SteamVR Input Beta Brings Control to Controllers in VR

Discussion in '[H]ard|OCP Front Page News' started by Kyle_Bennett, May 15, 2018.

  1. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett El Chingón Staff Member

    Messages:
    53,969
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    We fully understand that there will be a lot of HTC Vive and Vive Pro users this morning that will be rejoicing at finding out this news. A new beta release of SteamVR now allows users to map their own controller binds. There is a full graphical UI in the headset to make this an easy task as well. This works on VR games that have not even updated to the system yet on the developer end. So if you have a favorite game that was developed on another platform, with another controller in mind, you can now bridge that gap yourself. To gain access to this, just make sure you use the SteamVR Beta, and all this will be exposed to you in the Settings menu.


    SteamVR Input allows users to build binding configurations for their favorite games, even for controllers that didn't exist when the game was written. They can adapt the controls of games to take left-handedness, a disability, or just personal preference into account. And once they build a configuration they can share them easily with other users of the same game via the Steam Workshop.
     
    Darunion and heatlesssun like this.
  2. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Stay [H]ard

    Messages:
    49,345
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Cool, this has been asked for a while now.
     
  3. JosiahBradley

    JosiahBradley [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Remapping the pause button in Beat Saber as soon as possible.
     
  4. Darunion

    Darunion Chin Poon Specialist

    Messages:
    3,041
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Best news article for a long time! Time to tell me boss I have to leave early today!
     
  5. admiralperpetual

    admiralperpetual Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    they actually changed it in the last update. for Rift anyway.. changed it to long-press the menu button.
     
  6. admiralperpetual

    admiralperpetual Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    this will be good for re-maping games designed for vive wands when playing with other controllers
     
  7. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    that is a problem on the rift? Guess i don't get crazy enough as i have only put about 3 hours into the game but haven't accidently paused it yet.
     
  8. admiralperpetual

    admiralperpetual Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    377
    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    I didn't either, but I guess it was a big enough problem for them to make it one of the few updates
     
Tags: