Suggest OS for low end rig

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Skylinestar, Sep 1, 2017.

  1. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    But it worked with another machine connected to that ethernet cable, right?
     
  2. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Yes. The router and cable are good.
     
  3. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Ok, thanks. :)
     
  4. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,057
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    That'll do it. ;)

    Time for a cheap NIC, try to make it an Intel one if you can.

    Study those terminal commands we supplied you with, it's good to have an understanding of how they work in the event of another issue related to a NIC that isn't physically faulty.
     
    Skylinestar likes this.
  5. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    I've got a D-Link DFE-520TX (for $4) installed. Ethernet is working great now. Yay.
    skylinestar@G31M:~$ lspci -nnk | grep net -A2
    03:02.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6105/VT6106S [Rhine-III] [1106:3106] (rev 8b)
    Subsystem: D-Link System Inc DFE-520TX Fast Ethernet PCI Adapter [1186:1405]
    Kernel driver in use: via-rhine
    Kernel modules: via_rhine
     
    Frobozz likes this.
  6. abovewood

    abovewood n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    To me, win 10 home 32 bit seems to run faster than 64bit pro version on old hardware.
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  7. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Testing Lubuntu 17.10. I'm surprised at the ram usage.
    XKJNz2x.png
     
  8. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,045
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Wow, that is amazing! That's like Raspbian ram usage.
     
    FNtastic likes this.
  9. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Linux Mint 19 Mate with [H] loaded. Although the ram usage is higher than Lubuntu, it does feel snappier. Some kind of voodoo right there.
    [​IMG]
     
    FNtastic, ChadD and Mazzspeed like this.
  10. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,045
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    You have updates! ;)
     
    FNtastic likes this.
  11. ChadD

    ChadD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,262
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
  12. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    What's the difference between zram and zswap?
     
  13. ChadD

    ChadD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,262
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Zram is a compressed swap device. (replacing your disc swap) Its basically a RAM swap drive.

    Zswap is a compressed cache but doesn't replace your disc swap. Its an in kernel compression... basically it just means the system will compress some stuff it puts in ram and should better use your memory. It does come at the expense of a bit more CPU... but if your talking webpages ect that shouldn't be a big deal even on old or low end hardware. If you set it up the default is LZO compression which is the opposite of Zram which defaults to LZ4. All you really need to know is LZO is a better compression method, which makes it slower to compress and deflate. So in general I would suggest using LZ4 which takes less CPU but still provides almost as good a compression ratio. (which I would assume why the article I linked suggests turning on LZ4... if you skip that step Zswap will use the default LZO more compression at the cost of more CPU)

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zswap
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zram

    In general imo Zswap is superior. Chromebooks tend to ship with zram on... and If you really don't wanna hit the hard drive or slow ass flash storage in a chromebook if you can help it that makes sense. I would say in most cases zswap is the way to go. It can more intelligently handle page compression and will choose for instance to not compress stuff that doesn't compress well.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  14. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
  15. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Added GeForce GT 440
    QRVFjrF.jpg

    What's the meaning of "Total dedicated memory"? Why is it less than 1024?
    y071hSX.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
  16. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,045
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    1024MB = 1GB. You have a 1GB card, of that 1GB you are using 44MB, so you have 963MB of video memory remaining.
     
  17. ChadD

    ChadD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,262
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
  18. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Replaced my 2x 1GB 6-6-6-12 ram with 2x 2GB 6-6-6-18 ram ($10 from AliExpress). Run systemd-analyze...

    Before (2x1GB):
    Startup finished in 6.103s (kernel) + 55.161s (userspace) = 1min 1.264s
    graphical.target reached after 22.527s in userspace

    After (2x2GB):
    Startup finished in 6.434s (kernel) + 22.138s (userspace) = 28.572s
    graphical.target reached after 22.124s in userspace
     
    ChadD likes this.
  19. Skylinestar

    Skylinestar Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    488
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    70mm fan, here I come:
    VNaLg2V.jpg

    CFVVlme.jpg

    Ran s-tui stress for 5 minutes. CPU temperature is 55°c with room ambient at 32°c
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2018
    AltTabbins likes this.