Something weird happened this morning

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by StupidDream, Oct 13, 2018.

  1. StupidDream

    StupidDream [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    I went downstairs to my gaming rig... which mines when it’s not gaming...

    I have a pair of XFX rx 580 GTS 8gb. I typically run them with the 1500 timing copied to everything above 1500

    Core speed @ 1150 MHz @ 912mV

    Ram @ 2020 MHz @ 1000mV

    I could never get it stable above that

    But I decided to try 2085 on the memory and crashed. Rebooted and reset all the clock and memory rates... Restarted the mining software, and very quickly noticed that my mining software was running about 4 MH/s faster than I expected.

    Turns out I had set the speed to 2150 on the ram. It’s seem to be working well so I went ahead and put it up to 2025 MHz

    At this point it has been running about eight hours with no GPU memory errors and no recess. Whereas before something as simple as a slight increase in memory speed would’ve caused a visual distortion on the screen in an instant crash. So any ideas why it would make it suddenly able to do this?
     
  2. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,408
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Are you expecting any helpful or insightful comments ?
     
  3. StupidDream

    StupidDream [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Yeah kinda
     
  4. Sulphademus

    Sulphademus Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    315
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    There are no stupid questions. Only stupid dreams.

    Also, I have no idea why that might have happened.
     
  5. filip

    filip [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Must be cloud power. Heard about cloud power on like xbox and ps4. AMD makes the ps4 and xbox, AMD made those cards too so they must have activated cloud power mode somehow.
     
  6. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,408
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    You got a fluke and got lucky ;)
    Nothing more nothing less. No driver change right ?
     
  7. StupidDream

    StupidDream [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    No. I guess luck is the answer. Just ride the wave till it goes down I guess... Thank you for a legit answer... as for the rest of you guys... pass me a beer... lol
     
  8. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,567
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    I have had similar experiences overclocking CPU and ram.
    Sometimes there are a group of frequencies that are unstable and going beyond them allows the overclocking experience to continue.

    Possible reason (watered down):
    All devices that generate Frequencies also generate harmonic frequencies, positive and negative from the fundamental frequency.
    The harmonics from each devices operation will combine at common frequencies, possibly with enough power to interfere with normal operation.
    They propagate through conduction or EM waves in the air.
    The circuit designs will mitigate these so rated clock speeds are very stable and often far beyond. Different hardware in close proximity can have consequences beyond those intended, its not always possible to design out.
    Clocking higher is limited by the ability of the hardware and the ability of signals to not degrade or be interfered with.
    The latter 2 become the limiting factors in your case.
    Changing the frequency you operate at (+ve or -ve) changes the frequencies of the harmonics which can remove an instability.
    And changing the devices operating frequency can push it outside of a bad range of frequencies that are not affected by what you do.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  9. StupidDream

    StupidDream [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018

    As an extra class ham radio operator, I fully understand what you are referring to
     
  10. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,408
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    But does that mean if you remove all power for a day or 2 it will still behave the same way ?
     
  11. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,567
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    A change in temperature may have an effect.
     
    StupidDream likes this.