Texture Pop In

smc805

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
204
Firstly, I sincerely apologize if this is not the right place to post/ask this. If its not I'll move it as necessary.

Anyway, just got Far Cry 4 and have been playing it. The game is awesome so far, but I am noticing dramatically what I am guessing is some weird texture pop in. A texture for an item, let's say the marker where you can replay an outpost, will render and be fine, then for a moment seem to dissolve before reassembling into the original texture. Very weird. I'm going to try and post a video of it so y'all can see.

Anyway, what is causing this? Settings are 1080p, on the 60fps preset with medium details on a GTX 960 4gb card, an Intel i7 4770k, and an Intel 730 series SSD. My biggest imbalance is my system RAM, it's only 4gb. Could/would this be causing the problem??
 

horrorshow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
8,067
Double that RAM post-haste. It's an insult to the rest of your setup!

And yes, that is most likely the source of your issue.
 

smc805

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
204
Double that RAM post-haste.

Already on it, got 16GB of Hyperx Fury 1866MHZ coming in tomorrow.

It's an insult to the rest of your setup!

Very true :(:( Shame I even entertained this setup for any time.

And yes, that is most likely the source of your issue.

Thanks for the insight. I am still newish to building and PC gaming, so diagnosing issues or even properly describing what's happening can be a little challenging.
 

DF-1

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
2,642
Is that still what you're running in your system?

What GPU do you have?

yes, i played it at 1440p, gtx 780, 8gb ram.

I believe its just the engine they're using, each engine has its own problems.

some people may not notice it as much as me and you did. It never really did bother me much, but i did notice it.
 

CEpeep

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
6,061
I dunno, I have 8GB of RAM, an SSD an i5 and an R290 and I still get texture pop-in on FC4. It's not awful, but it's definitely there. I think it's just the engine they're using rather than a limitation of your system. More RAM certainly won't hurt though.
 

Viper16

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
1,839
hmm..I have the specs below, and noticed it, but only minimally, and usually if I am hauling it with a fast vehicle or falling out of the sky. but it pops in so quick, it is hardly noticeable. GTA almost ruined my experience though!
 

smc805

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
204
hmm..I have the specs below, and noticed it, but only minimally, and usually if I am hauling it with a fast vehicle or falling out of the sky. but it pops in so quick, it is hardly noticeable. GTA almost ruined my experience though!

Yeah, its still certainly playable and everything, but sometimes it is distracting. Just breaks immersion a little bit.
 

Godmachine

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Messages
10,472
The only game this bothered me beyond reason was Rage. That game has the worst texture pop in I've ever seen. Worse than N64 text pop in.

Frankly however I think stuttering annoys me more. If I'm forced to run something at 30 fps I want zero stutter and if this is too much to ask I don't bother with the game.
 

AlexisRO

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Messages
216
Specs in my sig, i get those textures pop in. It's the game engine at fault, and haven't seen a solution for it. It's really distracting when flying. The same problem was also present in FC3.
 

smc805

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 5, 2015
Messages
204
Specs in my sig, i get those textures pop in. It's the game engine at fault, and haven't seen a solution for it. It's really distracting when flying. The same problem was also present in FC3.

Wow! You're getting that too with SLI 970's??? That's crazy

I guess that's what people mean when they say Ubisoft games are terribly optimized
 
Top