STAR WARS Battlefront II - $5.99 two days left - New Coop modes added!

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by Sabrewulf..., Oct 12, 2019 at 12:44 AM.

  1. Sabrewulf...

    Sabrewulf... Gawd

    Messages:
    996
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2019 at 3:36 PM
    mikeo and SamirD like this.
  2. JMCB

    JMCB Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    This game is so much better since release. Surprisingly they seem to care...
     
    F.E.A.R. and SamirD like this.
  3. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Great game! I paid full price for it at release from EA and though it was worth it. I liked both the 2015 and 2017 versions. It and Vermintide 2 are probably the prettiest games on PC.

    Give it private server functionality for LAN and mod capability like Counter Strike and it could have long legs — but they probably want to release the new game every two years.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  4. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Does this have a single player mode worth a damn?
     
  5. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    thanks.....6 bucks is what dice games are worth these days:)
     
    legcramp, mikeo, MavericK and 2 others like this.
  6. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    It’s okay. Nothing to write home about. It’s short and has some fun flying action sequences. The flying is excellent in the game - single or multi player.

    The game is certainly worth six bucks.
     
  7. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
  8. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    No it has about a six-ten hour single player experience.
     
    SamirD and arr4ws like this.
  9. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Thanks. The thing that stinks is the download rate of Origin, it is only going at 17MB /s and my connection over my wireless, should give me at least 38MB /s. On wired, I can get up to 60MB /s with a 400Mbps connection.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  10. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Oh the horror! lol I just recently acquired a 100Mb wireless connection....lol i been struggling with verizion phone 40Mb at 4am in the morning and but typically 10Mb average cause the wifi was even worse at 3Mb. Now my dang phone is struggling to get 2Mb but at least my wifi is getting a full 100Mb all the time.:)
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  11. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Well, the game is almost completely downloaded. I am sure you know what I mean when I say, I want everything I pay for and super fast downloads is what I pay for. :) Oh well, thanks for the pricing heads up, I would not have bought it without a single player mode but, looking forward to it now.
     
    primetime likes this.
  12. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,712
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Wifi is never going to be the fastest way to transfer anything as wired > wireless. This is one of the reasons I like moca.
     
  13. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Absolutely but, it should still be twice as fast as it was, it has been that way on all the other services, more or less. The thing is, Origin should not be able to tell what I am using at home, just download as fast as it can. (I am doing it on another computer and it is downloading at 52 MB/s over a wired connection.)
     
  14. janas19

    janas19 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,596
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Anybody know if these keys can be activated on Origin accounts other than the one linked to your Humble Bundle account? I may pick up a couple keys and keep them in reserve if I want to play with friends later.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  15. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,712
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Are you sure it isn't some sort of local temporary interference on wifi? That would definitely cause it as your other wired system is still getting the correct speed from origin.
     
  16. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    It could be or maybe even the fact that I am on the latest insider build of Windows 10. I just updated to the latest AMD chipset drivers so that could help the restart and shutdown issues I just started experiencing on the very latest build. Either way, I am going to play the game and see how that is. :) Thanks.
     
  17. SamirD

    SamirD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,712
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Ah yes, I should have asked about any updates lately--I keep forgetting that is pretty much the number one thing breaking things these days. :ROFLMAO: Definitely let us know if you enjoy it!
     
  18. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,349
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
  19. Niner21

    Niner21 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    159
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Picked this up a while back through Amazon at the same price. Well worth it.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  20. arr4ws

    arr4ws [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,639
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    its still there for me
     
  21. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,349
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    That's odd, I can't find any EA games at all.
     
  22. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,349
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    It show this, but it sends me to the same page when I click on any EA title.



    upload_2019-10-12_21-36-23.png
     
  23. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,349
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    US only it seems, got it anyway. Tnx OP
     
    SamirD likes this.
  24. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    It's not US only, but in EU ofc it costs €5.99
     
    SamirD likes this.
  25. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,446
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    $6 ... cool. Need a good shooter for the winter months since Doom Eternal is delayed. Oh wait. I must create accounts (plural), go through a series of e-mail verification codes, find a user name that has not already been used, click through a series of captcha until finding one I can actually read, yada yada. Then probably have to install some sort of launcher as well. All this convolution epitomizes my dislike of what things have become. Just let me download the damn thing for crying out loud. Rant mode off.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2019 at 12:24 PM
    SamirD likes this.
  26. MangoSeed

    MangoSeed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    507
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Picked this up. Thanks OP.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  27. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    I bought it and already regret it. Played like 5 minutes and it crashed to the desktop. Tried again, crashed at the exact same spot. Great. Dice. I thought after this much time it will at least be bug free and stable.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  28. rkatapt

    rkatapt [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,432
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    In for one. For some reason I had $1.64 in credit so my total was <$5.

    Thanks OP!
     
    SamirD likes this.
  29. Hruodgar

    Hruodgar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Is anyone else having problem where you click the add to cart and you get a popup saying you need to link to your origins account and when you do this EA will say success info being sent to merchant site but 20 hours later you still get the popup when trying to buy it.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  30. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,446
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Yeah, pretty much. As you can see from my previous post the hoops they asked me to jump through buying this game made it a hard pass for me. Suppose it was much easier if you already have an EA account. Which I do not.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  31. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    for me it auto logged into my ea account. I guess the name and pw was already saved in my current browser which made it painless. You might try loggin into your origin app and logging into the ea page before clicking? couldnt hurt
     
    SamirD likes this.
  32. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,012
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    No crashes here or for any battlefield games so far for me.....you might have something else going on there?
     
    Archaea and SamirD like this.
  33. acefightr

    acefightr Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
  34. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    "If I don't have a problem, but someone else does it is their own damn fault"

    So tired of this anti-logic.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  35. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,815
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    You probably have an unstable OC. If few others but you have the problem, then yes, it is probably on your end.
     
    Archaea and primetime like this.
  36. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    I'm not even oc-ing. Not even the GPU. Why is it so hard to believe that the game crashes to the desktop and it is not my fault, huh?

    If I learned anything about IT is that it is unpredictable and you often can't find out even hands on what is causing an issue, yet here we have these internet wizards diagnosing my problem 5000 miles away. LOL

    "WHAT A game crashed for you that didn't for me! YOu Stoooppid!"
     
    SamirD likes this.
  37. Archaea

    Archaea [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Nobody called you stupid.

    I’ve got 80 ish hours in the game and to my recollection it has never crashed. So it’s not a ‘after this much time Dice should at least have a stable game’ scenario. I bought it on launch day IIRC, and it was stable back then. I think people are simply saying it, and other Battlefield games, on the Frostbite engine are NOT what one would call crash prone. The engine has been out a long time, as you noted, and is very optimized and typically bug free. Things do happen - could be anything really — an OS issue or update in the background even. I guess see if it keeps happening, check/update GPU driver versions.
     
    F.E.A.R., GoldenTiger and primetime like this.
  38. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,568
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    I bought a copy and then went to buy a gift copy for son but it looks like they'll only sell one key per account.
     
    SamirD likes this.
  39. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,349
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    So far no crashes, Man I've been waitng ages to get a good deal on this game. Finally
     
    SamirD likes this.
  40. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,907
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Well, so far, I am enjoying it. I have played it a 4k, 1440p 144hz and 1080p144hz (I have 3 computers) and they all look great. The 1440p appears the best but, I notice once in a while, I get a slight jerk, like something is loading in the background, although I only have SSD's in that computer. Is that normal?
     
    SamirD likes this.