Swap out pump on 1080ti ftw3 hybrid possible? g12 kraken with clc evga (pump pins diff)

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
Im having some issues with noise in the radiator/tubes/90C temps, tried shaking, redoing tim, no good.

Question is, can you swap out the pump for say a corsair H60? (dont see anyone out there with tutorials)

I got the nzxt bracket but it only apparently worked with an nzxt pump or the h55 (no stock).

I just want to know if this can be done in general?
I thought maybe there might be a way to put the h60, but the brackets dont line up.

Thanks in advance
 

doubletake

Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
741
The NZXT Kraken line only works with the Asetek-made round-plate coolers that feature the circular retention lug pattern, while those Corsair coolers are made by someone else and use a different mechanism. I don't know if you can use any of the old HG10 brackets with modern cards since they seem to only have been made for older GPU generations before Pascal. There's always the path of the ziptie if you want a quick fix without needing actual mounting hardware.
 

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
The NZXT Kraken line only works with the Asetek-made round-plate coolers that feature the circular retention lug pattern, while those Corsair coolers are made by someone else and use a different mechanism. I don't know if you can use any of the old HG10 brackets with modern cards since they seem to only have been made for older GPU generations before Pascal. There's always the path of the ziptie if you want a quick fix without needing actual mounting hardware.
Ok thanks, so in theory this nzxt should fit on the board once the bracket is in place? Ill just get the nzxt cooler to go with it.

I think the pump is definitely on the fritz on mine 1080ti hybrid, grinding sounds, change the tim 2x, this time with mx4, no change, starts 50C idle and then roars to 90c under full load.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,128
like dt said, any round asetek based pump will work with the g12. im using a corsair on my 5700.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,128
yeah someone elsewhere said the Evga CL11 120mm AIO will work (of course no stock on amazon). nzxt kraken m22 wont.
yeah i guess not, it has a different mounting system than most asetek based ones. if an aio uses this style bracket it should work.

1621140340268.png
 

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
yeah i guess not, it has a different mounting system than most asetek based ones. if an aio uses this style bracket it should work.

View attachment 357039
You meant not on the kraken right? (just searching on asetek based coolers doesnt show a whole lot at least on amazon, sometimes brings up the wrong coolers too). Thanks for the bracket pic reference, helpful

The evga i think was quoted as working in a review.

Its bracket looks similar here?
61nLPWx87SL._AC_SL1200_[1].jpg
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,128
You meant not on the kraken right? (just searching on asetek based coolers doesnt show a whole lot at least on amazon, sometimes brings up the wrong coolers too). Thanks for the bracket pic reference, helpful

The evga i think was quoted as working in a review.

Its bracket looks similar here?
View attachment 357040
yeah the m22 has a slide on bracket that seems to wedge between the pump and the teeth that those brackets use. there are yt vid of people modding them(m22+g12) to work together...
yeah like that. for mine i have a locking ring that keeps the bracket in place, not sure if its need or not. the way the g12 attaches, it might work fine without. im going to try it next time i take things apart cause its messing with my ram sinks.

1621141614461.png
 

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
Silly question, but the original square silver ring around the gpu chip, i assume i still leave that in place with the after market parts?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,128
Mine is held on by 3 or 4 screws on the plate at the bottom.
oh, maybe an nv thing or your model, idk. as long as the die is slightly above it or even with it, its good.
edit: this?
1621306671828.png


or this
1621306800153.png
 
Last edited:

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
I have the g12 ready, have the evga clc 120mm pump, managed to screw it on to the g12 bracket no issues, now the issue is, how to connect the 3 pin pump and fan to the video card spots, those are different style connectors? Of course i could by pass and put on the motherboard but that wouldnt work as ideally.
What did others do with 3rd party 3 pin connectors? (and the radiator fan too)

EDIT: im guessing i could try all 3 on the motherboard, pump and rad fan at 100% all the time at least, the 3rd one, maybe an adapter i saw on amazon :https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005ZKZEQA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I dont know that the pump 3 pin will reach the motherboard, i dont think i have an extension on hand.
 
Last edited:

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,128
I have the g12 ready, have the evga clc 120mm pump, managed to screw it on to the g12 bracket no issues, now the issue is, how to connect the 3 pin pump and fan to the video card spots, those are different style connectors? Of course i could by pass and put on the motherboard but that wouldnt work as ideally.
What did others do with 3rd party 3 pin connectors? (and the radiator fan too)

EDIT: im guessing i could try all 3 on the motherboard, pump and rad fan at 100% all the time at least, the 3rd one, maybe an adapter i saw on amazon :https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005ZKZEQA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I dont know that the pump 3 pin will reach the motherboard, i dont think i have an extension on hand.
for the pump i run it to a molex adapter for full speed all the time. you can run it off your mobo too, set the header to dc and full speed. for the fan, it chopped the 4pin end off an old card and just jammed it into a 4pin fan. you can get adapters, but they are stupid pricey up here(CAN).
edit: you can do both off your mobo. you can guess with the fan speed, or use speedfan to bind the header to the gpu temp and set a custom curve.
 

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
for the pump i run it to a molex adapter for full speed all the time. you can run it off your mobo too, set the header to dc and full speed. for the fan, it chopped the 4pin end off an old card and just jammed it into a 4pin fan. you can get adapters, but they are stupid pricey up here(CAN).
edit: you can do both off your mobo. you can guess with the fan speed, or use speedfan to bind the header to the gpu temp and set a custom curve.
i just put all 3 on the motherboard. i think i put the pump into a 3pin, i put the other two into 4 pins, using the first 3 pins. So far during max load the temp is 49c. I guess i may be good :)
 

doubletake

Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2013
Messages
741
You need an adapter if you want to be able to connect regular-size 4pin fans to your GPU for direct control via w/e program you use.
 

markm75

Gawd
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
799
he knows about that. he posted one, three posts up...
yeah though the one i posted was only a single port one. The other adapter posted was a dual :) So either way i guess.

That said, i guess i leave on the motherboard or use the card ports, question is, lets say i get that 2 port version, which two fans should i connect to it, the rad fan and the card fan or ?
Or should i get the single port one for the other port (for pump) and the dual port one for the "fans" (i think this) vs leave alone on motherboard

Mining eth so far the max temp is 52 (case side off), i figure anything under 60ish is great (the way it was before). I cant imagine leaving the 3 at full speed is much of a power draw either.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,128
yeah though the one i posted was only a single port one. The other adapter posted was a dual :) So either way i guess.

That said, i guess i leave on the motherboard or use the card ports, question is, lets say i get that 2 port version, which two fans should i connect to it, the rad fan and the card fan or ?
Or should i get the single port one for the other port (for pump) and the dual port one for the "fans" (i think this) vs leave alone on motherboard

Mining eth so far the max temp is 52 (case side off), i figure anything under 60ish is great (the way it was before). I cant imagine leaving the 3 at full speed is much of a power draw either.
i only control the rad fan off my card, the pump and g12 fan are full blast. its really your call how you want to do it, if youre happy with the way it is call it a day.
 
Top