The [H]ard Forum Storage Showoff Thread - READ requirements in first post

Status
Not open for further replies.

CyberDeus-RagDoll

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
1,223
I now humbly submit MY proof of membership.

3tb.jpg

3tb2.jpg


Power Supply : PCP&C Silencer 750
RAID Level : NONE
Singles Drives
1 x 400GB, 7200RPM, Pata, Seagate
6 x 500GB, 7200RPM, Sata2, Maxtor Maxline

Advertised space = 3400.75 GB
No raid in place right now = Available space = 3166.8 GB..

system.jpg

Happy Now?
 

Sinclair

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 5, 2004
Messages
242
Power Supply: XClio 450BL (450W)

Level: RAID 6 (Linux Software RAID)
Controller: Highpoint Tech RocketRAID 2320 PCIe 4X 8-port SATA2 (in 16X slot for full 4X availability)
RAID Drives: 8 x 320G Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA2
OS Drive: 1 x 6.4G Western Digital Caviar WD64AA IDE

Total Space (Advertised): 2566.4GB
Total Usable (After RAID): 1926.4GB



 

killernoodle

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2002
Messages
2,634
Just curious, why put your OS on such a crappy drive? Not enough room on the 320s to keep your OS safe?
 

gte024h

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
137
ThermalTake Toughpower 750

RAID 5
Windows Software RAID
Ten Samsung 500GB SATA drives

One Maxtor 300GB SATA drive
One WD 36GB Raptor

4403 GB

comp.jpg


array.png
 

ilkhan

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 23, 2002
Messages
13,589
A64 3200+
2x512 PC3200
A8N-E
Rocketraid 2320 (8 port SATA II/ PCI-E x4)
3xWD750AAKS 750GiB in R5 (1.5TiB)


[picture of a P180 with a True2 blue PSU sitting in closet facing the wall (rear panel facing room) here]
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2006
Messages
50
Power Supply: Zalman ZM600-HP
RAID Level: RAID 5
RAID Controller: HighPoint RocketRAID 2220
RAID Drives:
x4 500g Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3500630AS SATA 3.0Gb/s

Single Drive:
x1 Maxtor 250g (OS)

Advertised Space:
1.5 TB


 

NjO

n00b
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
58
My attempt at bringing this thread back to life. :)

My workstation :



18 drives in a slightly modded Chieftec Bravo tower. I'm afraid I don't have any space left for my other drives. :(
The pictures show one of my best attempts at clean cable management, but i'm afraid it's useless with that much cables. Although, if you think away the IDE cables, it's quite clean. ;)

- RAID : none
- Drives :
  • 1x 160GB
  • 6x 200GB
  • 5x 250GB
  • 2x 300GB
  • 2x 320GB
  • 1x 400GB
  • 1x 500GB
- Advertised space : 4.75TB
 

cHoc

n00b
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
15
Here my updated machine.

16x 320GB SATA WD and Maxtor
6x 750GB SATA Seagate
Highpoint RocketRAID 2220 controllers
All RAID5, 2x 2TB, 1x 3,5TB, total 7,5TB


the rest of the system
2x 2.4 Xeon HT
Asus PU-DL mobo
2x 512MB ECC Reg. mem
2x PSU Silverstone Zeus 650W

old pictures
2006_0310Image00004.JPG

2006_0310Image00006.JPG
 

jen4950

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
8,789
Just have parts at the moment- just ordered another 8 750GB Seagates tonight :D (will update as I complete the machine, but think I qualify right now anyway-)

PSU: PCP&C 1kw with a custom wiring harness (have it- pics ASAP)

HDD's (in possession/purchased at least..) : (16) 750GB Seagates

Total storage as advertised thus far for this (1) system: 12TB

System:
2 x Quad Core Xeons...
2 x 30" Dell's
"Storage Array" -. 24 x 750GB drives in a parity array, final size between 9TB and 15TB TBD.
"System" - 6 15k RPM 2.5" 73GB SAS drives in RAID 10 - 219GB - (146GB drives if available when I buy..)
"Swap" - 2 15k RPM 2.5" SAS 73GB drives in RAID 1 - 73GB (8 ports available on tentative mobo..)

