The [H]ardForum Perpetual Freebies Thread

Discussion in 'For Sale / Trade' started by crewzen, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. black_bishop

    black_bishop Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Do you still happen to have those fb-dimms or did you end up trashing them? I just picked up an older server for a song and could use some more ram.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  2. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,234
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Anybody have a Cisco Console Cable
     
  3. yee245

    yee245 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    How many/much DDR2 FB-DIMMs are you looking for? I may have a handful of 4GB sticks.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  4. Warrior

    Warrior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,672
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    They are gone.
     
  5. black_bishop

    black_bishop Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    i guess as many as i can get. how many do you have and how much would you like for them?
     
  6. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,620
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004

    I have 8 4Gb sticks that I got from Warrior and then never used....you can have them all ...10 bucks should cover it...shoot me a PM...
     
    artless1, Warrior and SamirD like this.
  7. KingThot

    KingThot Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Edit: case now pending pick up.

    If anyone is local to 20008, I have a Supermicro case up for grabs. Photos here.

    Nice to build in but unfortunately got banged up in shipping so I migrated to a new enclosure. All damage is superficial, no compromises to functionality.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2019
    SamirD likes this.
  8. black_bishop

    black_bishop Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    What is the model number of that case?
     
  9. KingThot

    KingThot Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    It's identical to SCGS5A-753R but doesn't include PSU.
     
  10. black_bishop

    black_bishop Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Okay, thank you. I'm looking for drive trays from one of the 743 models
     
  11. kakureru

    kakureru [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,941
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    does anyone have a free cheap xbone and or ps4 USB controller dongle? thx :p
     
  12. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Dug around in my horde, I have:

    Geforce4 MX ??? PCI. Made by PNY, no model number, looks like this:
    P56-2631c.jpg

    Unknown condition, It's been sitting at the bottom of my card drawer for years, I can test if you want it.

    Matrox MGA Millennium II PCI W/ 4 MB RAM daughterboard (8 MB total) It can be flashed to work on Apple PowerPC PCI Macintosh machines, the tools, ROMs and drivers are available on the Matrox site.

    Have tons of network cards, so I just pulled two that were the easiest to get. One is a 3COM 3C905CX-TXM and the other is a generic with a Realtek 8139D.

    In my RAM drawer, I don't have any 256M+ sticks that aren't ECC, Registered or both. Also don't have any 370 heatsinks, only 462 and those are dicey to install without shims due to the spring pressure.
     
  13. Fastvan67

    Fastvan67 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,316
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Anyone have any 1gb sticks of PC2100 or PC2700 + ECC. Looking to get 4
     
  14. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,438
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Definite yes on the geforce card, also a yes on the network card. I dont think this system will run ECC ram
     
  15. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Depends on the chipset. Lots of the 3rd party chipsets from VIA, SiS, etc. didn't care what type of RAM you threw at them, so long as it was RAM. I had a Shuttle XPC years ago with a VIA Apollo 266 that could use ECC Registered DIMMs and it didn't care. It couldn't utilize any of those features though, so it didn't make sense to use them unless you already had them.

    If it's an Intel chipset, you can forget about it. They purposefully lock out anything but unbuffered DIMMs because they want you to pay more for server chipsets and Xeon CPUs.
     
  16. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,438
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Its a Dell P3 with a proprietary intel board, im sure its locked. lol
     
  17. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I don't think it will lock out ecc as my IBM's from that era do not. They just won't use ecc unless all of them have ecc. My IBMs won't use ecc registered however (at least as far as I know since I don't have any to try).
    What's the model number? I'll do some research. I may even have the system and can check what mine has. (y)
     
  18. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,438
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Dimension L500CX i cant even find driver downloads
     
  19. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Weird, Dell used to keep drivers available even for ancient systems. I guess they pulled an HP and deleted everything older than a certain date.

    Have you tried entering the service tag on the Dell website? It may be able to find the machine even though it's not listed anymore.

