix RAMs
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    ... comming soon : Pics with Waterblock (GPU&RAM) from AquaComputer.de
     
  14. chile7236

    chile7236 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    guess i'll be taking my card apart....
     
  15. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Good stuff, be sure to let us know one way or another how it goes. :cool:
     
  16. LyCoS

    LyCoS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    has anyone ever tried removing the IHS of the FX series ?
     
  17. Anarchy

    Anarchy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000

    been done ... but you should only do that if you think that the HS is in a VERY bad shape and the temps are still too high with a good HSF/Waterblock ... once you rip it off it'll become a pretty ugly bent piece of metal ...


    Maybe it can be done more elegant, but i think it's not neccesary, at least not often ...


    EDIT :

    The waterblock installed :

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Some older Pics showin the waterblock and two NV40 ones ...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    ANd some group Pics :D

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    That Aqua block is nice enough, but I still need a little flash when I look into buying a waterblock, and that thing is just a tad to plain for me. :p
     
  19. chile7236

    chile7236 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    took my card apart, finally...same deal. so i put as5 on it but haven't noticed a temp drop....i may try the arctic cooling hs or that new zalman.....
     
  20. jacuzz1

    jacuzz1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    I have been eyeing the Zalman myself and would love to see a review on the device. Maybe Brent could pick one up and check it out?
     
  21. Anarchy

    Anarchy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    You won't get much better temps with just AS5 ... mainly because the Leadtek Cooling Solution is worse than the Standard FX5800nU HSF :eek:

    I had two FX5800 - PNY and Leadtek, thet PNY was much more quiet and cooler ...
     
  22. dankirk

    dankirk n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Here's the box for my new Gigabyte X800 XT next to my Dell 2005 FPW:
    [​IMG]

    Here's the card next to the box:
    [​IMG]

    Here's the card, front and back:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Here's the new card below my old 9700 Pro:
    [​IMG]

    Here's the card installed:
    [​IMG]

    Here's the old Dell that it's installed in:
    [​IMG]

    NO LAUGHING! :D
     
  23. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I've been eyeing it merely because it looks fricken weird and kind of "out of place" on a graphics card.....and I just want to see how it performs.
     
  24. Dragon365

    Dragon365 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    [​IMG]

    XFX Geforce 6800 + NV Silencer 5. Running at 16/6 pipes, 370 core and 775 mem. Very fast! (I've taken it to almost 4000 in 3dmark05 wtih higher clocks, and I haven't really done to much 03 benching but I'm sure I could break 9000 after scoring 8300 with locked pipes\unoverclocked) :D
     
  25. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    My Dear Lord!!!

    That seems like such a crime for whatever reason. ;) nice to see that at least a FEW AIB partners are lengthening the stock cooler to encompass the memory chips on that side of the card, have you done much/any overclocking with the card yet?
     
  26. dankirk

    dankirk n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    The card is just an XT, but I can clock it to PE specs with no problem. I haven't tried to go any faster. Here are the specs and benchmarks for my Dimension 8200:

    Original Components:
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53 Ghz
    512 MB RDRAM
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 128 MB
    40 GB Maxtor Hard Drive


    Original Benchmarks:

    3DMark01 13727
    3DMark03 5017
    3Dmark05 1943



    New Components:
    Intel Pentium 4 3.06 Ghz With Hyper-Threading
    1 GB RDRAM
    Gigabyte ATI Radeon X800 XT 256 MB
    200 GB Seagate Hard Drive With 8 MB Cache


    New Benchmarks:

    3DMark01 16914
    3DMark03 11781
    3DMark05 5128
     
  27. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    OMG dude.....that looks so.....so so wrong. ;) :p
     
  28. lithium726

    lithium726 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,195
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    *shudder* how much did you pay for that damn stuff?
     
  29. dankirk

    dankirk n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    The machine came with 512 MB, another 512 cost $190 from Newegg.
     
  30. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    I've made it kinda "my thing" to slap any of my friends silly that are still using RDRam.....thankfully they all ended up switching to DDR awhile ago.....I guess they were as tired as the beatings I gave 'em.....or they just came to their sense. ;) :p
     
  31. hkhawk

    hkhawk Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    216
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Hey Anarchy, why does the 6800 waterblock have that wire coming out of it? Why does a waterblock need power? Those waterblocks look awesome though.
     
  32. Elios

    Elios [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    yea i was wondering that to my guess is it has a pilter in it?
     
  33. Scheizekopf

    Scheizekopf [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,694
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    I was thinking the same thing too. Those are the some of the best blocks I've ever seen.
     
  34. Alex41290

    Alex41290 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,570
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    if i'm not mistaken it has a blue LED in it...
     
  35. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Ladies and gentlement....we have a winner. :p
     
  36. Scheizekopf

    Scheizekopf [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,694
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    That's sweet!!
     
  37. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Meh, it's one of those things that kinda crosses the line for me....and since I'm a wiring neat-freak I'd hate the thing......as there isn't really a way to hide that wire....and the wire itself is damn short. :p
     
  38. jacuzz1

    jacuzz1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,835
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004

    Well in the mean time i ordered the evga copper heatsink for replace my stock one. 14.99 you cant go wrong
     
  39. cornelious0_0

    cornelious0_0 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,783
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Agreed....and for such a simple replacement I've been seeing some decent gains....I dunno why more companies aren't offering copper replacements if they're using the reference cooler....or just using them in the first place....can't cost a whole lot more, and the temps are worth it to charge an extra $10 or so for the cards.
     
  40. MasterFrmMO88

    MasterFrmMO88 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    I'm sorry for all the people who have their mind set on this being a "show off your awesome video card thread" but I had to throw this in for sh*ts and giggles.
    We have an old Gateway in our basement and the graphics card on it is an unbelievable 2MB with, I'm not very sure on this number but I think 16Mhz clock.

    But in all seriousness,
    X800 VIVO softmodded to 16 pipes and overclocked to 518 clock and 559 RAM

    My friend says he will shave his head for it. :D