Florida remains one of the few states in which texting while driving isn’t considered a primary offense, but that could be changing with a new bill being considered by the Legislature. It is hard to say what kind of effect it would have, if any: the penalty would merely be $30 plus court costs; no points would be added to the driver’s record. Currently, Florida law says texting by noncommercial drivers is a secondary offense - law enforcement officers must see another violation like speeding or an illegal lane change before they cite a driver for texting. The bill would make texting a primary offense. The fine for a first offense would remain $30 plus court costs and add no points to the driver’s record. Previous attempts have failed, but this bill has support from legislative leaders.