Success! XFX R9 290 flashed to Asus R9 290X!

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by ontariotl, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    To quote Mr Baumann-

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1808073&postcount=2130
     
  2. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    I never owned a 7970 myself, but I setup quite a few of them for others in gaming rigs, and most of the higher AISC cards seemed to clock better at a given voltage..Perhaps that should have been my point..I am not saying I am an expert on the matter, I am FAR from it..
     
  3. MorgothPl

    MorgothPl 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,016
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Some shops in Europe already pre-flash the cards for you. Granted, they are tad more expensive than standard 290, but still chepaer than 290X and you get 100% assurance, that the card will accept bios. Besides you get warranty for the card, which is IMO worth tad higher price.

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-014-VX
     
  4. 45454asasa

    45454asasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    324
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Yes, I'm fairly certain that was the trend.

    Higher ASIC -> Same OC as lower ASIC with less voltage.

    But power consumption ends up being about the same on both, despite voltage differences. So whats it really matter? Longevity, maybe?
     
  5. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,841
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Good thread. My XFX 290 from newegg should be here next week with my GELID REV.2 Icy Vision cooler. 475$ for what I hope is a 290X, cooler and quite card with BF4. Not bad at all :)
     
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    http://www.techpowerup.com/193573/techpowerup-announces-gpu-z-0-7-4.html


    I'm a believer of the importance of high ASIC score. My best HD7950 had high ASIC score and it is super fast compared to others and most people that I have seen with high ASIC scores get higher over clocks.


    The GPU-Z link at the top of my post is for the latest GPU-Z which supports 290 series. I have been seeing many 70% scores and no 80% so far and the better the ASiC the better the over clocking experience. I think the ASIC score tool is great and it makes perfect sense to me. A leaky conductor is an inferior conductor.... Best conductors don't leak.
     
  7. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Powercolor 290 OC unlocked with XFX 290x BIOS.
    2816 shaders reported, Heaven 3.0 reports 5% higher performance with stock cooler and clocks.
    AC Xtreme III cooler on the way, hopefully it can be pushed hard :D
     
  8. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    The Asus tool might not be optimising the voltage.
    I've just unlocked my card to a 290x and while running Heaven 4.0, GPUz reports 1.148V VDDC at default clocks (1000/1250), no throttling, GPU use maxed.

    Pisser is, I cant run Heaven 4.0 full screen as it goes black and locks the PC up.
    I had a "nightmare" installing the drivers with Comodo firewall as well.
    AMD still have some distance to go with their drivers!
     
  9. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,841
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    CAn you link me to the article you used and which bios you used to flash. Also because these cards have 2 bios which can be toggled, are you flashing the the second and leaving the first one as stock(non uber mode)?
     
  10. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Link to the new article and discussions of success and failure of flashing

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1443242/the-r9-290-290x-unlock-thread

    Yes, the 2nd bios is left as stock default (290) in case something goes wrong.
     
  11. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Heaven did the same thing with locking up until I upped the voltage like I mentioned earlier.

    AMD drivers are a pain to install, but Nvidia isn't far behind in issues too. I've had to reinstall windows 7 to just the nvidia driver to install even when using driver cleaner and every other option. So AMD is not the only one guilty of this.

    I have to say that installing drivers this time from AMD was a better experience than I have in the past owning a 5870 or 5970. That was a nightmare when it came time to upgrading. Even 4870 was never an issue. I find Eyefinity easier to set up than it was with Surround gaming.

    I will also say I'm very fortunate to not experience the black screen issue or any crashes. I've already had my fair share of issues of grey screen of death and cold bug from the 5800 series. AMD owes me a good experience for trying them again, and so far they have met and exceeded my expectations.
     
  12. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,160
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    I just ordered 2 powercolors a few minutes ago. If this works I will be buying a 3rd powercolor, can not beat 3 290X's for the price of 3 290s. I hope 1300W will be good for 3.
     
  13. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Heh, our experiences are a bit different sadly.
    I've taken the core up to 1080MHz where after a long test it did a driver reset, fully stable at 1070Mhz though, stock voltage.
    Ram is also stable at 1400MHz.
    So its not a lack of voltage causing the black screen at default clocks.

    I've had a royal pita with both the 9.2 and 9.4 drivers.
    Just got the Xtreme III installed and I cant properly test it as the Overdrive section of the driver wont let me change the power target.
    Looking online, its extremely common.
    I had such a hard time getting the 9.4 driver in that I dont dare install another unless it fixes the black screens and Overdrive at a minimum.

