Should I go with Vista 64 or XP pro with my new Phenom build?

thomasward00

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
185
I've listed before that i'm building a 9950 BE, 4GB and a 4850. I already have a copy of XP Pro, should I spend the extra 100 on Vista 64, will it give me any benifits or utilize the quad core processor better than XP?

Thanks in advance
 

Myrandex

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
439
It more than likely wouldn't make much of a difference unless you are planning on doing any DX10 gaming in my opinion. I currently run XP64 and I am going to move to Vista x64 soon, mainly because of stupid Photoshop CS4. It will use GPU rendering on Vista x64 but not XP64. Before that I had no application that actually needed Vista. That and Vista's sound driver implementation = very lame. Hopefully Creative's hack around that by mapping to OpenAL calls works out well.

Jason
 

ordovician

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
2,625
Vista 64 actually has pretty good driver support. I have yet to have a compatibility problem. I even got an old webcam to work with it by forcing XP 64 drivers. I think Vista 64 is the way to go, just because it allows DX10 gaming, addressing of 4GB of RAM, and doesn't require as much spyware removal and initial updating as XP.
 

Aquineas

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
214
I really can't think of a reason to stick with XP at this point... Well there is one reason. Windows 7 will be here in 09, so if you're going to spend the money, it might make more sense to spend it next year..

As for Creative's drivers, their drivers have always been abysmal... I don't know if I'd attribute that to Vista.
 

thomasward00

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
185
K guys,

Thanks for all of the help, I'll be going with Vista 64 on this build. I have a Creative XFI extememusic in my current system, but I think that i'll just be using the on board sound of the new board and skip the whole soundcard thing this time around.
 

cdnbum88

Gawd
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
522
K guys,

Thanks for all of the help, I'll be going with Vista 64 on this build. I have a Creative XFI extememusic in my current system, but I think that i'll just be using the on board sound of the new board and skip the whole soundcard thing this time around.

Good choice. I have 64bit and no real issues beyond Creative. The few others they either had a 64 bit driver and in one instance my Reg Cleaner and Anti Spam programs did not work and they did not have a 64bit version.

Oh ya, also Adobe Flash is not 64 bit compatible....not sure if this is a Vista issue or 64bit in general.
 

NeoGohan

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
2,114
Good choice. I have 64bit and no real issues beyond Creative. The few others they either had a 64 bit driver and in one instance my Reg Cleaner and Anti Spam programs did not work and they did not have a 64bit version.

Oh ya, also Adobe Flash is not 64 bit compatible....not sure if this is a Vista issue or 64bit in general.

I think the problem lies in that there is adoble flash that is x64 compatible. But that just means you can't use IE 64-bit for somethings. IE 32-bit works fine though.
 
Top