Something wierd, need RAM perf test

Vercinaigh

Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
849
In need of a performance test program that will test the full capacity of my RAM.

the reason of needing this is, as it seems, this RAM I am using once 3GB of RAM has been allocated, severely tanks in it's ability to perform, just need a confirming on this.

But for example in Company of Heroes, with my rig which is as follows.

AMD Athlon 2 x630 @ 3.6Ghz ; Asus M4a77D ; GeIL Value (they should run great but i think mine have been defective for years now, have used GeIL exlusively for years and years, first issue ever.) DDR-800Mhz (Dunno what speed off the top of my head Oc'd) ; HD5850 HIS iCooler with new V turbo BIOS flashed.

In this game on Ultra settings I average 30-40 FPS @ 1920x1080 no AA. That seems extremely low. My system has always performed sub par at high memory usage from day one, since before the new CPU/mobo/GPU. Hiwever if I run the performance test, which uses way less RAM as it doesn't need to load as many textures into RAM, only select number, My RAM usage is below 3GB and i get a min of 40, avg of 75 and a max of 170, while having max settings, including 8x AA this time.

Help?
 

Proxy

Pumpkin Ghost
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
4,301
Okay so your RAM performance tanks when more than 3GB is being used?

We need more info. What OS are you running, and how much RAM total is installed?
 

Naieve

Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
745
sisoft sandra

Or do you mean test stability? You can just open a bunch of memtest in windows if its a stability thing. As it open more windows you will have to choose smaller sizes to continue taking up space. So while the first couple might be working on a gig, there might be a couple at half a gig or lower that you have to open to finish filling ram.
 

Vercinaigh

Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
849
No stability is fine, i never error or crash. It is as i had said, when my RAM usage is 3GB or more of my 4GB of RAM. My system behaves as if I am maxing out on the RAM's capacity despite clearly being able to go over that without any pagefile usage.

the Os is Windows 7 ultimate 64bit
 

Vercinaigh

Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
849
Any clues? I got new RAM on the way but, still wanna know what's up with this stuff so I can RMA it.
 

Bahamut

n00b
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
0
If you get memtest86+ (the bootable CD ISO is barely a megabyte in size) and run that test for 3 complete cycles (not overnight which is a bit excessive, just 3 complete passes/cycles, should take an hour on most modern hardware) and it passes then the RAM is not at fault; logically if it passes you can't return it as "defective" so, keep that in mind.

You can be sure when it's returned it'll get tested...

Either the RAM is defective or it's not, but I'm suspecting the performance issues are related to something else. If you're not having lockups, random reboots, data corruption, etc then it ain't the RAM.
 

Vercinaigh

Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
849
The RAM passes all these test including and not limited to memtest 86+, the entire thing. Also this RAM has been used on 3 separate PC's ALL of them exhibited this SAME issue, as i said it's not reliability in question, it's performance in the upper end of the RAM's storage.

3 systems, same symptom, 3+GB of RAM usage = running like i only have the GB of RAM, despite using clearly more then that, so I am not sure what to do with it. If there is no way to prove defect I'mma throw the crap away, it's not even worth selling as it is.
 

serpretetsky

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
1,808
so you're concerned that somewhere on one of your memory chips is some memory that is running slower than the rest?

I would just stick one stick in at a time and try near maxing them out and see how they compare.

sisoft sandra is well known, but i've never used it, so i dont know how it works. If it doesn't give you the option to test certain amounts of ram you can load some instances of HCI memtest first.
 

cyclone3d

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
13,806
If you get memtest86+ (the bootable CD ISO is barely a megabyte in size) and run that test for 3 complete cycles (not overnight which is a bit excessive, just 3 complete passes/cycles, should take an hour on most modern hardware) and it passes then the RAM is not at fault; logically if it passes you can't return it as "defective" so, keep that in mind.

You can be sure when it's returned it'll get tested...

Either the RAM is defective or it's not, but I'm suspecting the performance issues are related to something else. If you're not having lockups, random reboots, data corruption, etc then it ain't the RAM.

Memtest86+ is CRAP... It only shows up blatently faulty RAM. It doesn't put enough load on the RAM to make it act up like it would in real-world circumstances.

so you're concerned that somewhere on one of your memory chips is some memory that is running slower than the rest?

I would just stick one stick in at a time and try near maxing them out and see how they compare.

sisoft sandra is well known, but i've never used it, so i dont know how it works. If it doesn't give you the option to test certain amounts of ram you can load some instances of HCI memtest first.

I second HCI memtest. You will want to run 2 instances of it though unless you get the pay for version which will let you test more RAM with just one instance of it.

It puts more load on the RAM than memtest86+ does and if the RAM is bad, it will usually show up in a matter of minutes.. not hours or days like memtest86+.
 

larrymoencurly

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 18, 2002
Messages
1,635
Memtest86+ is CRAP... It only shows up blatently faulty RAM. It doesn't put enough load on the RAM to make it act up like it would in real-world circumstances.

I second HCI memtest. You will want to run 2 instances of it though unless you get the pay for version which will let you test more RAM with just one instance of it.

It puts more load on the RAM than memtest86+ does and if the RAM is bad, it will usually show up in a matter of minutes.. not hours or days like memtest86+.
I've never had MemTest+ report a defect for RAM that MemTest86 ver. 3.xx said was bad.

According to RealWorldTech.com, another good test is Gold Memory, but only ver. 5.07 has found errors for me, while ver. 6.92 (latest shareware) passed everything.
 
Top