Sorry, 3060nvidia in x58 computer. Bios vs uhfi?

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Hi hi! I have a question. I know this may be easy to understand, but nt to me. I entered newg shuffle nd I think I'm going to win a 3060 today.

If I do win, will it work with my computer? It is not very modern, circa 2008 X58 platform. I've heard rumours that bios and UHFI may not be compatible with each other, because bios is old version with very small memory.

Some people said computer may only run with Maxwell series, but certain people said they successfully ran 1060 which is Pascal and even 2080ti witch is turning.

My motherboard is asus p6t deluxe with xenon 6core processor
It has 8gb dual channel ram. And I use wi dows10 unregistered version. It says to register in transparent corner.

Do you think I wasted time entering because if I win I won't be able to use the card?

Thank uou!
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
But MSRP is this:I just looked it up. I will be at much loss. I am trying to prevent that..newg is over 400 wants from me. Maybe this was a bad idea, I hope I don't win.
Screenshot_20210505-142941_Opera.jpg

This was a bloody stupid idea, I'm like an uninformed peasant!! I shouldn't have entered!
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,413
My RTX 30x0 series cards work on my x58 boards just fine, I don't think you should have an issue.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,126
My general rule here is if it fits in the slot you should be able to get it to work.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,126
Also the best part about running a modern GPU in an older rig is you have the joy of upgrading the rest of it later and unlock the full power of your gpu!
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
pendragon1 , so what happens now? I've been reading little bit nd it has something to do with gop module in uefi or uefi gop booot
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
[Sad face] well, I still haven't heard back from newg nd my cart is empty.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,118
My general rule here is if it fits in the slot you should be able to get it to work.

Not true - motherboards that don't support UEFI have a chance of encountering a video card with a buggy traditional BIOS.

I have also heard of one and only one cards that had a buggy UEFI (and forced the users to switch to compatibility mode).

Buggy legacy BIOS on video cards are a lot more likely than buggy UEFIs. Neither is very likely
 

NattyKathy

Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
796
Turing (and presumably Ampere) and Vega (and presumably Navi) cards definitely require UEFI motherboard to work properly. The BIOS/UEFI compatibility layers (CSM/GoP) are a whole mess when it comes to GPUs and using a UEFI card on a non-UEFI board will result in anything from the system not POSTing at all to hanging on post with artifacts to the OS successfully loading but showing artifacts and crashing when the GPU drivers are loaded to it actually working if luck really comes thru.

The only way to be totally sure in this situation short of trying it yourself is to find a first-hand account of someone succeeding with the same model of card (ideally with the same revision of VBIOS) on the same motherboard with the same BIOS version and same OS and driver. Too much chaos factor with BIOS/UEFI interactions to make generalizations about edge compatibility when GPUs are involved.
 

motqalden

[H]ard|DCOTM x3
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
2,126
Not true - motherboards that don't support UEFI have a chance of encountering a video card with a buggy traditional BIOS.

I have also heard of one and only one cards that had a buggy UEFI (and forced the users to switch to compatibility mode).

Buggy legacy BIOS on video cards are a lot more likely than buggy UEFIs. Neither is very likely

I said you "should" be able to make it work. If it doesn't then this is lame and I won't accept any excuses lol. But yeah wasn't aware of these new changes.

I'm curious if D-EJ915 x58 board has UEFI bios options?
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
There are certain MBs that have UEFI, notably msi. Also I think intels have uefi support.
Tacos asus only has bios.

Either way, taco isn't pursuing rtx 3060. Picked up asus strix 960 2gb for 65dollars free shipping. That will werk, right?
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,118
There are certain MBs that have UEFI, notably msi. Also I think intels have uefi support.
Tacos asus only has bios.

Either way, taco isn't pursuing rtx 3060. Picked up asus strix 960 2gb for 65dollars free shipping. That will werk, right?

