Stick with 12gb or go for 24gb?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by rjolin01, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. rjolin01

    rjolin01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    I currently have 12gb of DDR3 1600 OCZ RAM in 6x2gb setup. I was thinking of upgrading to 24gb in any of the mix setups possible. (i.e. 6x4gb, 2set 3x4gb, 3set 2x4gb) My questions are as follows though...
    1) Is it worth upgrading to 24gb as 12gb seems good enough atm but there are some good holiday deals going on.
    2) If I do upgrade to 24gb but downgrade to DDR3 1333 will it make it worth the upgrade?
    3) How will this all affect my oc'ing?
    4) Any other information you have would be appreciated.
     
  2. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,513
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Depends on if you actually more than 12 GB of ram. How often do you use swap on your 12GB system now. I would expect that adding an additional 12GB would not help gaming at all if that is what you will be using this for. It may help video processing and it will help with VMs. It can help hard disk speed by increasing your read cache.

    Maybe.

    It is harder on the cpus ram controller to run with all slots filled and run them above the speed they were designed to run at. That is 1066 MHz for socket 1366. Adjusting voltages and timings can fix this however your mileage will vary.
     
  3. DeathsDeath

    DeathsDeath Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    395
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Well also comes down to is it worth it to you ... Is it going to make everything faster ... yes and no ... but with 12gb ram you should be good for alittel while why not get your self a very nice set of SSD and raid 0 that crap and really boost you system... just my .02$ and then in a few checks get another set of 12gb ram :)
     
  4. Treyshadow

    Treyshadow [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,392
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Yeah I second the raided SSD or a RevoDrive instead of 24GB ram. I run 12GB as well and barely get near 10GB when runing a bunch of VMs.
     
  5. DesertCat

    DesertCat Gawd

    Messages:
    565
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
  6. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,430
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Unless you are trying to virtualize 5 or 6 different guests on your machine, I'd say no, your 12gb is more than enough and you should put that money elsehwere.
     
  7. note235

    note235 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,960
    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    i use after effects
    24gb is a good amount
    4 cores = 4 gb each + 8 for the os
    or at 8 threads = 2.5 gb each and 4 for others
    yeah you'll use it
     
  8. BanDeodorant

    BanDeodorant Gawd

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Considering how cheap ram is these days.. you can't really go wrong. If you sell your old sticks, it'll be an even cheaper upgrade!
     
  9. master noran

    master noran 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,825
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    If you decide to go with additional ram you could probably sell that ram later in a year or so for more then you payed now, something to think about.
     
  10. rjolin01

    rjolin01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    For those who suggested I get ssd and raid0...look at my sig...I know they are only 64gb kingstons but thats plenty for running the programs and games i gots. besides that it seems its split down the middle if i should or not. maybe i will throw my ram on here and see how much i get. then decide.
     
  11. Michael Scarn

    Michael Scarn [H]Lite

    Messages:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    rjolin01, what applications do you run? I have 24GB, but I also use After Effects and Premiere Pro for video work. Even for that, I think it is overkill. I do want to see what impact trading 8-12GB of it for a scratch RAMdisk would do to workflow :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  12. rjolin01

    rjolin01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    I use my rig for gaming and rendering in both AutoCAD and Revit.
     
  13. heelix

    heelix [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Under normal use, 12G is more than enough for gaming and VMs. That said, if you add a 10G (or so) RAM drive and deal with a volatile mount point, you can really get some ridiculous IO. An extra 12G is ~$150 these days, which I did after the initial 12 and some SSDs on my workstation. 1333 RAM is still much faster than my RAID 0 G2s. If you are running stock speeds, 1600 vs 1333 does not matter.

    Lord knows RAM seems to migrate from box to box. I regret now not having picked up some extra DDR2 when it was cheap. Got some older 775 mainboards/CPUs that would find a good home, were RAM as cheap as the DDR3 stuff.

    A final thought - nothing stopping you from going 3x4G + 3x2G = 18G.
     
  14. JustinsBuilds

    JustinsBuilds n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Add 2 more of those 64gb SSDs to your RAID array and it would be that much faster. 24gb is overkill I think...,
     
  15. jubrany

    jubrany Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    338
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    be prepared to increase imc voltage and have a hotter running cpu. You might have to drop down your overclock.