Small company wants a server for 2 users to log in remotely... sheesh.

RavinDJ

Supreme [H]ardness
I have a small company that wants 2 users to log in remotely (with a possible 3rd by the end of 2010 and a 4th by Q1 of 2011) via Remote Desktop.

They have a small application that each user needs to use when logged in via Remote Desktop. They want both users to be able to log in from home or from anywhere else using their laptop.

I have access to a used SBS2003 R2 box and a used Server 2003 R2 box. The server comes with the original CoA sticker and original software. I can reformat the hard drive and use either of the two machines with a clean install of each.

Would you use the SBS or just the Server? They have no need for Active Directory or Exchange or anything else. If I use Server 2003 R2, do I need to install Terminal Services?

I told them that I'm no expert, but they would still like to use me and told me that they're okay with me looking things up or asking for help.

Thanks, guys!!

Have you considered using LogMeIn ? Its a real simple setup and good for non-IT professionals who don't want to have to configure routers, or firewalls.

will more than 1 user ever need to logon to the box at the same time?

if the answer is no, then a standard RDP connection to any desktop would work.

If yes, then terminal services will be required, along with the appropriate number of CALs

You could use the 2003 Standard box for two users to RDP. You get two concurrent "admin" RDP sessions with just the plain server. If you want three or more then you have to turn on TS and start buying CALS (expen$ive) for each user.

I just did exactly that for a customer, they wanted two remote users max (for now) so I did a cheap 2003 Standard box for them and it's working fine.