Terrible gaming experience with Ryzen 1700

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by Xa3phod, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Here are the benchmarks. Please check them out.

    In Planetside 2, it still sucks. Ultra settings 1440p, I was between 45-55 FPS in a big battle.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. KedsDead

    KedsDead Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    I read on a couple of youtube video comments, that in large battles even the 1080ti drops to the 50fps range when on ultra. I watched one with a 1600x & Vega 64 at 1440p Ultra. When he was inside the buildings in battles it dropped to the 50s, sometimes high 40's.. When he is outside fighting, it stays in the mid 70s and 80s.. It would also dip when other players were around in larger battles. So then I watched on with a 6700k and 1080 with the same settings. The 1080 was getting around the mid 90s outside while he was running around. When he got into a big fire fight, it dropped to the high 40s to mid 50s.

    The usage on the CPU never went over 50%, the GPU would hover around 35% with an occasional spike to 80%, for the Vega system.
    The usage on the CPU never went over 50%, the GPU would hover around 45% with an occasional spike to 70%, for the 1080 System.

    Seems to me its more of the game, than the system.
     
  3. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,233
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    I would run the ram at 2933 if you have an x370 motherboard. Some can handle 3200 fine, but my gigabyte board just refuses with my kit.

    Oh, and my r5 1600 gets 1.57 single core in cb11.5, bonestock, with ram at 2933c14-16-16.
    In cb r15 i get 144, but i noticed it stayed at 3.4GHz and rarely boosted to 3.7, so something's up there.
    Edit: OC'd to 3.8GHz (but cas16, because my bios flipped and I didn't feel like putting in all the settings again) I get 154 in cb R15, so seems like you're on the mark with your 3.9GHz OC.

    I'm betting on either instability, or you're just hyper-sensitive to any drop in framerate (which happens more often on your amd system for whatever reason), or a combination of the two.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2019
  4. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    In this screenshot you can see I dropped to the mid 30's. GPU is at 73% @ 66C. The CPU is at 38% @ 45C. Ram usage is at 7890MB, which I am surprised about, but I guess you do need 16gigs to run a game.
    It was an ok experience this time, didn't suck, but it wasn't as good as my 6700K. Would you see any improvement from 16GB of 3000ram vs 16GB of 3200ram? Should I go as high as 4000Mhz ram? Will it show any improvement? 10% FPS is a lot.

    Also, @ 73% the vega 56 isn't bottle-necking, so what is the deal?? I overclocked the vega, I read about undervolting, but don't really know anything about it and I don't care about heat or power. (You can see both are well within safe parameters, if not cool and frosty).
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  5. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    In this screenshot, I am in the mid 60's. You can see the ram usage is over 8GB (8134MB). I have no other programs running, I am totally shocked.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,233
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    In fact, you are 58MiB short of filling all of your 8GiB (8192MiB) of RAM. No doubt, the MS kernel scheduler is hard at work swapping out memory to disk (if not constantly, then at least in bursts). More RAM would certainly help smooth out your experience, but I couldn't say how much.
     
  7. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    You need to look across all cores to see if there is a bottleneck. Turn down the res to remove the gpu. I have 32gig and go over 8 easy doing nothing but opening web browser tabs. It's not rocket science, one screen game and another task manager. Find out what is maxed.
     
  8. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,233
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Faster is better, but on a 1700x you probably wouldn't see much benefit beyond 3200, iirc even 2933 (or 3000) to 3200 isn't a big bump. That said, if you plan to upgrade to another ddr4 processor in the future, it doesn't hurt to go faster (well, other than your wallet). Though, I haven't looked at zen+ memory comparisons, so I can't say whether faster ram benefits it more than zen.
     
  9. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Also, start turning down the eye candy.
     
  10. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Never! I want eye candy! Should I just get a 9900K? :)
     
  11. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Does this game do sli? Wild guess you have some unoptimized setting up that is killing your frames. You can spend time optimizing game engine settings or just burn cash on sli I guess.
     
