So I finally plated the 3G iPhone in gold...

Qtip42

[H]is Modness
Let me start by saying it's a prototype. I have a feeling there's going to be some reception issues with a plated case but maybe some of you can help where I'm not an expert.

iphone3g-1.jpg

Since the 3G housing is plastic that means I can laser engrave holes, squares, whatever into the housing before plating it. A very cool customization at the least. If I were to laser cut the area above the antenna, I'd imagine it might help...the only thing I wouldn't know is what shapes would be better to cut (holes, squares, or even a huge rectangle). It'd have to be something that looks good. I could just laser cut a grid of holes into the housing then plate it but I'm not sure if that'll help anything. So reception experts please speak on this (if there is any here).

That's very snazzy.

Have you sold anything before to any celebrities or any one we might know?

how about you lasercut an apple logo over the antennas, and put a white back-lit plastic insert in there?

Apple would probably have a fit if I used their logo. The original logo is painted on unlike the old generation which was a separate metal piece.

I've done a few celeb things but I'm not sure if my products are mainstream enough for them to see it. Would be fun to design some money-is-no-object stuff but that's a rare thing.

Sucks it's going to crack in a matter of minutes of the user having it.

I just got my 4th iPhone 3G from Apple today, all have had cracks, and 2 of them have had dead pixels, and this one has a horrendously hard to move silent button. So I'm probably going for #5 here soon.

The QA on these phones is horrendous, and not to mention they're always out of stock of the service phones even, so I've had to wait anywhere from 2 days to 8 days for a replacement phone to come in stock.

Sucks it's going to crack in a matter of minutes of the user having it.