The new "died in the line of duty" thread

D

Deleted member 88227

Guest
The "haze" in the upper left of the pic led me to believe I would be looking at a much more gruesome picture. That looked like "magic" smoke. Rather than have the boxen flipped 180, could you have flipped the PSU 180?
This was my thoughts exactly. Never seen anyone get the "magic smoke" on camera before so I was impressed and sad at the same time until I read the book below it.
 

ChristianVirtual

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
2,522
There is a cure ... "Magic Blue Smoke Refilling Kit"

"On a recent trip to South America I made a shocking discovery. Deep in the Pacaya-Samiria National Reserve, our team came across a rare vegetative moss. The spores of this ancient plant proved to be quite useful to us. Through specialized process, we were able to carefully extract the dust from the spores and refine them into a very fine powder. Through a serendipitous accident in our research labs, a bit of this powder was let out into the air. The plume traveled across the lab and came into contact with some broken equipment we had piled in the corner. Like magic, the equipment came to life and was revived.

We toiled day and night to find the best way to harness this awesome power. Through a proprietary procedure using our inverse tetra-grammatron phase inductance focusing screen (TGPIFS for short), we were able to easily resurrect any IC reliably. Simply place the phase ring of the TGPIFS directly over your IC, inject your smoke, and you’re done!

This kit comes with a single TGPIFS, an applicator pre-filled with spore powder and is capable of resurrecting approximately 20 ICs (depending on size, complexity, and damage).

Note: Please use in a well-ventilated areas as the fumes may be harmful.

Specifications:

  • 12v, 150A input for TGPIFS
  • Applicator good for roughly 20 ICs
  • Kit designed for SMD or PTH
  • Disposable applicator
"
Source: Magic Blue Smoke Refilling Kit - TOL-10622 - SparkFun Electronics
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Too bad, any RMA opportunities ?
Unfortunately not, it was a 2nd hand purchase from Scobar back in Jan 14 so it will be out of warranty, besides its an Asus and I'm not sure I'd want to go through that amount of pain to get it fixed. I'm going to test the rig in detail next weekend when I have some time but trying the 2nd cpu in socket 1 as a quick test gave the same result - a Catastrophic error and the board won't run - hell even the fan for cpu 1 wont run.

What has pissed me off the most is that I've just ordered a new cpu for a new folding build so I could use one of my 2p boards to update my daily driver to the 2011 platform, that's now not happening and I could end up trying to persuade my Z9PE-D8 to take a pair of early stepping spicy ivy bridge 12 core cpu's, given how picky those boards are its not something I'm looking forward to :( A new 2p board is not a current option, the price on them is ridiculous

I sense a lot of frustration coming my way next weekend:nailbiting:
 

tjmagneto

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
3,253
My condolences Nathan_P.

I've pretty much have given up on my ASUS 2P. I spent considerable time over the weekend trying to get it working and the best I could do was get the CPU fan to run for a moment and that only happened after I connected a cable to the 4 pin Molex connector on the board. It looks like I might have a few bent pins in Socket 1 so maybe that's the culprit. :banghead:
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Well, I just started to tear down the rig, since its an open board I though a good clean and make sure nothing was underneath causing a short would be a good start, As I pull out the EPS lead from CPU1's power socket I notice the dreaded scorch marks, sure enough 2 pins are scorched and the surrounding plastic doesn't look too good either, two of the pins on the actual cables are scorched as well and the plastic on the plug is quite badly melted so problem found. Now the question is will it run again once cleaned up and can I get replacement cables for my AX750?
 

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
When my AX 860 died, pins melted on the cable, same as you, but there was also melted plastic on the "pin holes" on the PSU, making it impossible to connect a replacement cable. Are all holes for ATX cable ok on the PSU ?
 

EXT64

DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 27, 2013
Messages
591
I had the same failure on a Seasonic PSU and my Asus 2p, though it was on the PSU side. I had both the PSU and cables replaced under warranty and the system is working great again (no damage to the MB).
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Yeah the PSU is fine, 24 pin atx and the other 8 pin are fine. I've got a replacement cable coming from amazon - if the psu doesn't like a 2nd EPS connector anymore i'll just repurpose it to my daily driver where I don't need that 2nd cpu cable. Tried to clean the pins in the mobo socket but they won't clean up, once the cable gets here i'll try booting her up and see what happens, I may still can the board/psu as I'm not sure I'd trust them to run unattended 24/7
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Well I had a good look at the fried power socket on cpu1 and I'm not even going to connect any psu to it. The white plastic at the bottom of one of the 12v pins on the socket is completely melted through so there's no way I'm risking that running, attended or not.

