The Growth of System Ram in Games

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Nightfire, Dec 20, 2018.

  1. Nightfire

    Nightfire [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Steve shows why 12 GB just isn't worth it for DDR4 systems:


    b5.PNG

    Perhaps, nest year he will try 24 GB, which won't get the memory penalty of Flex mode. Also, using the 3GB GTX1060and 4GB RX570 may have been more favorable for the 12GB flex.
     
  2. ng4ever

    ng4ever Flaccid 4Evar

    Messages:
    1,261
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Well of course
     
  3. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,708
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Resolution usually has basically zero impact on system ram usage. Some idiots the other day in the Hitman 2 forums were telling a guy that he needed more than 16gb of system ram to play at 4k. For the hell of it I checked that specific game and at 1080p or 4k the system ram usage was identical.
     
  4. PhaseNoise

    PhaseNoise [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,566
    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Unless they were really indirectly referring to the fact that you need/want higher res texture packs when running at higher screen resolutions? Longshot, I know. :)
     
  5. BoiseTech

    BoiseTech Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    I always double the "minimum" seen in most OEM desktops. I do 16gb for office use PC's, and 32gb for gaming PCs now a days.
     
    DrDoU, Armenius and ng4ever like this.
  6. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,210
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    We have done testing BFV on Saturday in regards to VRAM usage and System RAM usage. We have concluded System RAM is not a problem, our test system is maxing out at about 10GB of System RAM at the highest settings in the game with DXR Enabled at Ultra at 1440p. However, it is clear that VRAM could be a limitation with DXR. It seems to demand a lot of VRAM, in fact, DX12 itself demands a lot of VRAM, about twice that of DX11 just turning on DX12. With a 2080 Ti here are our 1440p results.

    DX11 - 1440p - Highest Game Settings
    4503 MB VRAM
    8723 MB System RAM

    DX12 - 1440p - Highest Game Settings - No DXR
    7976 MB VRAM
    10862 MB System RAM

    DX12 - 1440p - Highest Game Settings - Ultra DXR
    8824 MB VRAM
    10714 MB System RAM

    From this very testing at 1440p it seems the 8GB on the 2070 and 2080 might be bottlenecking DXR performance in the game at 1440p as it can definitely exceed 8GB of VRAM with Ultra DXR at 1440p.

    We need to test 1080p in DX12 and Ultra DXR and see what the results are next.

    We will include a table with all of this information in our 2080 Ti BFV Ray Tracing article to bring it all together and talk about it.
     
    Red Falcon, c3k, noko and 6 others like this.
  7. chameleoneel

    chameleoneel 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,919
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    GTA V is one of the first PC games which comes to mind, which needs more than 8 gigs of ram in your system. Otherwise you will get some hitching. Particularly during high speed situations.
     
  8. Nightfire

    Nightfire [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    A recent Steam Survey compilation of system stats puts things into perspective. Here is a graph that illustrates how things have changed over the years:
    20190410_212058.jpg

    I realize the Steam average is considerably lower than the [H] average, but it gives a good idea of what will be needed 3 years down the road as developers will still try to accommodate the majority of gamers, even at higher settings.

    Right now the average ram is just under 10 GB (mostly 8 GB and 16 GB users) and vram is just under 4 GB (1050ti, 1060 3GB/6GB). Best guess is around 15 GB ram (mostly 16 GB users) and 7.6 GB vram in 2022 (GTX 1660, 1660ti, 1650ti, 1070, etc).

    As a point of reference Crysis was released when 1270 MB of ram and 280 MB of vram were the average.
     
  9. 777

    777 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    131
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    I still fire up Cities Skylines which is over 4 years old now. It hovers at around 2GB on the menu screen but as soon as the game save finishs loading the process would be sitting at over 8GB but during some sessions I've seen it climb over 9GB. Other players who are much heavier mod users than I report much higher RAM needs.
     
