Silverstone SX500-LG 500W Gold SFX-L

WiSK

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
2,207
Indeed, I have also found Silverstone to be very helpful for spare parts. Use the contact form on their website and select "sales" and your local continent/region. Don't mention that you didn't purchase the PP05E but instead just say you lost those two sata cables from your PP05E.
 

Cpuroast

n00b
Joined
Jan 15, 2015
Messages
12
Indeed, I have also found Silverstone to be very helpful for spare parts. Use the contact form on their website and select "sales" and your local continent/region. Don't mention that you didn't purchase the PP05E but instead just say you lost those two sata cables from your PP05E.

I tried asking there and they kept insisting that you can only get the full set and not a single individual cable.

I wonder if Tony Ou could help me out.
 

Hanakuso

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
1,463
You might have better luck starting a WTB thread or you could always make your own if you have the tools
 

yoyo0221

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
458
I tried asking there and they kept insisting that you can only get the full set and not a single individual cable.

I wonder if Tony Ou could help me out.

I could make one for you if you'd like. I make all my cables for my systems, my OCD keeps me from ever using the stock cables lol
 

intrigger

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
6
Hi, I think I blew my power supply. I have the SX600-G SFX PSU

I have it installed into falcon northwest tiki, that I originally bought with Asus Rampage Impact motherboard (Z97), 16gb of RAM, 4770k@4.4Ghz and GTX 780ti.

I recently upgraded to X99 (Asrock mini itx), 5820k (stable at 4.5Ghz/1.275V), 16GB DDR4, and Titan X.

Ran Aida 64 (CPU,FPU,Cache,Memory), stable for 12 hours, Prime95 stable for 8 hours, Heaven stable 24 hours at +220Mhz GPU/+400Mhz GPUmemory.

Then I idiotically tried running Heaven (GPU overclocked as above) AND prime95 in parallel. Came back 10 minutes later and system was dead, and not switching on.

Have now replaced the motherboard, and still no joy (computer still not switching on), however with the new motherboard installed, I ran the motherboard of an external power supply (AX1200i), and everything turned on.

So I guess the problem is the power supply right?

Any thoughts/suggestions/help/similar experiences would be much appreciated. FYI I did the upgrade myself (did not send the system into falcon northwest)
 

cowsgomoo

Gawd
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
547
Hi, I think I blew my power supply. I have the SX600-G SFX PSU

I have it installed into falcon northwest tiki, that I originally bought with Asus Rampage Impact motherboard (Z97), 16gb of RAM, 4770k@4.4Ghz and GTX 780ti.

I recently upgraded to X99 (Asrock mini itx), 5820k (stable at 4.5Ghz/1.275V), 16GB DDR4, and Titan X.

Ran Aida 64 (CPU,FPU,Cache,Memory), stable for 12 hours, Prime95 stable for 8 hours, Heaven stable 24 hours at +220Mhz GPU/+400Mhz GPUmemory.

Then I idiotically tried running Heaven (GPU overclocked as above) AND prime95 in parallel. Came back 10 minutes later and system was dead, and not switching on.

Have now replaced the motherboard, and still no joy (computer still not switching on), however with the new motherboard installed, I ran the motherboard of an external power supply (AX1200i), and everything turned on.

So I guess the problem is the power supply right?

Any thoughts/suggestions/help/similar experiences would be much appreciated. FYI I did the upgrade myself (did not send the system into falcon northwest)

You might have pushed the SX600-G too much. Anyway to test it on another system?
power2.png
 

intrigger

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
6
You might have pushed the SX600-G too much. Anyway to test it on another system?
power2.png

Thanks, I ordered a replacement power supply in any case, so will try installing the new one to see if the issue is resolved

More importantly, I hope I haven't blown the processor.

If I remember correctly, once I found and stress tested the overclock with the stable voltage for 4.5ghz, I switched to adaptive voltage, and may have run prime95 in adaptive mode (although the version of P95 is 26.6 i.e. pre AVX version)...
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,120
If I remember correctly, once I found and stress tested the overclock with the stable voltage for 4.5ghz, I switched to adaptive voltage, and may have run prime95 in adaptive mode (although the version of P95 is 26.6 i.e. pre AVX version)...

:eek:
 

EdZ

Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
773
Even when overloaded, the PSU should just trip its internal current limiters (or overtemp, which the SX600-G definitely has) rather than die completely and take out the motherboard along with it. You may have just been unlucky and were coincidentally hit with a power surge when you were testing.
 

intrigger

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
6

Lol, That reply does not look good!

