Standard Ubiquiti Unifi AC AP Outdoors?

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
34,254
Hey all,

So I was just at my favorite neighborhood bar/restaurant and saw this:

IMG_20170831_194646.jpg


I mentioned to the owner that I don't think that's an outdoor model, but he seems convinced it's OK.

Am I mistaken, or does this look like something that will end in years?
 

Motley

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,497
Yep thats kinda weird. The Unifi AP Pro is the only the one that can be put outside in any weather.

I wonder how long they had it mounted out there like that? I would think it would fail at the first rain/snow storm.
 

Eickst

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
1,884
Love the zip ties on the downspout, wires hanging in midair. High quality work they've done there.
 

Noghri2

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
127
Let the bar owner do the best them they can. Maybe when they buy their 2nd or 3rd one they will realize they are buying wrong model or they will stop providing wireless access to everyone outside.
 

Zarathustra[H]

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 29, 2000
Messages
34,254
Let the bar owner do the best them they can. Maybe when they buy their 2nd or 3rd one they will realize they are buying wrong model or they will stop providing wireless access to everyone outside.


Thing is, Ubiquiti sells very good outdoor models! This just isn't one of them :p
 

Dead Parrot

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
2,831
Angle and distance makes it hard to judge but that unit looks to be a bit wider then 3 bricks. Using what google says are standard brick sizes, that gives about 192mm + 2 joints or about 212mm for bricks + joints. A Ubiquti UAP-AC-HD shows being 220mm diameter. If that is what the bar owner installed, it is rated for outside.

I think the zip ties are ok but the unprotected network cable is good squirrel fodder.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,382
I have a mesh unit outside the one with two unidirectional rubber duck antennas. I have it hardline and not in mesh mode. Works wonderful.
 
Top