    You really don't need Dell to get the drivers though, you can look everything up by the PCI ID string in the device manager and plug it into Google and usually get results.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  20. ChRoNo16

    ChRoNo16 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,438
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Yeah the service tag is dead now. have been waiting for the rest of the parts before i dive in too far
     
  21. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Okay, so from the owners manual as well as research on the chipset, 256mb pc100 cl3 modules are the biggest this board can take. Max memory is a hard 512mb though since it uses lower density ram and I don't think 512mb modules were made in low density and from what I've found the chipset officially only supports 512mb anyways.

    However, Dell always has a way of not saying everything that can work, so I bet pc133 modules will also clock down to pc100 and that ecc modules will just run in non-ecc mode. If this is the case, it would definitely open up the possibilities to finding a module that will work. (y)
     
  22. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Sounds like it's the gimped i810/i815 chipset with a hard limit of 512MB. You can put more in but the machine won't see it.

    If Dell says PC-100, it's most likely going to be only PC-100. I've had Dell machines which refused to POST and would throw memory errors if anything but the rated speed was installed.
     
  23. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    It's the 810e actually per the dell manual.

    Gotcha on the speed. I know back in the day, it had to be right as the modules and chipset didn't have any leeway. I would have thought these were a bit more lenient, but they are earlier than my IBMs.
     
  24. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    I managed to get the Geforce4 MX card working, had to clean it up with deoxit gold as the PCI connector was tarnished from age. The network card also seems to work.

    The entire i810 line was a dumpster fire, it was basically made to be mass produced and cheap. The older 440BX chipset it was designed to replace was superior to it in almost every way and could unofficially be modded to support 133 MHz FSB Pentium IIIs. I have a couple of 440BX boards and they survived longer than any of the crappy i810 boards I had. I do need to find a single socket PGA370 board though to build up some of my faster P3 CPUs.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  25. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,150
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    artless1 and SamirD like this.
  26. Eviljoker

    Eviljoker Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    looking for AM3 hardware for H50 or AM3 bracket and air cooler..
     
  27. black_bishop

    black_bishop Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Anybody have any socket 771 heatsinks or heatsink/fan assemblies laying around they could part with?
     
  28. Format _C:

    Format _C: 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,024
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Does anyone have a Core 2 Duo (E6550, E6750 or a E6850) or a Core 2 Quad (Q6600, or a Q6700) laying around collecting dust? The computer in question is a Dell OptiPlex 755 SFF with the Q35 (ICH9D0) The CPU currently in there is an E2180. I could also use DDR 2 as it currently only has 3GB (The max is 8GB with 4 slots each with a 2GB DIMM). This is for an older friend of mine that I am looking to help out on the cheap as she does not have a lot of money

    PS: I have gave away lots of good things before. The [H]ardForum Perpetual Freebies Thread
     
  29. Mohonri

    Mohonri [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,736
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    I have a 2GB DDR2 stick out of a Dell 745 or 755 or 760 or something. PM if interested. $3 for shipping.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  30. JCNiest5

    JCNiest5 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,769
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    I have a few E5300 if you are interested.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  31. ChefJoe

    ChefJoe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    I recently upgraded my old E8400 system to a 771 xeon with a sticker adapter and modded bios. I also freed up several 1 GB DDR2 sticks (1 mushkin 996576 and 2 mushkin 996684 sticks), although that might not be an upgrade. If you're interested in the memory or even a 775-to-771 sticker dropped in an envelope (I bought 3 just in case, ended up using one), let me know. The 771 mod was fun, might not be something to do to an elderly friend's only computer.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  32. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
  33. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    E8400s go for less than $5 on ebay these days:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/163641634833

    The fastest dual core an Optiplex 755 will support is the E8600, which can be had for about $15.00

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/254252528360

    I don't recommend any CPUs in the E5xxx or 7xxx family because they may not be compatible, as they were some of the final Core 2 parts released and were really only supported well on x4x chipsets like the P45, G43, etc.

