Textures in Skyrim are fail to accomodate consoles

FWIW, I'm still playing it at midnight.

I guess I was just hoping we wouldn't need another QTP.

Game looks pretty good to me. I've seen some media. The PC version looks appreciably better than the console versions but sure, we're going to need texture packs and such to put things over the top as always.,

A posted noted in another thread that 'Ultra' actually isn't cranking everything - there is an external-to-the-game setup menu that has a bunch more options you can check off, even from 'Ultra' quality.

So that's good to know, and something to keep in mind. Doesn't LOOK like it improves the texture quality any, but should help with graphics some. Better quality shadows, reflections, etc.

High-res texture packs will fix this all up in no time, but as a game artist myself, that screenshot is quite beautiful.

High-res texture packs will fix this all up in no time, but as a game artist myself, that screenshot is quite beautiful.

Still sucks that you have to wait for some modder to go in and fix what should be in the shipping game. Although I guess that's to be expected from Bethesda (and from the <6GB install size).

Edit: There's something that seems "off" about that image. Can't put my finger on it - kinda over-sharpened maybe?

Well, there is an issue with a world of this size and actually fleshing out the thousands of surface-types. I would much rather have a game that uses average textures cohesive and artistically relevant than to either have a world filled with a garbled mess of 'just for the hell of it' normal maps (see: gears of war, unreal tournament 3) or a later release date.

Edit: There's something that seems "off" about that image. Can't put my finger on it - kinda over-sharpened maybe?

I've done a bit of graphic work, and looking the image over, I find a lot of things that are "off":