Total Anticipated advertised storage capacity: 18,365GB
Final Array capacity: ~12TB


Disc Type A (have 16/24): ST3750640NS


Teaser pics coming soon.. Too tired to post them tonight..

I will continue to update this single post for my (1) system tentatively named "2QX-1"
 

trmentry

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
90
I was running my file server on Windows 2003, but it couldn't do everything that I wanted it to do with software raid. So I converted to Linux (Gentoo).

Motherboard: Asus P4S800MX
Memory: 1g
CPU: P4 2.6g

md0: Raid 5 array (1 disk as spare)
2x 250g Western Digitals
4x 250g Maxtors

md1: Raid 5 array (1 disk as spare)
8x 320g Seagates externally using a Multilane SATA setup.

I ran out of space in the original case and so had to go external and the most cost effective way for me to do it at the time was to use Multilane SATA.

Code:
hoth ~ # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid5] [raid4] 
md1 : active raid5 sdh[7](S) sdg[6] sdf[5] sde[4] sdd[3] sdc[2] sdb[1] sda[0]
      1875426816 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 0 [7/7] [UUUUUUU]
      
md0 : active raid5 hdd[5](S) hdc[4] hdh[3] hdg[2] hdf[1] hde[0]
      976793856 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [5/5] [UUUUU]

I'm using LVM2 to slice up the arrays like partitions for different mount points.

Code:
hoth ~ # pvdisplay
  --- Physical volume ---
  PV Name               /dev/md1
  VG Name               vg01
  PV Size               1.75 TB / not usable 0   
  Allocatable           yes (but full)
  PE Size (KByte)       4096
  Total PE              457867
  Free PE               0
  Allocated PE          457867
  
   
  --- Physical volume ---
  PV Name               /dev/md0
  VG Name               vg00
  PV Size               931.54 GB / not usable 0   
  Allocatable           yes 
  PE Size (KByte)       4096
  Total PE              238475
  Free PE               59619
  Allocated PE          178856


Running Gentoo 2006.0 for the OS. With Samba happily serving out the files to the network and XBMC. I use Bacula to backup all my machines to the file server as well.


f_IMG3318m_6b09506.jpg
 

elguapo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
317
PSU: 350w rackmount-sized power supply

Physical System:
Penguin Computing Relion 102
1x Dual core P4 3.4GHz
2GB DDR2 800 ECC Memory

snapmax1.jpg


Raid Hardware:
3ware 9550SX-4LP Raid Card
4 Port, SATA II, NCQ, 128MB cache

snapmax3.jpg


Drives:
4x 500GB Seagate 7200.10 Barracudas

snampax2.jpg


Advertised vs. Actual Space:
Advertised = 2TB
Formatted and RAID 5ified =1.36TB

snapmax4.jpg
 

Farva

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
38,128
Able (no RAID)

AMD AM2 X2 3600+ Windsor
Biostar BIOSTAR TForce TF570SLI
OCZ 2GB DDR2 PC2-6400
ATi x600
WD 80GB 7200 RPM PATA
WD 3X320GB 7200 RPM PATA
WD 8x500AAKS
Silcon Image SiI 0680 ATA/133 Controller
SilverStone OP650 Olympia 650W
Case is a XION Stacker XON-791B

ablejb3.jpg



Cain (no RAID)

Amd 2400+
MSI KT4AV-L
Samsung 512MB DDR400
Enhance 460W
GeForce FX 5500
Silcon Image SiI 0680 ATA/133 Controller
Linksys EG1032v2 10/100/1000
US Robotics 56k Fax Modem
WD 120GB 7200 RPM PATA
WD 200GB 7200 RPM PATA
WD 300GB 7200 RPM PATA
WD 3x250GB 7200 RPM PATA
Sony DVD-RW DW-Q28A
NEC DVD-RW AD-7170A
4 fans from PC Toys plus a PC Toys fan controller
All packed into a Chieftech Yellow Dragon

cainhx1.png


Martin (RAID 5)