    The Xtreme III is good though, max temp running Heaven 4.0 stabilised at 49 to 50C, stock clocks & volts.
    Heaven doesnt throttle the clocks or GPU use, but nearly everything else I run does because I cant increase the power target.
    Grr.
     
  14. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I've just read that the latest batches of cards dont unlock.
    It was stated that the cards produced in the first 38 weeks are the only ones that might unlock.
    See if they have old stock before buying.

    I read it toward the end of this thread
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1443242/the-r9-290-290x-unlock-thread
    Soz, its quite big.
    It was at least page 90.
     
  15. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,160
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Wow thats a bummer. Well guess we will see if I am lucky.

    EDIT: Well I canceled my order twice because of this. I ended up deciding on 1 XFX and 1 Powercolor. No harm if neither does but the XFX comes with BF4.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  16. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Sorry, that is retarded and makes no sense.
    Week of production has no bearing on this ability, it is about the GPU bin that you are receiving.
     
  17. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Sorry, that is retarded and makes no sense.
    Week of production has no bearing on this ability, it is about the GPU bin that you are receiving.

    Edit- Here is the link that tried to make me dumber.
     
  18. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    :)
    How does it not make sense?
    They are no longer allowing the full Hawaii XT chips to seep into 290 cards.
    Maybe because of the BIOS flashing they are gimping full 290x chips or because they can now fulfill all 290 orders with chips that are not good enough to be unlocked.
    Maybe both?

    Its deliberate.
     
  19. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Because the 38th week of production has no bearing on what bins of GPUs are shipped out with what bios...

    An AIB could run out of 290 stock and ship 290x flashed as 290 next week...
     
  20. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    AMD can give a directive.
    Perhaps it is a figment of someones imagination, but someone said they complained to AMD about it and AMD said that 290s cannot be flashed to 290x.
    They might be making sure of it now by gimping chips, or might be able to make sure of it now due to having enough chips that fail 290x validation.
     
  21. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,243
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    In any case it's not true, because people have received week 40 chips that are unlockable. Also some Sapphire cards have started to show up unlockable. So it appears that it is actually getting more common, not less.
     
  22. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,160
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Thats great news! If I can get both of them unlocked I think I wont be too greedy and I will actually buy a 290X so I can trifire. I just need to find some games I want to play or else it will just be a waste.
     
  23. Kamainae

    Kamainae [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    My saphire r9 290 battlefield 4 is a working 290x now after the flash.
    And its not the only one, yesterday i succesfully flashed another one (the same card) at a friendĀ“s house.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    This is mine:
    [​IMG]
    And my friend`s:
    [​IMG]

    Both card are working perfectly, benchmarks before and after (with the same clocks) shown a 5-6% increase.
    The cards were purchased in spain the past week.
     
  24. rincewind

    rincewind Gawd

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Getting my Asus 290 and EK block on Monday - will be trying my luck on the unlock.
     
  25. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,160
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    My powercolor is confirmed unlockable. My XFX might be I am trying it now.
     
  26. FrameBuffer

    FrameBuffer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    What method did you use ? I have nearly the same identical card and would love to get 290X with BF4 :)
     
  27. Kamainae

    Kamainae [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
  28. stealthy123

    stealthy123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,149
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    I would be really tempted to do this if I wasn't going to sell my 290 eventually. I guess I could just suck it up and keep a 290 and sell off the 290xs.

    either way congrats to everyone that was successful, I remember unlocking my L-shaped memory 9500 to a 9700 and feeling like I won the lotto.
     
  29. ontariotl

    ontariotl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Just and update to this post. It's been past a month since I've completed this flash and so far I have had no issues whatsoever.

    No artifacts, no issues with overclocking, no black screens, no crashes.
     
  30. Shyne151

    Shyne151 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    465
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    I flashed my XFX 290 to a 290x a few weeks ago... Is there a reason everyone is using the ASUS bios instead of the card manufacturer's bios? I uses the XFX 290x bios... and am just wondering if I am missing something by not flashing the ASUS bios everyone is using.
     
  31. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,904
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I havent tried the Asus BIOS yet, but from observation:
    You can use the Asus clocking tools.
    There is no real need for most people, Afterburner does most things you need.
    Although it looks like the Asus tools let you set a specific voltage whereas Afterburner only lets you add +100mV to the base voltage.
    You can set +200 and +300mV using Afterburner by running it with a command after the exe line.