So is it always a complete no go running prime95 in adaptive mode, even the older versions that do not run AVX instructions?

If so, once the correct voltage is found in fixed mode, is it not necessary/advised to run any stress tests when switching to adaptive?

What if a regular program invokes AVX?

I mean the more I think about it, it looks like it is not worth running in adaptive at all I.e. Potential cons far outweigh the benefit of running lower volts when not being used
 

intrigger

n00b
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
6
Even when overloaded, the PSU should just trip its internal current limiters (or overtemp, which the SX600-G definitely has) rather than die completely and take out the motherboard along with it. You may have just been unlucky and were coincidentally hit with a power surge when you were testing.

I'm thinking the 8 pin connecter may have burned out due to CPU voltage being in adaptive mode?
 

EdZ

Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
773
I'm thinking the 8 pin connecter may have burned out due to CPU voltage being in adaptive mode?
The ATX12V connector only carries 12V. The regulation and stepdown circuitry on the motherboard (or CPU package for those equipped with FIVR) takes that 12V and steps it down to the correct voltage for the CPU to actually use (1.x V). Those 8-pin connectors are Molex Mini-Fit Jr connectors rated at 9A per pin, so 4 conductors at 12V & 9A is 432W of CPU draw before you need to worry about the connector burning out.
 

Hanakuso

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
1,463
Over the past few days i've noticed some fan noise. It's almost sounds like a sleeve bearing failure. I don't hear any ticks. Is this what you're all talking about?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
2
Hey everybody! I just finished a build with the Silverstone SFX-L 500W in a Silverstone SG13 case. I really like the build overall. But, since the SG13 PSU mounting bracket is for a full sized PSU, I needed to use the SFX-L's adapter bracket. However, the PSU attaches to the adapter bracket by only 3 small screws, and since the PSU is shorter than a standard PSU and the adapter bracket is mounted in the center of the case mount, the PSU doesn't sit on the case PSU rest plates. I'm nervous the screws will give and the PSU will fall and destroy my CPU cooler, motherboard, etc. It's just 3 small screws and air right now. Does anybody have any recommendations for securing the PSU more securely to my case? :confused:
 

Hanakuso

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
1,463
Do you have a picture of this? Hard to visual it.

If the top 2 screws are in then you should be fine.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
2
Do you have a picture of this? Hard to visual it.

If the top 2 screws are in then you should be fine.

I'll take a photo tonight and post it but the PSU attaches to the adapter bracket plate on the back by 3 screws, one located in the middle on the left edge, and the other on the top and bottom corners on the right. It just seems inadequate, especially given how small the screws are.
 

Black5Lion

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 1, 2013
Messages
325
Hey everybody! I just finished a build with the Silverstone SFX-L 500W in a Silverstone SG13 case. I really like the build overall. But, since the SG13 PSU mounting bracket is for a full sized PSU, I needed to use the SFX-L's adapter bracket. However, the PSU attaches to the adapter bracket by only 3 small screws, and since the PSU is shorter than a standard PSU and the adapter bracket is mounted in the center of the case mount, the PSU doesn't sit on the case PSU rest plates. I'm nervous the screws will give and the PSU will fall and destroy my CPU cooler, motherboard, etc. It's just 3 small screws and air right now. Does anybody have any recommendations for securing the PSU more securely to my case? :confused:

You should be fine, I have the 450w bronze (shorter than yours but shouldn't be very different) in a similar situation (in an ATX case).
Been running 24/7 for the past couple of years, it's not giving in. :D
 

Hanakuso

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
1,463
I'll take a photo tonight and post it but the PSU attaches to the adapter bracket plate on the back by 3 screws, one located in the middle on the left edge, and the other on the top and bottom corners on the right. It just seems inadequate, especially given how small the screws are.
Sounds fine. Some cases, like the Corsair 250D is made to hold heavier full size PSUs with just 2 screws.
 