Pentium D 805 (Smithfield)
Scythe Ninja 1100P (did not attach the fan)
ABIT IL9 Pro LGA 775 Intel 945P ATX
ATI Radeon X700PRO 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16
HighPoint RocketRAID 2320 PCI Express x4 SATA II RAID Card
G.SKILL 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667
WD 40GB 7200 RPM PATA
Seagate 8x320GB 7200 RPM SATA
Pioneer DVR-111D
Antec True Power II 550W
All packed into an Antec P180

martin1ji0.png

martin2nv8.png
 

SHREK

Weaksauce
Joined
May 14, 2005
Messages
103
My New Machine up and running, but not finished.


PSU: OCZ 700 WATT
CPU: Intel QX6700
MOBO: Intel D975BX2
RAM: Corsair XMS2 Dominator TWIN2X2048 4-4-4-12
HDD: 4x 150GB Raptor Drives (RAID 10)
VGA: X1950 PRO 256MB (Temp Card until ATI R600)

411803194_70d1329a77_o.jpg


cheers

SHREK
 

g33k

n00b
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
29
img2363pszy5.jpg


system drive
wd1200jb

raid 5 - 6 x 320gb
t7k500
7200.10
4 x 3200jb

not using
3x 2500jb

2x uber cheap sil0680 based controllers
dge-530t (gige), rtl8139
axp 1600+ (cpu is actually a 2100+ but I have to run it at 133 fsb because the stupid via chipset which should work at 166 freezes during heavy transfers)
doesn't seem to be cpu limited (probably lmited by the crap via chipset)
abit kx7-333r (onboard highpoint controller freezes after a couple of days so I can't use it)
350w enermax
using windows 2003 raid 5 :eek:
drives don't get that hot, delta fan at the back pulls a lot of air
 

matrix563

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
19,144
DSCF0168.jpg


DSCF0169.jpg


DSCF0175.jpg

1.6 terabytes

DSCF0176.jpg

1.45 terabytes

DSCF0183.jpg


Fin
DSCF0186.jpg


whew! took more time than it looks!



Rest of pics here

Totals are 3068 gigabytes of total space. advertised is 3400 gigabytes of course.

5 400 gb 7200.10 sata seagate drives
2 250 gb 7200.8 sata seagate drives
2 400 gb 7200.10 ide seagate drives

:).

The psu is a enermax 485 watt active pfc. :)
 

mikeblas

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2006
Joined
Jun 26, 2004
Messages
12,776
Totals are 3068 gigabytes of total space. advertised is 3400 gigabytes of course.
Why the discrepancy? Bad sectors?

5 400 gb 7200.10 sata seagate drives
2 250 gb 7200.8 sata seagate drives
2 400 gb 7200.10 ide seagate drives
I get 3,300 gigabytes when I add all that up, which is 3073 gibibytes -- but still not an exact match for your 3068 number.

What are you using this storage for?
 

unhappy_mage

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2005
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
11,455
I get 3,300 gigabytes when I add all that up, which is 3073 gibibytes -- but still not an exact match for your 3068 number.
He could be using a controller that only uses the floor of the number of gigabytes. For example, this would make those 400GB disks show up as floor(400/1.024^3) = 372GiB. 2604 + 464 = 2068GiB. Raid controllers do this so there's a better chance you can replace a 300GB disk from one manufacturer with a 300GB disk from another (or another generation of the same manufacturer) in a raid array.
What are you using this storage for?

I'm interested, too. How do you have it partitioned? Lots of independent drives, JBOD, or raid? What's it holding?
 

matrix563

Fully [H]
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
19,144
He could be using a controller that only uses the floor of the number of gigabytes. For example, this would make those 400GB disks show up as floor(400/1.024^3) = 372GiB. 2604 + 464 = 2068GiB. Raid controllers do this so there's a better chance you can replace a 300GB disk from one manufacturer with a 300GB disk from another (or another generation of the same manufacturer) in a raid array.


