Should I upgrade from 8 GB ?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Swagata, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    I have 8 GB Ram. G Skill Ripjaw 4 GB x2 DDR3 1600 mhz running on asrock b85 board. I use i5 4570 and will soon buy a rx 580 8gb. I mainly game at 1080p. My question is do I need to increase my ram ? If yes; to what 12 or 16 Gb ? If 16; 2 4gb or single 8 gb ? I know there r some compatibility issues, latency, clock blah blah; dont have a clear idea. So I need suggestion. Thanks.
     
  2. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    some new games may experience a few stutters when at max texture detail but if you keep the background programs really trim they should be minimal
    ram is currently expensive and with all new systems being ddr4 you need to way up if its worth it or if you want to hold out for new cpu\mb\ram
     
  3. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Money is an issue, I mean big money and that means I cant afford new mobo/cpu anytime soon. DDR3 ram is a bit cheaper here I certainly can afford a single 8gb stick or 2 4gb stick with a stretch. Do i need to ?
     
  4. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    try with 8g first see how it goes you may be perfectly happy
    another 2x4g with the same frequency\timings would be ideal if you do decide to get more ram
     
  5. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    i already have 8 gb. how do i know if im running out of ram ? or low ram is causing problem ? if i get another single 8gb, would that be a problem ? because single 8gb ddr3 r cheaper and more available.
     
  6. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,356
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Yes, you should, because.

    Next question.

    If you were running out of RAM, it is an immediate and very noticeable slowdown while you wait on page file. If you see the hourglass spinning a lot, or have to wait a good while for programs to start up, or for drop down menus to respond to mouse clicks or populate - those are all signs.

    The technical answer would be to look at task manager or resource monitor or some other monitoring program and actually monitor your use. But if you have to ask “how would I know” you probably haven’t seen the infuriating and drastic slowdowns out of left field.

    Most people and gamers are more than fine with 8G. Heck, ~most~ people are fine with 4G and won’t even notice too much all the way down to 2G if all they do is Facebook and the occasional tax software or download pictures from their phone. Power users, on the other hand — you can neve have to much, but there is definitely a point where you have too little, and it’s a very very clear line.
     
  7. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    i use an ssd. and everything is fast and fluid. i have not seen anything what u just said. lets say i should upgrade. now asnwer next. to what 12 or 16 Gb ? If 16; 2 4gb or single 8 gb ? i heard there r a lot of compability/clock/latency issues. which has the best chance of compability. also note i cant buy the same ram i have. its g skill ripjaw ddr3 1600 mhz and i dont think i can find them in local market now.
     
  8. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,356
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    First - I would say you won’t see much of anything now by upgrading. That may change as software changes though.


    Usually you try to match DIMMs to the number of channels you have for best throughput.

    Your board is dual channel, it may have 1 or 2 pairs of DIMM sockets. Inside a set of pairs you need to have matched DIMMs. DIMMs in different channels don’t necessarily need to match, but it can be the source of compatibility issues and everything will run at the slowest common denominator.

    The safe answer is — use the same DIMMs (matches from a kit is preferred), and install them in pairs only.

    So for you, either 2x4 if you have room to add one more pair, or replace your current DIMMs with 2x8G
     
  9. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    ok, got. install them in pair. i have total of 4 slot. if i use ram of other brands like a data/twinmos/kingston 4gb x2, it would be ok, right ?
     
  10. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,356
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Should be but no garantees
     
  11. MikeRotch

    MikeRotch Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    407
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Do you also run anything else in the background while you game? If you're just gaming then no, save your money. If you're gaming while streaming and chatting and have multiple browser windows open then yes, you could benefit from an upgrade.
     
  12. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    no i dont have many window running like streaming or chatting. sometomes i alt tab and open chrome if im stuck on a game but again i close chrome.
     
  13. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    brand isn't important they all swap and change the chips they use
    the most important things is to look at the frequency, timings and voltage of your current ram and to try to match it. although you can use sticks that are different in these areas the speed they run will be determined by the slowest stick
     
  14. Swagata

    Swagata n00b

    Messages:
    54
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    thanks for the info. with a rx 580 at 1080p im mostly gonna be playing in medium high and i dont have many windows open. i think im gonna be find with 8gb for a while. i am gonna save money for later i thibk. thanks all for ur valuable comment and time.