Managed to find a replacement cable for the psu so I'm now onto testing that on my spare Z8NA.

EDIT, PSU looks OK, however the spare board is also toast so I can't even fold on that :mad:
 
Last edited:

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
My 2P is also down. Kernel panics / early exceptions just after POST from HDD, CPU soft lockups just after POST from live USB. My best guess is one of the RAM sticks died, so I need to find which one among eight of those. Hope I have time to do it next week-end (need to remove the noctuas each time based on board design)
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
If its your Z9 that's playing up you might not need to go on a ram swapping exercise IF you can get into the Bios, pull up the Dimm information and if one is reported as not there its likely to be the culprit
 

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
Found a DIMM that's reported by the BIOS at the same time as "Present" (like the other 7), but with 0 MB instead of 4096. Does this sound unrecoverable ? If yes, I suppose I will need to move from 8 DIMMs to 4 DIMMS population, that should be sufficient for FAH anyway.
 

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
Got it, it was a BIOS issue, not a DIMM issue. Based on various internet posts, changed DDR speed to Force DDR3 1333, disabled Demand Scrubbing, enabed Patrol Scrubbing (absolutely no idea of what that is), and computer booted again. Issue is not full solved since Linux still does not see the missing 4Go, based on Internet posts I should play with VSA and DRAM voltages, but no so willing to do so.

These Asus MP rigs are really a pain. Back to folding, thanks again Nathan_P.
 
Last edited:

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
When it comes to issues, the Z9PE is in a league of its own. I've made a lot of use of the huge thread at OCN for this board and not fiddled with it at all. I've left everything as is apart from forcing the ram to 1333 and, touch wood, I've had no major issues.

Glad you got it working again but if the BIOS still isn't seeing it try reseating it, I've had a few dimms in mine move enough that on a cold reboot after being off for a while they disappear, a quick push down on the dimms usually works for me. If not then its probably toast
 

Toconator

Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
706
RIP Asus Maximus Formula. Over 9 years of faithful folding. Rarely posts and not for long, NB, SB and RAM voltages all go out of whack according to mobo LEDs. Tried new PSU just in case but ...
On the flip side I have a C2Q6600 G0 stepping now available. It was overclocked to 3GHz for almost its entire existence but at stock 1.3125 voltage. Only mobo and PLL voltages needed a tweak. PM me if interested. I'm in Canada but will ship it if covered.
 

pututu

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
1,899
RIP Asus Maximus Formula. Over 9 years of faithful folding. Rarely posts and not for long, NB, SB and RAM voltages all go out of whack according to mobo LEDs. Tried new PSU just in case but ...
On the flip side I have a C2Q6600 G0 stepping now available. It was overclocked to 3GHz for almost its entire existence but at stock 1.3125 voltage. Only mobo and PLL voltages needed a tweak. PM me if interested. I'm in Canada but will ship it if covered.
9 years in service is a long time and worth every cent spent. I hope my two ASUS boards (see sig below) will last that long. The Z68 is already past 5 years and still crunching (and folding previously). I love ASUS boards but lately I read sporadic reviews about the quality being not the same as before. Not sure how true this is.
 

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
My 2P is down. It appears the CPU2 8-pin connector of the motherboard melted for the second time (it became brown 2 years ago, but was still folding). Now it's so melted than even my spare PSU cable for CPU cannot fit in it. I have been running this Asus board 24/7 since 4 years, and this was a "spicy" board, so no opportunity to RMA. I guess the best course of action is to remove CPU2, and run it as a 1P with a spare GPU.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
RIP, unless you know someone who is excellent with a soldering iron?

It will also make a good gpu rig
 

ChristianVirtual

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
2,522
My 2P is down. It appears the CPU2 8-pin connector of the motherboard melted for the second time (it became brown 2 years ago, but was still folding). Now it's so melted than even my spare PSU cable for CPU cannot fit in it. I have been running this Asus board 24/7 since 4 years, and this was a "spicy" board, so no opportunity to RMA. I guess the best course of action is to remove CPU2, and run it as a 1P with a spare GPU.
Was overclocking involved ? or any other reason why more Ampere got routed via those connector ?
 

