So a fix for the Spectre bug will it be a Mobo Bios update or a Win OS patch ?

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Subzerok11, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    480
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    I'm still running Win 7 with a 2500K cpu by the way.

     
  2. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,717
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    You need OS patch and microcode update for any system. The microcode can be delivered both by the OS or by a BIOS update. And it´s just a matter of time before the microcode is OS supplied. Linux already got it for example.

    However if SB will be within the support radius is another matter (Intel stated 5 years). We also have to see how much AMD wish to support for older CPUs as they are working on microcode updates too now.
     
  3. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    480
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    I'll need a Bios update too ? So I'll have to reset the OC settings or worst have to start from scratch ? I was hoping for a OS patch only.
     
  4. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,203
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    don't worry and just don't install anything, for gaming purposes and general usage you simply doesn't need those OS patches and BIOS patches.
     
  5. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,545
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    To be fully protected you will need a microcode update which can only come in the form of a bios update and an OS level patch.
     
    Batboy88 likes this.
  6. Batboy88

    Batboy88 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    326
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Like they said the Bug is minor and nothing really noticeable....
     
  7. Subzerok11

    Subzerok11 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    480
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Well if I don't want it, how do I prevent the OS patch from installing itself when I do usually updates, I can't tell which is which ? Bios is easy to avoid.
     
    the_real_7 likes this.
  8. KedsDead

    KedsDead [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    I have seen articles that say that 6th, 7th, and 8th gen processors will be patched.. What about Haswell E?. Is there a patch out for my 5820k? Gigabyte posted that they had bios updates for all motherboards that support 6th gen and above, but there are no x99 boards on the list.
     
  9. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,545
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Sadly Microsoft is bundling the fix in with the Jan 2018 security rollup patch. No way to avoid it. I would not worry to much
     
  10. GeneO

    GeneO Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    You can currently disable either of the the Meltdown or Spectre variant 2 through a Windows registry entry. I don't know if Microsoft will maintain that ability though.
     
  11. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    It can be both in os or bios! I got it via bios already and do not see performance difference!
     
  12. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,545
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    this is wrong! You need both a microcode and an OS patch to be fully protected.
     
    Denjoy likes this.
  13. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Thanks did not know this! I thought it was either or
     
  14. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    I will make sure to get both
     
  15. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,545
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Let me post a PowerShell command you can run that will show when you just have an os patch and then when you have both os and microcode. Not all systems will get it sadly the microcode update.. I am guessing my msi p67 and 2500k will not see the micro code update.
     
  16. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Okay thanks! Glad to get this info! I will have to run it on few systems here at home!
     
  17. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,545
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
  18. thenjduke

    thenjduke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Awesome thanks alot. Very much appreciate your help
     
  19. Dk975

    Dk975 Gawd

    Messages:
    817
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    I was waiting for the January patch, and I run Avast, and the registry key was set correctly. I still wasn't getting the patch, so I figured let me disable Spybot Antibeacon, and boom, the patch came down. So if you are having problems getting the patch (or don't want it), disable (enable) Antibeacon.