SoMushroom

n00b
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
1
Hey everybody! I just finished a build with the Silverstone SFX-L 500W in a Silverstone SG13 case. I really like the build overall. But, since the SG13 PSU mounting bracket is for a full sized PSU, I needed to use the SFX-L's adapter bracket. However, the PSU attaches to the adapter bracket by only 3 small screws, and since the PSU is shorter than a standard PSU and the adapter bracket is mounted in the center of the case mount, the PSU doesn't sit on the case PSU rest plates. I'm nervous the screws will give and the PSU will fall and destroy my CPU cooler, motherboard, etc. It's just 3 small screws and air right now. Does anybody have any recommendations for securing the PSU more securely to my case? :confused:
Hey, your post couldn't have come at a more perfect time! I'm considering the same build as you, SX500-LG in an SG13. May I ask how many hard drives are attached in your system? I'm a bit worried whether the single SATA cable included with the PSU is long enough to reach 1 HDD and 2 SSDs at the bottom of the case.
 
Last edited:

veryrarium

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
125
Sounds fine. Some cases, like the Corsair 250D is made to hold heavier full size PSUs with just 2 screws.
IIRC there are two bumps on the bottom of the 250D with flat tops that support an ATX PSU unit from underneath.
 

Aibohphobia

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Messages
1,340
Does anyone know if the Scythe Kamakiri Gold SFX unit is from the same OEM as the SX500-LG?

It seems to have two rails, where as teh Silverstone has one.

Looking at the pics I'm almost certain it's a Sirfa unit like all the other 500W SFX-L.

The modular connector daughterboard in the other units runs all the 12V lines to the same place and I doubt Scythe went to the trouble of modifying the base design to really split the 12V into two rails.
 

nushydude

n00b
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
7
Looking at the pics I'm almost certain it's a Sirfa unit like all the other 500W SFX-L.

The modular connector daughterboard in the other units runs all the 12V lines to the same place and I doubt Scythe went to the trouble of modifying the base design to really split the 12V into two rails.
Sadly there aren't any reviews for it so there is no way to know if it's got Japanese caps, right?
 

WiSK

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
2,207
The modular connector daughterboard in the other units runs all the 12V lines to the same place and I doubt Scythe went to the trouble of modifying the base design to really split the 12V into two rails.

AFAIK it's usually that the OEM designs for 2 rails according to (outdated) ATX12V v2.x specification, and it's Silverstone who asks for a custom variant with a single rail.

Physically the difference is a bunch of extra solder connecting the two rails, and presumably the components dealing with overcurrent protection are simplified in single-rail.
 

EdZ

Gawd
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
773
The actual PSU is almost always a single rail internally. The only way it has 'two' rails is that two sets of 12V pins have independent fuses rated below the max allow output current.
 

Tony Ou

SilverStone Tech Representative
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
600
Sadly there aren't any reviews for it so there is no way to know if it's got Japanese caps, right?

We were the first one (and originally the only one) to ask High Power for all Japanese caps in our "production" units. So if they didn't advertise it, they likely won't have them.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2013
Messages
25
Was going to purchase a 3-pin to 2-pin cable and replace the SX500-LG's fan, but I'm not sure if my intentions will resolve the ticking issue....

Is the source of the clicking sound (which sounds like a tap dripping IMO) from the stock fan starting and stopping? As such, will replacing the stock fan with a fan that I know to have a smooth start up resolve the issue?
 

csd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
143
I've just grabbed a new 500L and am not getting any clicking/galloping at all (load or otherwise) so am pretty happy with the change from the 600 which was far too noisy for my liking.

My 500L is silent, except under full load, though even that noise is much more gentle that the 600.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,120
I've just grabbed a new 500L and am not getting any clicking/galloping at all (load or otherwise) so am pretty happy with the change from the 600 which was far too noisy for my liking.

My 500L is silent, except under full load, though even that noise is much more gentle that the 600.

Do you have a sticker that says 1.0 or 1.x?
 

goodbyegalaxy

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
116
I think the ticking only happens to people who have the right ambient and computer temperatures where the PSU hovers right around the shut-off point for the fan. If your temps are high enough that the fan is always on (or low enough that it's always off) you probably won't have that problem.
 

raymondo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
230
I've had the PSU for a good week now and could'nt hear any ticking noises so maybe I'm one of the lucky ones?
It's mounted vertically in my Ncase.
 

Blk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
153
I think the ticking only happens to people who have the right ambient and computer temperatures where the PSU hovers right around the shut-off point for the fan. If your temps are high enough that the fan is always on (or low enough that it's always off) you probably won't have that problem.

It's more noticeable right at the shut-off, but I have it at other speeds too. The difference is that the click becomes "too fast" for the ear to hear as individual clicks and becomes other sounds instead. But I bought mine really early and hopefully it's better later in the production..
 
Top