SMP problem solved...I think

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,511
OK after running the SMP for about a month and realizing I had the wrong user name in it, I think I got it all set up. I spent the last few days uninstalling and reinstalling I think I finally got it running. Then last night Windows Update restarts my computer and I lost my whole night of folding. Dang it I'm never gonna be Hard DC'er of the month!! hehe.
Ian


 

leagle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
435
What kind of ppd are you getting with the Phenom 810 and the GTX260? I'll be installing one of each onto my Asus M4A78-EM in the next few days and I am I interested in comparing my results with someone that has been running this gear for a while.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
make sure you set the cpu checkpoint to 5 or so minutes.. its in the advanced options..

the 810 stock should do about- 4500-5000 PPD overclocked it will be in the mid 5000 range including bonus.. im doing between 6000-6400 including bonus on my phenom II 940 @ 3.6ghz with the A3 WU's..

the gtx 260 depending on what its clocked at does between 6000-9000 ppd depending on the WU as well..
 

tjmagneto

[H]ard DCOTM x2
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
3,283
What he says and I have Windows Update set to "notify me but don't automatically downlaod or install them" when updates are available. I had my share of untimely reboots due to Windows update.
 

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,511
HFM shows 4461 ppd on the CPU @ stock speeds and 7959 on the GPU which is factory oc'd to 626mhz.
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
HFM shows 4461 ppd on the CPU @ stock speeds and 7959 on the GPU which is factory oc'd to 626mhz.

That looks about right to me. My Phenom II X4 945 @ 3.2 with a 275 GTX was just slightly higher than that.

Happiness is a 12K+ ppd box... :)
 

leagle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
435
Thanks for the replies. I might try to install the new cpu tonight. Hopefully the hsf I got for it (CM Hyper 212plus) will fit in a 4u chassis.

Happiness is a 12K+ ppd box... :)

Seeing as I am getting 3500 ppd (2.5k from a 9600gso and 1000ish from a dual core Athlon) from the box now, 12k sounds pretty nice. ;)
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
Thanks for the replies. I might try to install the new cpu tonight. Hopefully the hsf I got for it (CM Hyper 212plus) will fit in a 4u chassis.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it won't fit. Anything with a 120mm fan is just a little too tall to get the top on a 4U case. Now if you don't mind running the case topless, you will be fine.

FYI, a CM Hyper N520 does fit. That is what I run in my 4U cases, which still do not have tops on them due to heat issues... :)
 

leagle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
435
Ah, thanks for the heads up. I actually planned ahead this time and left an empty space above this box in the event that the hsf didn't fit. Topless is fine with me. :)
 

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,511
Gonna stop by Fry's tonight and get the 212+ myself. Hopefully a lil oc will get a few more ppd.

Edit: Should I also pick up another 120mm fan for push/pull? I think it only comes with 1 fan.
 

Hallis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
4,558
I must be doing something wrong then. I installed the SMP client just as the guide said and its using all 4 cores 100% but FahMon estimates my PPD at 626? that sucks!

Is my Phenom X4 9550 just not built to fold? Each percent is taking ~30 minutes more or less.

Shane
 

amdgamer

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
4,880
I must be doing something wrong then. I installed the SMP client just as the guide said and its using all 4 cores 100% but FahMon estimates my PPD at 626? that sucks!

Is my Phenom X4 9550 just not built to fold? Each percent is taking ~30 minutes more or less.

Shane

Wow, that seems to be pretty slow, although which work unit did you get? Some of the bigger ones are not going net very good ppd averages on slower processors.

I find that wierd considering my laptop can usually achieve those same TPF's with the client set at 55% cpu utililzation due to heat.
 

leagle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
435
Gonna stop by Fry's tonight and get the 212+ myself. Hopefully a lil oc will get a few more ppd.

Edit: Should I also pick up another 120mm fan for push/pull? I think it only comes with 1 fan.

I installed the 212+ tonight (MC B&M had it for $20) and I am very impressed. After running IBT for almost an hour at max, highest temp was 42. I'm only using one fan on the 212+ and it is working fine. If you are worried, pick up another 120mm fan and keep it on the side. Even if you don't need it now, it never hurts to have an extra on hand.

I have the fan set to blow cool air onto the heatsink. It is set up to blow hot air away from the heatsink in the box, but it is simple to change. Because my case (Norco RPC470) has great airflow coming into the case, I think this config works best for me. Your needs may be different depending the airflow in your case.
 

leagle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
435
I must be doing something wrong then. I installed the SMP client just as the guide said and its using all 4 cores 100% but FahMon estimates my PPD at 626? that sucks!

Is my Phenom X4 9550 just not built to fold? Each percent is taking ~30 minutes more or less.

Shane

I'd start a new thread asking for help and post your log file. People should be able to figure out your problem pretty quickly. Those numbers are definitely too low for your gear.
 

Hallis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
4,558
I'd start a new thread asking for help and post your log file. People should be able to figure out your problem pretty quickly. Those numbers are definitely too low for your gear.

will do as soon as i get a few more percent, im on a new install of Windows so its a new WU
 

Zero82z

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Messages
27,897
I must be doing something wrong then. I installed the SMP client just as the guide said and its using all 4 cores 100% but FahMon estimates my PPD at 626? that sucks!
What you're doing wrong is using FahMon. The SMP client uses an early completion bonus points system which awards more points the faster you complete units. FahMon does not calculate bonus points and does not include them in PPD numbers, so you should use HFM.NET or FahSpy instead.
 
Top