I'm interested, too. How do you have it partitioned? Lots of independent drives, JBOD, or raid? What's it holding?

actually i just added up what the right click properties showed, which was 372 and 232. i just have it as a bunch of independent drives. its holding various anime's, movies, and tv shows :).

oh btw. love those math skills. 2604+464=2068 :D jk ;) lol
 

TeeJayHoward

Limpness Supreme
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
11,248
Power Supply: Ablecom triple-redundant 600W

RAID Level (if any): None at the moment
RAID Controller: SATA controller on motherboard
8xWestern Digital WD3200SD (Anime)
2xMaxtor 6Y160M0 (Not Anime)
1xSeagate 9GB IDE drive (OS)

2889GB Advertised Space
895GB Free Space
Not currently in system:
2xWestern Digital WD3200JD (Spare disks)
1xWestern Digital WD1500ADFD (Old OS drive, now doing nothing)
1xMaxtor 100GB IDE (Old USB backup, now doing nothing)

Partitioning and Schema:
Each 320GB drive has an "Anime" folder at the root of the drive, which is shared out via Windows XP's file sharing. Each 160GB drive has a "Backup" folder at the root of the drive, which is shared out via the same method. The contents of each 160GB drive are identical. Only one 160GB drive is plugged in at any given time, with the exception of a weekly incremental backup.

Future Plans:
*NIX and associated filesystem conversion.
RAID controller. It'd be nice to have all ten drives up at once.
Possibly another 5-in-3 cage and five more 320GB drives when I run out of space.

Pictures:
 

magnetik

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 6, 2000
Messages
5,943
know you guys don't like external drives in this thread since they are all the same.. but I modded mine a little bit after the internal fan died. heh

g600-1.jpg


g600-2.jpg
 

sodman12

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
32
I have a feeling im looking at the rigs of the top file downloaders on the internet:D
 

a ronin

Gawd
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
782
enclosurescs7.png


HP NAS has 320GB + 500GB with plans to do 500GB + 500GB.

Spare drives will get used in a spare computer soon.

foto from another thread.

Not technically conforming to the rules, but I read it after it was posted. Apologies.
 

kuyaglen

[H]F Junkie
Joined
May 15, 2002
Messages
9,291
70_lbs_fileserver_01.jpg

70_lbs_fileserver_02.jpg

70_lbs_fileserver_03.jpg

x800pro_fileserver.26.jpg




fileserver_drives.png


space_04s.jpg

space_05s.jpg


Antec NeoHe 550

Raid Array:
Raid 0: 4x300 Maxtor Diamond Max II
Promis SX 4000lite w/256mb pc133
Volume name: TBHDD (Terabyte Hard Disk Drive)
2 x $15 Fry's IDE cards (the rest in JBOD)

Intel P4 Northwood 3.06
4x512 Kingston HyperX
Intel 865GBF mobo
Airlink101 gig nic
Visiontek X800 Pro (upgraded fileserver to fileserver/backup gaming rig)

12 drives in case (all Maxtor Diamond Max II)
black externals are 400 & 300 (Seagate/Maxtor respectively)
blue externals are 500s
 

d3vy

n00b
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
13
nice thread :) impressive setups

Currently in the middle of a little upgrade

Old system

Disks: 16x Barracuda 10 320GB, Areca 1160, Raid 6
Double PSU: 750 Thermaltake Toughpower + Antec NEO 480

New system, still work in progress..

