The [H]ardForum Perpetual Freebies Thread

Discussion in 'For Sale / Trade' started by crewzen, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Motherboards I still have-

    Abit BE6, EPOX EP 8KHA+, ASUS A7Pro , Lucky Star 6VA693A, Asus A7NBX.

    I also have a Abit BH6 and a Intel P3-1000 board from a Graphite Arcade PC/Simulator but it will be a few weeks before I pull those 2 machines down.
     

    Attached Files:

    w1retap, artless1 and Engr62 like this.
  2. jlbenedict

    jlbenedict [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,303
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Nice.. I remember having an Abit BE6 way back in the day
     
  3. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,593
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    and only one suspect looking cap in the lot there! .. .impressive
     
  4. dexvx

    dexvx [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,031
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    gdonovan

    Don't tell me you're throwing those out? I'll pay shipping if you are.
     
  5. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Free to a good home, PM if interested.
     
    stinger608 likes this.
  6. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Just make sure you recap the one board with the suspect yellow caps. I'd replace all of them.
     
  7. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    These are all gone and away! Shipped out this morning. Thank you for your interest.

    As soon as I gather up another lot I'll post it up, also have a like new womans leather motorcycle jacket and pants to move along and perhaps some other goodies. Housecleaning continues...

    Gary
     
    SamirD likes this.
  8. Mohonri

    Mohonri [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,741
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    My old file server has been replaced, and the hardware is old enough that it's not worth selling on eBay.

    Specs:
    Motherboard: Biostar TF7025-M2
    CPU: Athlon X2 3600 (yes, the cheapest dual-core CPU you could get at the time!)
    RAM: 2x 1GB DDR2 800 sticks

    The mobo has a bunch of bulging caps, but I haven't seen any ill effects, and it's been 100% stable for the past 10+ years.

    $15 for USPS Priority shipping

    I also have a number of 2GB DDR2 modules for $5 shipped.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  9. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I may. Do you have a pic of what you need?
     
    pentiumiiislota likes this.
  10. pentiumiiislota

    pentiumiiislota Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    132
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2018

    https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&id=2082438A1148B36C4DCE97756DAE90CEC773CB86&thid=OIP.yV-o-guHq1uAyL1QD4GWmAHaF0&mediaurl=https://img.freeauctiondesigns.com/dwiloch03yahoocom/SDC13279.JPG&exph=754&expw=960&q=cooler+master+hard+drive+rails&selectedindex=1&ajaxhist=0&vt=0&eim=1,2,6

    Does that link work? I foolishly bought a case off craigslist. The guy said the rails were in a bag in the case, but the bag only contained one set of rails.

    Its a coolermaster storm case, but i believe all haf x series will work as well.
     
  11. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Yeah, CL can be a bargain or a bust. I once bought a 40gb 2.5 ide drive that was dead after it hit the ground in the parking lot. :(

    Unfortunately, I don't have those style rails or anything that could be made to work. Hopefully someone else can help more!
     
  12. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    If you need one (a laptop IDE drive) I think I still have a few kicking around for the cost of shipping
     
    SamirD likes this.
  13. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Those look pretty easy to make a copy of with a 3D printer. I've had to make miscellaneous odds and ends like that before, like keyboard feet, I/O covers and slot plates for video cards.

    It does take a few hours to design the part and work the kinks out, but once you have the model, you can print as many as you want.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  14. 404

    404 Gawd

    Messages:
    906
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    this is going to be a weird one. I need a bunch of IEC power cables. The more the merrier/whatever you can spare/whatever can fit in a flat rate box. Bought a ton of these from ebay and they were some cheap chinese ones with 20 gauge wire in them. The connector end gets hot to the touch when plugged into just a monitor.
     
  15. ryan_975

    ryan_975 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,890
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Which IEC? Common ones are C5 (laptop), C7 (gadgets), C13 (typical desktop), and C19 (server). Then there's IEC to IEC and NEMA to IEC.
     
  16. 404

    404 Gawd

    Messages:
    906
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    just your standard NEMA to IEC commonly used in desktops
    Powercord50-large.jpg
     
  17. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,248
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    I gave all mine away already, but I always end up getting a computer or monitor without a power cable and now I'm short like 4 of them. Oh well! I'm sure someone has a bunch laying around for you.
     
  18. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    I had like a box full of them in the attic a few years ago, I'll look in the morning.
     
  19. Boil

    Boil [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,229
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Looking for either a H97 or Z97 ITX motherboard...

    Working on some custom chassis designs & have a need for an ITX motherboard for fitment & thermal testing...

    I have an i7-4770S CPU & two 8GB sticks of Corsair Dominator DDR3 RAM, hence the need for the specific chipset...

    Also looking for an AM4 socket ITX motherboard, will use this for fitment & thermal testing of an APU specific custom chassis...

    Thanks...!
     
  20. janas19

    janas19 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,435
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Good luck, you're going to need it. ITX boards of that gen regularly sell for $100 on eBay.
     
    stinger608 likes this.
  21. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    If you still got these, I can use them. My DDR2 stock for repairing machines is getting low, just pulled a bunch of sticks out of my drawer I thought were good that went bad.
     