    While the Optiplex 755 will support quads, I don't recommend it for the SFF variant because the TDP of most Core 2 quads exceeds 95W and you'll need the special copper core heatsink that normally doesn't ship with the model unless it was ordered from Dell with a quad. If you do want to try a quad, you can pick up a slower Q9400 for less than an E8600:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/264363710352

    I don't recommend trying the LGA771 to 775 mod, as it's a crap shoot if it will work at all. I've seen some reports of specific models working, but I'd take it with a grain of salt. Be sure you have the latest BIOS installed before you upgrade the CPU to avoid issues.
     
    akinsey and SticKx911 like this.
  34. Hakaba

    Hakaba Gawd

    Messages:
    629
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    This is a long shot... But looking to get rid of EK-CoolStream CE 420, if you are in Okinawa and want a 3x140mm radiator it is yours.
     
  35. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,520
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I second the recommendation on the e8600--we have a point of sale system that can only take duals and an upgrade to the e8600 really woke it up thanks to the fast single thread performance:
    https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/Intel-Core2-Duo-E8600-vs-Intel-i3-550/957vs739

    If you can't get the e8600, the e8500 is a nice alternative that's also dirt cheap ($5.50):
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/392307383320

    The technical guide for the 755 doesn't show processor support higher than q6700, but also shows this across the board for the MT, DT, and SFF form factors. The MT and DT are known to be able to take a q9650, so I have no reason to doubt the SFF can do it too. But it will be important to think about the overall power consumption of the system from all the components (gpu, memory, drive, etc) as you will be stressing an already old power supply that could give up the ghost in a puff of smoke.

    There were a few LGA775 xeons that were the equivalent on the q6600, q9650, et al, and can be found cheaper at times as people don't know this. You need to have bios support, but I've found the Dells do have the proper microcode to support these as I'm running a x3360 in a optiplex 330-380 hybrid:
    https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compar...tel-i3-550-vs-Intel-Xeon-X3360/957vs739vs1284

    https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/Intel-Core2-Quad-Q9550-vs-Intel-Xeon-X3360/1049vs1284
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/264374117303
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/233271038594

    A good resource for current lga771/775 prices is here:
    https://www.delidded.com/lga-771-775-cpus/

    LGA 771 processors are usually the same price as the LGA 775 processors they were cheaper than back in the day, so there's no real advantage to trying this mod anymore other than to just do it. I haven't done it and found that it would be a waste of time since processor prices are so cheap.
     
    artless1 likes this.
  36. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    715
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Old gear dump I don't need anymore pulled out of the geologic layers. Most of it is old customer gear pulled during upgrades and I don't have history on it, other than it powers on. If you want anything tested, let me know before you choose. You pay shipping, CONUS only.

    Motherboards:
    - GA-945GCM-S2C Motherboard with Celeron E1500 and 1 GB DDR2
    - Intel Desktop Board DG33FB with Core 2 Duo E6300 and 2 GB DDR2 (No I/O plate)


    Both claimed.

    CPU:
    - Xeon W3505

    Video Cards:
    - Quadro NVS 295 256M DDR3 dual DisplayPort out (Roughly equivalent to a Geforce 8400 with faster memory)
    - Quadro FX 1700 512M DDR2 dual DVI + S-Video out
    - Radeon HD3450 Low Profile 256MB with DMS-59 + S-Video out (DMS-59 pigtail required) - The fan makes a bit of noise, may need replacing.

    Wifi Router:
    - Netgear WGR614 v7-VC (Slightly yellowed top and one missing rubber foot)


    Also looking for a low profile AGP 4x/8x video card, preferably a Geforce 6200 or a Radeon 9250.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2019
    SamirD likes this.
  37. xSDMx

    xSDMx Gawd

    Messages:
    577
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    ALL GONE - THANKS!
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
    w1retap and SamirD like this.
  38. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,905
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    YGPM for the TJ08! Been looking for one in good shape for a while.
     
  39. black_bishop

    black_bishop Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    266
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
  40. jaffy

    jaffy [H] Custodian

    Messages:
    5,564
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Not sure if this is the right thread for this, but free Darksiders 2 - Definitive Edition. Redeemable on Steam. M7R95-VJIP5-F27IV

    Please post if you use it, so nobody else tries to activate it ;)
     
    SamirD likes this.