Strange error using forum buttons ("Go to first new post", "View first unread", etc.)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by theHeat, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. theHeat

    theHeat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    338
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Hey guys, I'm having a bit of trouble with the board. I'm using Firefox 1.0.4 and I'm seeing just regular text instead of these buttons. I'm sure I probably fudged something in Firefox, but I can't figure out how to fix it.

    Any ideas? Thanks!
     
  2. theHeat

    theHeat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    338
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Alrightly, looks like it's working again. The buttons must have gone 404 on me.

    Sorry guys!
     
  3. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett Editor-in-Chief HardOCP Staff Member

    Messages:
    52,052
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Yeah, I have found that if you are just doing easy browsing Firefox is ok, but when it comes to interactive content pages, Firefox sucks. I tried for a month to use it and it just kept forcing me back to IE.
     
  4. theHeat

    theHeat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    338
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Hmm, it was never doing it before, but now it just started again. I'm assuming this is the alt text playing it's role.
     
  5. =Leefdawg=

    =Leefdawg= 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,198
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
  6. Cold Dark Shadow

    Cold Dark Shadow [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,712
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    im using FF and havent had any problems with it
     
  7. mohammedtaha

    mohammedtaha 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,677
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    No problems from this Firefox either.
     
  8. Absentee

    Absentee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,459
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    no problems here either

    i actually like interactive pages more in firefox [​IMG]
     
  9. HeThatKnows

    HeThatKnows Gawd

    Messages:
    578
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Have you done the speed tweaks where you enable pipelining and increase the maximum simultaneous connecters per server?

    I've found that if you get too carried away with that, you can briefly overwhelm a server, and end up with some of your page/image requests being ignored.