  22. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    You know some days...

    I gave away all my spare motherboards last week and now I need a motherboard.

    Anyone have an Intel P4 motherboard with SATA I? AGP preferred. On-board video might be ok as long as there is a Win9x driver available.

    My current one, a Gigabyte P4-848 (2.8HTghz) series is acting erratic. I was setting it up as a multi-OS system for various legacy applications (like an auto repair program that is locked to a 1997 Win95b drive image) and I think the motherboard is going south. It will not hold BIOS settings (battery is fine, BIOS flashed to latest, etc) and now it is randomly failing to boot up.

    I can't gamble on it as it will be hosting 6-8 different drive images (win95, win98, w2k) which I swap back and forth with front bay mounted SATA drives.

    Already tried running the Win95b image on an AM2+ board I have, even with some hacks to the OS it just laughed at me. Pity as it runs flawless on the P4 after some hacks.

    LMK
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019
  23. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Did you try a different power supply?

    I have some old Dell Optiplex GX620s and an old Intel Desktop Board with a Pentium D in it that someone here never claimed.
     
  24. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Three different power supplies, same results. Started with forgetting the BIOS settings when the power was disconnected. Even tried flashing the BIOS, pulling all the add on cards, swapping out the AGP for a PCI video, etc. Something is on its way out.
     
  25. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,699
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    replace the cmos batter and double check for bad caps.
     
  26. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    3 different battery brands, all checked with a meter before hand. Caps are mint.
     
  27. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Visual checks aren't enough to determine the state of the capacitor.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  28. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Maybe but for the time it would take I'm better off just replacing the board.
     
  29. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Depends on if you want to bother reworking the board or not. You can get cheap chineseium capacitors on ebay, preferably the Chengx/Chengxing brand (the best of the dodgy.) I've used them for years with no major issues yet on stuff I don't want to spend tons of money on getting real Nichicon/Rubycon caps. Ebay seller Bruceshark had tons of them.

    https://www.ebay.com/str/bruce-shark
    https://www.ebay.com/str/bruceshark-001/

    Be sure to check both as he has different stuff on both.
     
  30. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Literately not interested in doing this. No guarantee it will fix the problem and for the time expended I'd rather just pick up a $50 board on Ebay and be done.

    I just figured I'd post here first as I gave 6-8 boards away in the last month. Thank you for your input.
     
    artless1 likes this.
  31. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    I have a four GX620 SFFs with Pentium Ds, but the shipping would be atrocious. You can have one or more if you want them.
     
  32. gdonovan

    gdonovan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,792
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Thanks for the offer but can't use the format. I need at least 3 open 5.25" (CDROM/SSD Dock/tape drive) and a floppy bay.
     
  33. PuppeteerNessus

    PuppeteerNessus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,401
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Found
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019
  34. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,823
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    I'll check after I get home from work tonight if nobody answers today. I might have one.. if I do, I'll check if it works.
     
  35. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,823
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Correction, just found in my hardware pictures that I do have it. (broken heatsink fan blade, but I'm sure it is no big deal) PM me your address again, and I'll get it shipped out tonight. 99% sure it works, since I only put stuff in storage that works, but I'll test it again.

    panLoO2l.jpg
     
  36. AceGoober

    AceGoober Live! Laug[H]! Overclock!

    Messages:
    21,248
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Anyone have a spare power adapter for a laptop? Helping out a U.S. Veteran by getting their laptop running again.

    Looking for:

    HP/Compaq:

    PPP009H Series
    PN: 463958-001
    Input: 100-240 Volt, 1.7 Amp
    Output: 18.5 Volt, 3.5 Amp, 65 Watt

    If I can get this adapter I'll put up a out-of-warranty but perfectly working 3TB WD Red as a freebie here.
     
  37. 404

    404 Gawd

    Messages:
    906
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    If its for a vet then sent me your PP and i'll give you enough money to buy one. There's a few ranging from 10-14 bucks on ebay.
     
    stinger608, jlbenedict and Lateralus like this.
  38. jester666

    jester666 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    You will want to double-check, but looks like this one may work. $8 from Amazon.

    https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Pavi...F8&qid=1547662440&sr=8-14&keywords=463958-001
     
  39. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Do not buy shitty Amazon power adapters for laptops, they fall under the same category as shitty $20 ATX PSUs for desktop PCs.

    They will fail, often times catching fire or exploding and destroy your laptop. I can't count how many customers I've had buy these things and kill their laptops, requiring expensive motherboard replacements or often an entirely new laptop.

    Always do research and try to find the original OEM adapter and avoid generic chineseium black label with white text "REPLACEMENT AC ADAPTER"

    Here's a genuine HP adapter, but it's missing the mickey mouse power cord:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/323652266413

    Power cord that probably works with it:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/272841103108
     
  40. 404

    404 Gawd

    Messages:
    906
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    sent AceGoober a few bucks yesterday. Should be enough to cover the PSU and cord.
     
    stinger608, AceGoober and Lateralus like this.