I'm currently using one of those for my htpc - I could maybe try booting in compatibility mode later tonight

all my systems are uef, but I think they officially supported legacy bios through pascal
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Thank you, I think it still has legacy like you mentioned, because I saw gpuz image of it and there is "bios version" (and has tick box for uefi in other screenshot I saw somewhere else)
gpuz_oc.gif

This is from tpu review
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,118
I also upgraded from a GTX 460 to this 960, and it's been pretty damn impressive. Even overclcoked to 800 mhz, my 460 is 60% slower

not the 2x upgrade my 1060 got me ,but can still play games like horizon zero dawn at 1080p mid/high.
 
Last edited:

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,118
Last edited:

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,423
I selected Legacy only, and although the os did not boot, the video card continued to display

I think you will be fine!

Also, just realized I reinstalled Windows with IDE mode on last week. Guess I've got work to do!

edit: this worked perfectly! So much easier than the hack job that was win 7 ahci switching!

https://support.thinkcritical.com/kb/articles/switch-windows-10-from-raid-ide-to-ahci
that way does work but its easier to do this: hold shift and select restart to get advanced start options, select safe mode and restart and enter the bios, change sata mode save and let it boot to safe mode, then reboot. thats it, no command lines needed.
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Do you think 65dollars is a good price? I can get new shoes for less than that. I'm worried if I overpaid? I see many people paid around 40 dollars for theirs. I've seen good pairs of shoes for under 60.
Screenshot_20210507-101554_Opera.jpg
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
I don't understand they haven't send it out yet, should I ask to cancel? Pls im worried.
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
No, please I wasn't clear, I am sorry. Taco submitted an offer of 65 dollars for a video card and they accepted and taco was happy nd giddy, but then I started checking nd there are many purchases even lower, some going dwn as low as 28 shipped..

I was afraid that maybe I asked very high price nd since they haven't sent out it yet, I may ask to forfeit the offer?

Everything is going fine, am just worry that it might be not right price. Do you think 65 dollars shipped is good price? It is used asus strix gtx9600 2gb.

Thank you sorry.
it's too late, it's already been sent out. I will receive it and I will like it [sigh]
 
Last edited:

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
28,503
Hi hi! I have a question. I know this may be easy to understand, but nt to me. I entered newg shuffle nd I think I'm going to win a 3060 today.

If I do win, will it work with my computer? It is not very modern, circa 2008 X58 platform. I've heard rumours that bios and UHFI may not be compatible with each other, because bios is old version with very small memory.

Some people said computer may only run with Maxwell series, but certain people said they successfully ran 1060 which is Pascal and even 2080ti witch is turning.

My motherboard is asus p6t deluxe with xenon 6core processor
It has 8gb dual channel ram. And I use wi dows10 unregistered version. It says to register in transparent corner.

Do you think I wasted time entering because if I win I won't be able to use the card?

Thank uou!

You wasted time entering because no one ever wins...

In all seriousness, did you link the Asus Strix card you bought anywhere? It sounds like a decent price for that card given the market.
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Guys guys!! Taco received a new card today nd I cried!! She looked a little beat up, looked liek someone plaid basketball with it!! But she werked!

I ddued out old drivers in save mode nd removed gtx460 nd then popped new card in the 960. Everything started, but no signal, bloody hell, wtf!! Ahha, dint plug in display port. Okay she disaplays now!!!

Okay, so everything seemed fine, taco ran unigine heaven benchmark nd fans screamed nd she was 89c!!! Noo!! I cried!

Anyways, I decided to remove her nd take apart, but no baking this time. Turns out the surface on the cooler was nt flat!! It had a ridge in the centre! WHYY!!!!!!

taco took scraper blade nd scratched off centre ridge nd grabbed some sanding paper from my brothers toolbox nd scratched it dwn well!!

It looked now a little more scratchy, but flatter! I c
Screenshot_20210511-185100_Gallery.jpg
leaned everything up, applied mx4 attic paste nd reassembled her!! No backplate this time. Then power on, but no display, OH NOO!!!

again didnt plug in cable. Now tan benchmark nd she was 200 points higher nd never went above 66c. Fans dint evn scream!!

