Small Business Anti-Virus Question

Throc

Limp Gawd
I work for a small accounting firm. We have 8 computers total in the office with 6 employees. I'm kind of the resident computer guy, even though I'm a CPA. We bought new computers last year and they came with a 1 year subscription to Norton. I haven't liked it because Norton's firewall doesn't let us access share folders on the network so I've always just had everyone cut it off and set up Windows firewall on all the computers.

The question is now that Norton has expired, what is a good solution for protection for all 8 computers. I use AVG on my home network but didn't know the best and most cost effective way to approach the business. Any suggestions?

So far, I've looked at Avast! 4 Professional which is about $240 for 8 computers and AVG Anti-virus Business Edition 9.0 with is $300 for 10 licenses.

Any ideas or suggestions are appreciated.

ESET Nod32. Do you have a server?

I recommend all my clients to stay away from all those all in one antivirus/firewall things.

Stick with Business Nod32, loaded on server and deployed, and some content filtering or opendns

We don't really have a server. We have one workstation running XP Pro that serves as our "server" but it really only holds then tax and trial balance software that we access from all the other workstations.

In addition to using NOD32 in our own company, we migrated all of our clients to NOD32. No complaints or issues.

Voting NOD32, it's fairly light and the admin console is decent. Hardly any maintenance required.

Maybe because its not in the terms of use to use in a business environment. =)

So yes no suggestion to software that violates the terms. MSE is great but it should be left on the home user computers.

Definitely stick with maintaining an antivirus.