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
No OC involved on these chips, so I don't know what is the root cause... except some quality issues somewhere (and my board was "spicy")
 

plext0r

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
780
I have powered off G'Kar, my only quad AMD G34 system since it has been unstable for a while even when running with stock clocks. I don't have time to mess with it, but I've tried new power supplies and it still freezes or falls off the network. It stays running, but the Ethernet ports go offline after a few days or a week. The IPMI says the 3.3V rail is running around 2.8V if I remember correctly and I'm not sure why since I've tried known-working power supplies. Anyway, I don't have time to troubleshoot so it's offline. :(
 

Nicolas_orleans

[H]ard DCOTM May 2016
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
352
Sorry for your hardware plext0r

I tried to restart the rig in 1P mode after clearing CMOS, with 4 memory sticks + ATXPWR1 + ATX12V1 -> system starts but boot sequence fails immediately without Q Code. Tried to add EZPLUG_1 no result. Manual says "DO NOT forget to connect the 24+8+8-pin power plugs; otherwise, the system will not boot up", so I am wondering if there is any hope to start this board without the second burned 8 pin connector. (Tried to put my spare cable in the burned 8-pin, my system booted a few seconds)
That would be counter productive to require a mandatory second 8-pin pin if only one CPU is plugged...
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
It sounds counter productive but I think each 8pin also powers a portion of the motherboard devices which is why it needs both, even if you only have 1 cpu installed. Mine does the same thing with only 1 cpu installed and its smaller brother the Z9PA is the same. Given the board is useless without the 2nd 8pin socket i'd try and find someone who can swap out the plug and solder in a new one - you have nothing to lose at this point
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Just arrived home to find my GPU rig off, here's hoping its nothing serious.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Something has exploded in the PSU, I could hear something rattling when I took it out the case and there was a brief smell of fried electrics, now to see if it took anything else out with it. I hope not, there's £1k in GPU's in this box
 

jfb9301

[H]ard DCOTM February 2016
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,650
Nate - good luck with that. Now the tricky part..... scooping up all that magic smoke and squeezing it back into the PSU. If I may be so bold, I recommend the Magic Blue Smoke Refilling Kit available at https://www.sparkfun.com/products/retired/10622

I also need to report a death of my own.

My son's GTX980Ti SEAHAWK's water pump quit, and could only make the desktop without thermal throttling. Awaiting RMA.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Well after a double PSU transplant moving the 750w out my daily driver into the GPU box and the 650w from the 2nd folding box to my daily driver - thank god the AX750 and AX650 share the same cables, the board and the 1070 boot and are folding again:)

I can't test the 1080 as the replacement PSU cant handle 2 EPS connectors and 4 PCIe connectors - thats pretty pathetic for 750w given the now dead AX760 could, and why the fuck a LGA1150 mobo needs 2 EPS and a 6pin power connector is beyond me. I'm not using an adapter - seen too many failures with them. RMA for the 760 tomorrow, and there is a shiny new AX860i already on order - should be here Thursday. 2m PPD to 600k is not good and I can't now buy another 1070 due to a lack of cash:(
 

jfb9301

[H]ard DCOTM February 2016
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,650
RMA in in progress. Latest update is the card has been received by MSI, waiting for the replacement to ship out.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
Looks like a lot of 2Ps are dying this year.

Maybe it's a good thing i put mine in storage :-D
I've only had 1 2p board die and that was due to a loose EPS connector, everything else is still going strong - I seem to be blowing up PSU's and GFX cards - maybe that's gods way of telling me to back to 2p folding
 

MGMCCALLEY

[H]ard DCOTM SEP 16 / NOV 17
Joined
Jul 3, 2012
Messages
353
... or 4P :) I have yet to kill a video card on F@H. Maybe I'm just lucky? I do design all my builds with plenty of air flow and I blow out the cases twice a year, but that's about it. And I typically buy mid to high-end EVGA or MSI cards, too. Only once purchased Gigabyte, but they were good, too.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,424
That's whats annoying me the most, i'm buying good quality high end kit that has plenty of circulating air and gets cleaned 2-3 times a year and it goes pop.
 
Top