Yaay!!!
Screenshot_20210511-185114_Gallery.jpg


m never buying used video cards.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,423
nice and yeah, that thing has seen better days. looks like it was in someones spare parts box....
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Tacos stomach turned when I picked up envelope nd she was just bubble wrapped nd put into envelope. Thn when I took her out of envelope nd saw all those scratches, oh noo!!!!!

Frantically gently shoved her into pcie slot!
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
14,118
Guys guys!! Taco received a new card today nd I cried!! She looked a little beat up, looked liek someone plaid basketball with it!! But she werked!

I ddued out old drivers in save mode nd removed gtx460 nd then popped new card in the 960. Everything started, but no signal, bloody hell, wtf!! Ahha, dint plug in display port. Okay she disaplays now!!!

Okay, so everything seemed fine, taco ran unigine heaven benchmark nd fans screamed nd she was 89c!!! Noo!! I cried!

Anyways, I decided to remove her nd take apart, but no baking this time. Turns out the surface on the cooler was nt flat!! It had a ridge in the centre! WHYY!!!!!!

taco took scraper blade nd scratched off centre ridge nd grabbed some sanding paper from my brothers toolbox nd scratched it dwn well!!

It looked now a little more scratchy, but flatter! I cView attachment 355461leaned everything up, applied mx4 attic paste nd reassembled her!! No backplate this time. Then power on, but no display, OH NOO!!!

again didnt plug in cable. Now tan benchmark nd she was 200 points higher nd never went above 66c. Fans dint evn scream!!

Yaay!!!View attachment 355464

m never buying used video cards.


Yeah, that's exactly the temperature you're supposed to see new from the card.

It's a tiny efficient cooler, that just need a little re-greasing; used sucks, but it's better than nothing!

Now you need to check out console games newer than Skyrim at glorious 1080p HIGH! Witcher 3, Fallout 4, Fallen Order, and every Borderlands game besides the third are easy!
 
Last edited:

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Thank you! I read some reviews on the card and 89c definitely didn't look right! It is so sad that the card was a running furnace all her life because that cooler contact surface had a ridge!! They did stuff plenty of thermal paste in there, which obviously didnt help a lot, given the fans were screaming for bloody mercy!!

She is very quiet now. [gentle smile]
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Mates!! She was boosting to 1380mhz at 1.025v is it good or bad? I have no idea, my gtx460 didn't have any of this boost clocks or whatever, just ran on stock speeds. Temps were max at 64. Taco had hwinfo64 running in background d.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,423
Mates!! She was boosting to 1380mhz at 1.025v is it good or bad? I have no idea, my gtx460 didn't have any of this boost clocks or whatever, just ran on stock speeds. Temps were max at 64. Taco had hwinfo64 running in background d.
looks like its boosting higher than asus says. you cleaned it, its running cooler, so maybe it boost better.

1620788679224.png
 

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
O cool! Thank you! Do you think it is worth to increase a fan curve to make her tun a little cooler by shaving a couple degrees? I dont know, do they have a fan curve than cn be modified? Taco nt even sure what to use, only received bare card in the mail. Thank you, pendragon1 ! Your awesome!
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,423
O cool! Thank you! Do you think it is worth to increase a fan curve to make her tun a little cooler by shaving a couple degrees? I dont know, do they have a fan curve than cn be modified? Taco nt even sure what to use, only received bare card in the mail. Thank you, pendragon1 ! Your awesome!
install afterburner and set a custom fan curve, if you want. its temp is fine. so if you do increase the fan, try increasing the speed a bit too. dont forget to bump the ram...
edit:
tom's topped out their card at 1461/1863. you could start with just increasing the power limit to max.
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/asus-geforce-gtx-960-strix-oc-edition,4151-7.html
 
Last edited:

UltraTaco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2020
Messages
493
Hi! Taco downloaded msi afterburner last night and just finished the test. My methology was this:

Test with everything default. Boost 1380
Test with everything default, fan 100%. Boost 1380, but temperatures a little lower. you cn see second part where fan ramped to 100%...

Untitled2.jpg

Thn I installed afterburner nd set full power limit to 115%. Nd same 100% fan. Boost 1380. Taco guess it's what this particular chip is binned for somehow? Nt sure...hmm.
 
Top