Disks: 14x Barracuda 10 750GB. Areca 1280ML, Raid 6 (10,5 TB advertised. 8,18 TB of useable formatted space. )
Single PSU: 700w Seasonic (powering 22 drives is no problem)

Case: Stacker with 4x 4in3 modules
Bootdrives: 2x 36GB Raptors for OS (onboard raid)
Motherboard: Asus.P5WDG2-WS PRO

This new system leaves me with plenty of space to expand (~15TB although the case will become a problem)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
8
Hi!
This are the pics from my file server i am building from now on...i have a bunch of disks in here:

5 x WD
2 x Samsung
1 x Hitachi (320 gb)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
8
Hi!
This are the pics from my file server i am building from now on...i have a bunch of disks in here:

4 x WD (1x 120 + 3 x 320 gb)
2 x Samsung (2 x 500 gb)
1 x Hitachi (320 gb)
3 x Maxtor (200 gb)

Total of 3000 gb....but only 2713 gb of real space!:) :) :D :D

I have a bunch of files in here, multimedia content and plan to buy some cheap 500 gb disks more....they are so cheap at the moment....just planning to upgrade real soon....1 tb or so more...

Also have plans to develop a better file server from here cause i recently bought this case for me....a cheap case...need some changes....as you can see or cant....i have 3 disks on top of box...with 2 14 cm fans on front....a trio of Maxtors in middle and a duo of WD and also a duo of disks on bottom with fans blowing.....some noise in here....need to improve.........this is just beginning...give me some feedback:D :D :D ::D Thanks!


This a AMD XP 3000+ 64 bits with 2 gb ram and a ASUS A8V Deluxe board with a Thermalright 90 blowing....also have got some 3 sata ide controllers and a gigabit network card and a Skystar2 card in PCI slots....have got a DVD RW

My system runs a Windows XP Pro and i also have got a bunch of PCS.....5 more at the moment on my network....and plan to grow......i file serve all the network from this pc....











Asus a8v deluxe
2 gb ram ddr 400
cpu amd ahlon 64 bits 3000+ Thermalright 90
3x Sata IDE controllers
1 x Gigabit SMC NIC
1 x Skystar2 Sat receiver
1 DVD RW LG
Chieftec case


PS - by th way how can i put the pics in here.....please.....
 

Boomslang

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
451
Okay, I took a lot of cues from one of Ockie's builds, as you might notice, but have stepped it up in the RAID dept. I haven't installed an operating system yet, but I have booted successfully. The OS to be installed will be FreeBSD 7.

Pictars:

server1xh3.png


server2fv7.png


server3ya9.png


When I'm well and truly done, the CDROM drive will be removed from the bottom of the case where it's just chilling right now to install my OS. No IDE cables. The power switch will be mounted in a hole drilled through one of the expansion slot plates on the back of the machine. I have to slow down the fans in the drive cages as well. The yellow SATA cable indicates the system drive, it's not because I ran out of reds.

GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADO3600DDBOX - Retail
Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KVR667D2K2/2GR - Retail
Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
SilverStone OP650 Olympia 650W 650 Watt PSU w/ Active PFC
(qty 5) Maxtor 500GB Serial ATA/300 16MB Buffer - L01F500 Retail Hard Drive Kit
Supermicro 8-channel Serial-ATA adapter with 300MB/s per channel,64-bit PCI-X interface,Sof - AOC-SAT2-MV8
COOLER MASTER CM Stacker STC-T01-UW Black/ Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail
(qty 4) 3x 5.25" bay --> 5x 3.5" bay adapters (from California PC systems)
(qty 3) SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

I did not go through Newegg for all of my components. Final build cost with everything shipped was $1415.64, or 35.39 cents per gig. Will be expanding another 8 drives in the future.

I will be running RAID-Z on ZFS for this build, so I'll see about 2.6TB of the 4TB.

EDIT: Neither Solaris nor FreeBSD properly supported my hardware, so instead of ZFS and RAID-Z, I'm running XFS/RAID-5. I see about 3.2TB of usable space after format, OS is Gentoo 2007.0 amd64.
 

MetalDwarf

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
1,072
2x200GB WD PATA (on cheap PCI IDE Card)
1x250GB Seagate PATA
2x320GB Hitatchi SATA (raid-0, OS Drive)
2x500GB WD SATA
BenQ 16X DVD-RW PATA

case is officially out of room, case is too messy to post pictures
advertised size 2.29TB
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top