  10. schizrade

    schizrade [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,706
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    This region pushes 12.5GB RAM:

    city_large_1.png
     
  11. Nightfire

    Nightfire [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,530
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    GTX 2080 8, 12, and 16GB in the latest games. Values measured towards the end with 1% on top and Ram usage below.



    Division 2: 9 75 78
    6.8G 10.1G 10.8G

    Forza: 86 112 112
    7.2G 8.1G 8.1G

    Metro: 41 60 62
    5.4G 6.8G 6.8G

    BF:V 2 62 57
    7.7G 10.7G 11.0G

    Rage 2 109 117 115
    5.5G 6.9G 6.7G

    RE: 2 27 34 120
    4.9G 6.3G 6.0G

    AC:O 43 61 60
    6.4G 8.0G 7.6G

    Hitman 2 77 86 93
    6.3G 7.4G 6.8G

    SotTR 44 50 49
    6.6G 7.3G 7.2G

    Most games suffer with 8GB. Division 2 and BF:V were on the edge with 12 GB as the background tasks were most likely using up to 2 GB. The game didn't max vRam so having extra vRam wouldn't give more wiggle room when games start stressing 16GB of Ram

    RE:2 looks bad, but this was from one hiccup, possibly caused from the hybrid 8GB+4GB config. The game only maxed out around 7GB.

    16GB looks solid for a good while.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  12. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    629
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    32GB it is then!
     
    GSDragoon likes this.
  13. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,347
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Yup.

    Need my VM and photo editing space too. And about forty browser tabs, because who wants to reopen that constantly.
     
    Red Falcon likes this.
  14. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    In the middle of planning my next upgrade. Have 16GB right now and so far the plan to just re-use that is sounding pretty good.
     
  15. defaultluser

    defaultluser [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,367
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Yeah, I'm holding off installing the extra 8gb DDR3 ram I have sitting around (24GB total). With 4 sticks, it would no-doubt kick my memory controller up to 2t latency on my 4790k - not something I want to do until it's necessary.

    I will eventually do it, but not for a couple more years (assuming I can get two more years out of this beast).
     
  16. Jandor

    Jandor Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    It's already the standard if you want to stay out of trouble, but for the future you have to think 64GB. It's cheap now. There shouldn't be any new gaming system sold without 64GB by today.
    Same for the video card. You're okay to day for most of the games with 8GB of video RAM, in Full HD, but some games will ask for more. So the 2080 Ti (11GB GDDR6) or the Radeon VII (16GB HBM2) are the only cards somehow future proof.
     
  17. Lepardi

    Lepardi Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    185
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    16GB is totally not enough nowadays. Without pagefile you can't play R6: Siege with Ultra textures at 1440p resolution.

    Dunno if it's the VRAM eating into the RAM without a pagefile though. (for example 7GB VRAM usage would bring down available RAM to just 9GB.)

    I think 64GB is taking it a bit too far... for a gaming PC you need good RAM, especially the new Ryzens. 64GB will cost you 600€.
     
    Red Falcon and Nightfire like this.
  18. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,347
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    There's something else going on here. This is just one game, so it's prudent to see why it's an exception, as opposed to treating in like a rule.

    Generally speaking 16GB is more than enough for modern gaming.
     
    SuperAnt, Red Falcon and Nightfire like this.
  19. Lepardi

    Lepardi Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    185
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Depends if you want to play without the pagefile to ensure least microlags possible. As the VRAM usage will eat away from the 16GB.
     
  20. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,574
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Many years ago vram resources were also mirrored in system ram. That’s not really the case today and hasn’t been for a while.
     
    IdiotInCharge and Red Falcon like this.
  21. misterbobby

    misterbobby 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,708
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Even with 32 gigs of system ram, I ran out of memory several times a week if I had the page file off.
     
  22. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,538
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    You might be surprised. I'm currently running a 4790K with 4x Kingston memory (single ranked), 2666mhz overclocked to 3066mhz currently, 1T! :cool:

    Asus Hero VI goes along way to making that possible though I'm sure.
     
    defaultluser likes this.