  12. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017

    At high res the gpu is the bottleneck. It's not the cpu unless you are running an ancient game like source engine. So that leaves the gpu more than likely and you are choking it with eye candy. Since you need need it so bad, buy more gpu or spend the time and optimize engine settings to see what you can pull out of it. I have also seen laggy servers dropping frames which destroy fps. Look at everything.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
  13. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,233
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
  14. Mega6

    Mega6 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Google this:

    planetside 2 frames per second low site:forums.daybreakgames.com

    My research indicates that this is a game engine issue. Tune the engine and stop driving these guys crazy thinking its hardware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
    Brian_B likes this.
  15. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,789
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    You don't need 16 GB but it is how the PC environment works. If the gpu has 8 GB then it will mirror in your normal ram allowing changes from ram to go 1:1 to the gpu. Without this the system would need to swap the last bit of addressable memory in order to perform.

    Under volting allows better performance in certain areas and sometimes allows longer boost clock compared with straight overclocking.

    The ram won't get you there the 3200 CL14 Samsung B die is better ram but it won't perform miracles. Currently the ram ceiling is 3600( X470 2700X) where if you go higher it won't show much more advantage except for synthetic benchmarks.
     
  16. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    6,267
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I realized it wasn't hardware right when he said low frames, and not even even 80% CPU/GPU usage, filled his 8GB system RAM, etc...
    Writing is on the wall. Step one: you need more RAM. Step two: report back after completing step one.
     
  17. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    6,267
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    What nonsense is this? Stop spreading ignorance.

    He needs 16GB system RAM.
     
  18. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,606
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Yeah based on xaphods results more ram is going to make a difference.

    I remember when Tiranfall 2 had a memory leak bug and my 32gb would fill up and the game would run like shit then.

    Once the bug was fixed the game ran awesome.

    Hence running short on ram will penalize performance drastically.
     
  19. dvsman

    dvsman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,776
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    If more ram doesn't satisfy you, pull out your wallet and throw more GPU at it :-D

    Personally, jumping from a 5930k to a 2700x (and I'm still fiddling with it), I've noticed that AMD is more picky with ram and the important thing - recycling my ram from my older x99 rig into my AMD build just doesn't work that well.

    While I could run 3200 all day long with just an XMP bios toggle on my intel rig - since I don't have AMD specific ram - getting any of my DDR4 sets (Corsair Vegeance LPX, G Skill Ripjaw V and Crucial Ballistic Sport) to work well has been an experience.
     
  20. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,900
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    This would have annoyed me intensely.
    My LPX 3000 C15 ram (D-Die) runs at 3733MHz C17 in my Intel Maximus VIII board.
    It wouldnt even reach 2600MHz fully stable in lesser motherboards, it needs a very good motherboard for memory.
    AMD need to address this.
     
  21. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    UserBenchmark: @ 3.9Ghz w/ 16GB DDR4-3000
    Gaming: 100%
    Desktop: 87%
    Workstation: 95%
     
  22. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    I'm also fairly annoyed with AMD's memory quirks. I can't get 4 sticks to run above 2933MHz regardless of what I do on a 1700x with X470. Here is to hoping they fix it with Zen2...
     
  23. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,965
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    try giving it more juice, add .1v see if that helps. but also keep in mind that amd doesn't support as high of speeds as intel does and Ryzen 1 is finicky, so stick to the qvl. the 2000 series seems to be less picky from what ive read but I haven't had hands on yet...
     
  24. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,606
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Yes but throwing another CPU at his solution, given the 1700x is still a very powerful chip, will NOT enable more eye candy. The CPU doesn't play a role in eye candy, it plays a role in all the mundane crap on the backend, i.e. decompression of files while gaming, networking (netcode), sound, positional stuff, etc.. etc.. the GPU does all the rendering. The faster the cpu the faster it can send pertinent data to the GPU for final processing graphically. But a 1700x should deliver the goods if there is enough ram dialed in correctly and with a powerful enough GPU.

    Jumping to a 9900K is ludicrous and a waste of money if he must go Intel with only gaming in mind as the experience. Of course the chip may be appropriate if you 1. Have money to spend just for having the top of the line or 2. need the 2 extra cores and HT for other than gaming tasks but that is almost NEVER the case and that is probably a fact. Even I have a 2950x and I have already completely all the heavy work I will do with it for the most part and now I have a 16 core monster that I dont use anymore like I was when I first got it. Now I am fully caught up on all my rendering so its just day to day now when I use the full capacity.

    Clock for clock an 8700k even an 8600k will deliver the goods for gaming almost near equivalent to the 8 core 9900k. Were talking single digit percentiles here.. even the 2700x is on average 11% slower in gaming than the much much more expensive 9900k.

    Only throwing this out there not to argue but for the OP to consider in his/her decision process.
     
