Skylake-E to get new LGA3647 socket

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by German Muscle, Jun 1, 2016.

  1. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,615
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    8 channel ram??

    Edit: There are 6 dimm slots on each side. Although I think 3647 pins would have more than needed pins for 6 channel.

    There is at least 1 rumor that AMD will use 8 channel ram on their server platform in 2017 as well.
     
  2. arestavo

    arestavo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,435
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Yeah, it's a 6 channel RAM set up from all the tables and charts that have been released.

    On a side note, that socket looks like a G34 stocket to me! Looks funny on an Intel board.
     
    phillyboy and N4CR like this.
  3. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,615
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Is there more PCIe lanes then?

    Edit:
    48 lanes are expected instead of 40.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  4. jmilcher

    jmilcher [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,433
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Hopefully they have a new chipset....
     
  5. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,615
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I would expect a new chipset.
     
  6. jmilcher

    jmilcher [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,433
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    I read somewhere they would launch the socket with no new chipset initially. But probably just a rumor.
     
  7. Track Drew

    Track Drew Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    511
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2016
    N4CR, German Muscle and drescherjm like this.
  8. GothamsReckoning

    GothamsReckoning Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    243
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    That socket is huge even in comparison to LGA2011/LGA2011-3. You can even see two distinctive seperate sockets that look like they comprise one single socket. I wonder how many levers and retention mechanisms it would have. The motherboards would also have to have extra PCB layers to accommodate 12 slots for the memory and I can just imagine the cooler and the motherboard weight. This is practically server territory now.
     
  9. German Muscle

    German Muscle [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,038
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Seeing the Xeon Phi cpus that have the extension im wondering why Skylake E CPUs could have that T right into the PCIE main slots for for GPUs. Is the PCIE slot a limiting factor still?
     
  10. GiGaBiTe

    GiGaBiTe Gawd

    Messages:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Are those pin holes instead of contacts? It'd be nice to see Intel CPUs with pins again, but I'd feel sorry for anyone that had to unbend pins on one of those CPUs.

    P4s had a tiny pin pitch, those were a nightmare to fix if you knackered the pins. But still, at least you don't have to worry about the motherboard anymore.
     
  11. German Muscle

    German Muscle [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,038
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Its still a LGA or Land Grid Array.
     
  12. DejaWiz

    DejaWiz Oracle of Unfortunate Truths

    Messages:
    19,414
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Unlocked 12-16 core for this platform? Maybe even up to 20? I smell some serious cooling solutions on the horizon given the size of that socket.
     
  13. tunatime

    tunatime 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,159
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Coming next year Intel 12 core I7 XXX. They will even be nice and put some lube in the box and only charge $2000+ for it.
     
  14. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,615
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I expect AMD will have $2000+ server/workstation CPUs next year as well on the zen server platform. Although these will support ECC and probably will allow overclocking.
     
  15. N4CR

    N4CR [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,354
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Glad I resisted an X99 build late last year. Looks behemothical, a dual xeon version under water would be interesting to say the least.
     
  16. Weeth

    Weeth Gawd

    Messages:
    662
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    With Broadwell-E's performance gains being minimal at best, I'm now setting my eyes on this monster as I'm drooling over the 12 RAM slots bigtime. I wonder whether Intel by then will have noted resistance to the i7-6950X's extremely elevated pricing and end up placing the Skylake-E's top chip under or over the $2K mark. Either way, I'm grabbing this one and plunking at least 96GB RAM in it. I'd like to see Photoshop moan about insufficient memory then!
     
    N4CR likes this.
  17. lee0539

    lee0539 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,804
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    guys this is false. It is a new xeon socket. Also why would you want this? You would need to get new cpu blocks and everything. If more pins is what you want then maybe look into the xeon phi
     
  18. lutjens

    lutjens Gawd

    Messages:
    792
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Correct. Intel is segregating their 1P and 2P parts moving forward. 2P parts will be based on the 3647 socket and all 1P is on a 2011 successor (I think it's 2063). The 1P market is further segregated into X and W segments...the X is the new HEDT segment and the W is the new workstation side (what was the E5-1600 series). The X and W segments will both be based on the same socket.
     
  19. Weeth

    Weeth Gawd

    Messages:
    662
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Sorry, I guess I just saw the photo and jumped the gun. What I really want is more RAM sockets, so I guess that there is no way of knowing if Skylake-E will be set up with more than the 8 on LGA2011?
     
  20. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,615
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    If Skylake-E has 6 channel ram I would expect 12 RAM slots on high end boards although cheaper boards may opt for only 6 slots.
     
  21. GothamsReckoning

    GothamsReckoning Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    243
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    I think 6 channel ram is the next logical step. Intel was using dual-channel for a very long time until they introduced triple channel memory with X58 in 2008. Then in 2011 they introduced quad channel with X79 and X99 uses quad channel as well. Now 5-6 years later it looks like they are going for a 6 channel memory configuration. This would also make 6 channel kits very expensive especially if someone wants to use all 12 RAM slots.
     
  22. morningreis

    morningreis [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,574
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    It's not the end of the world to not use a RAM kit, but it'll be expensive anyway because that's already a shit ton of RAM. A 6 slot board with 8GB sticks will accommodate 48GB which is plenty for 95% of people. I expect 16GB DIMMs to me more available soon, so that's even more, if you need it. My system has 24GB, and I use and regularly max it out, so I understand the need for a lot of RAM, but 96 or 192GB is insane.
     
  23. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    6,625
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013

    What's a RAM socket?:wacky:
     
  24. German Muscle

    German Muscle [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,038
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    What has set this expectation?
     
  25. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,816
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
  26. Weeth

    Weeth Gawd

    Messages:
    662
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    It's where an electric pickup truck recharges. ;)
     
    drescherjm, cageymaru and alxlwson like this.
  27. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,174
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
  28. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,816
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Hope so.
     
  29. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,615
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Hmm, AMD SP3 socket. Is that the real name for the upcoming AMD server socket?