  25. DooKey

    DooKey [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,105
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Hopefully they'll fix this issue with the Ryzen 2. If not, it's going to continue to hinder AMD adoption with the high performance crowd.
     
    custom90gt likes this.
  26. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,125
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Overclocking is never a sure thing



    also still a reminder to OP that project mercury can do wonders for gaming performance on ryzen
     
  27. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    I understand that, but from the last 8 Intel CPUs I've had these sticks with, I've never come across something so lame. AMD has a lot of ground to make up.
     
  28. Xa3phod

    Xa3phod Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Well, just played a very large battle in Planetside 2. Huge. I was getting around 35FPS. Its not good. The CPU is good, but the 6700K is better at gaming, no buts about it. I don't do enough productivity to make it worth it. Dunno, its stable. running at 3.9Ghz. The ram is running real nicely. The GPU is well overclocked. Just not enough power to give me the FPS I want. I tried. I refuse to turn down the eye candy, because I don't need to with the Intel. What am I missing? I want it to work!
     
  29. dragonstongue

    dragonstongue 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,151
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Unfortunately there are so very few truly unbiased benchmarks out there, too many fighting over the cookie jar sort of speak, especially for them canned style which Intel and Nv have both been "heavy handed" like to tilt results in their favor, especially Intel whom controls the x86 core codes and majority of compilers (not hard for them to tweak on their end even further).

    Use proper ram (speed and total capacity) in XMP or A-XMP mode, ensure stable drivers with a properly used SSD/HDD etc etc pretty run of the mill, but I dare say if expecting Ryzen 1700 to "do miracles" might be asking a bit much, does it run? does it play games reasonably well, have you been though all possible ideas to tweak the performance you should be getting (even moving ram from slot A1 and B1 to A2 and B2).

    It should be able to "clock it up" to keep things quicker and stabilize the difference between the low FPS and high capped FPS variations (more stable constant "feel"
     
  30. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,125
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    or it could be you were just unlucky with you oc on this cpu
    judging AMD on one single CPU overclock seems to be really bad for anykind of conklussions
    Tons of ppl are running 3200 so its not like its a trend.
     
  31. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,016
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    you might look into trying disabling certain number of cores "ryzen master app" and see if your cpu can clock higher even if its less cores...that game might not make use of many cores very well....ITs not the first time we have heard intel cpus handling large mmo type games but it also sounds like that games doesn't use the best coding . Me i would just turn the dam eye candy up even more to get the dam card running 100% usage one way or another or find a better game lol
     
  32. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Yes 3200, wow. I mean I have only been running the same 4 sticks of ram at 4133MHz on Intel (in both dual and quad channel). I can run it at 3333MHz with two sticks but I didn't try to go any higher. You're kidding yourself if you think AMD is anywhere close to being in the ram game here.
     
  33. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,125
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    OK.. still does not really matter compared to that you are using a single example as a basis of conclusion.
     
  34. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    No I'm using your statement saying tons of people are doing it. Yes mine sucks, but tons of people can't be wrong (even if it still sucks).
     
  35. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,125
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    OK well as long as we agree your inital statement based on a single cpu test really is badly based I guess we are fine then
     
  36. custom90gt

    custom90gt Gawd

    Messages:
    532
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Right, I'm in agreement that mine is terrible. I am also saying that 3200MHz still sucks and AMD still needs lots of work.
     
  37. maxius

    maxius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,363
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    dudeski see what is in i use daily and i play at 1440p ultra everything all day long w/o issues

    Case: Antec Sonata II
    PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 620 watt
    Motherboard: Asus 970 Pro Gaming/Aura
    Processor: AMD FX 8350
    Memory: 24gb Cosair ddr3 1866
    Hard Drives: WD Black NVMe 1tb SSD
    Video: AMD Radeon Vega 64
    Sound: Creative Xfi Fatal1ty Pro
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2019
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  38. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,789
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    The problem is not having a frequency but getting more performance out of the frequency and that does not scale beyond a point which it makes sense spending money on.
     
    Gideon likes this.
  39. dook43

    dook43 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,912
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
  40. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,606
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Well at this point ditch the AMD chip. Just get an 8700k and board and dont look back.

    This thread reminds me of the days when I was young and dumb and I am still dumb to this day Haha. But I would buy a console just to play one single game. What a waste of money. And I wasn't saying you or the thread was dumb.