sharp 32" 4k monitor - who else is planning on getting it?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by zurv, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    UPDATE:
    It looks like NVidia is going to add support for this monitor (2 screen span).... Huzzah!
    Support for the sharp monitor was added in driver 326.41
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]





    UPDATE:

    Do not get this monitor if you are going to use it for gaming - unless NVidia gets in the game and fixes their drivers.
    It will do 4k but only @ 30hz. with a single input. (It can still do 60hz)
    To get 60hz at 4k you need to treat the monitor as 2 screens (right and left sides)
    you will need power cards to run games at 4k.
    Nvidia has the power and SLI - but is super fail when it comes to 2 screen support on their GeForce line. no spanning no surround.
    ATI/AMD has eyefinity which will work with 2 screens (will treat it as one screen) - but crossfires SUCKS with more than 2 video cards, (most likely lieing about perf (re: runt frames))

    me? i'm just going to suck it up till I get another monitor. games at 4k are amazing! 30hz sucks, but I *think* I can live with it for a bit. I looking in to a mod that will change my titans into NVidia's pro line. Then I will be able to use nview and mosaic - which will let me treat the 2 screens as on.

    if u wanna see the downside of 30hz (no, it doesn't mean 30fps - unless u turn on vsync)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRUVN14hj20
    poor video from my phone with my doing normal internet video mumble.





    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]



    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    OLD POST:




    I had saved money to get a new TV this year (oled or 4k) - but oled is to small still and 4k TVs are $$$$$$$.

    So time to replace my Lacie 730 (led black lit 30" 2560x1600)

    the Sharp PN-K321 seems pretty sexy and will be out next month in the US (hopefully)

    anyone else planning on getting it? I'll be using it for work (don't really need it for work) but GAMES should rock :)

    press release from nov ( http://sharp-world.com/corporate/news/121128.html ) (there are specs in there)

    should I be worried about anything there? clearly i'll use display port over hdmi (30fps would suck).
    edge lit LED scares me a bit.. (I quickly replaced a LED TV for plasma because of "flash lighting") - but 64" tv is different than 32" monitor. IGZO is pretty good tech too.

    I wonder what is needed to drive gaming at that rez :) clearly one can cut back on the AA and AF at that rez.
    i'm using tri-fire 7970s now which should be fine... and the 8000s are almost here. But i'm kinda sick of shitty ati drivers. I just replaced two 7970s from my HTPC to 680 because of audio issues/driver issues.

    kinda pissed last year when I got 5 of the 7970s just to have NVidia ninja the 680 a month or two later :p

    also, LG has a 30" 4k2k coming too.. but i'm not sure the cost/timeframe/etc...

    thoughts? ideas? yes it cost a lot...
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2013
  2. TotallyCool

    TotallyCool [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    I think you're a little bit mistaken. One absolutely CANNOT cut back on AF at that rez.
     
  3. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    why? the screen size is about the same just the detail is much finer. it is very much same affect is AA. You don't think the finer detail on the same pallet would make up for it. That said, AF isn't very costly (like AA).
     
  4. TotallyCool

    TotallyCool [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
  5. sonsonate

    sonsonate Guest

    I like my 1440 display a lot and I would like something higher resolution, but a 4k panel would crush my fps with 2 680s. I can't stand having less than 60 fps and no microstutter.

    Could forgo AA with some games and use FXAA as I don't mind the blur too much.

    Between the price of the panel and new graphics cards, no, I wouldn't get one just yet.
     
  6. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    and? I wasn't saying the AF is like AA.. but the impact of very high rez on "small" area make it not as useful. what in that link changes that?
    and it is minor as the cost is low.

    the pain in the ass about this screen is I have DVI and HDMI run thru the walls to my desk (the computer is down the hall.. now I have to run display port).
     
  7. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    I was thinking maybe a quad video setup? but i'm not wow'd by my tri-crossfire now. Nvidia seems to do better when adding more video cards.

    playing bioshock: Infinite would be amazing at 4k
     
  8. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,869
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    60hz, and what panel type? VA for blacklevels and detail in blacks? (would be most useful type outside of plasma for 4k movie watching). ips for color uniformity? (has poor pixel response times)
    .
    This would be great for sitting up close to 4k def movies, or for gorgeous still imagery and desktop app real-estate, but for games it would be lousy imo. I'm not sure if you meant console games or pc games though. Console games are pretty limited and clunky already imo so it might not be as critical if you are happy with those to start with.
    .
    Btw if you are looking for a good display-port extension cable, you might want to check these out:
    http://estore.circuitassembly.com/products/Long-Haul-24-AWG-Mini-Displayport-Extension-Cable-25-foot-35-foot-50-foot.html
     
  9. TotallyCool

    TotallyCool [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    I give up...
     
  10. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,869
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    from other eager on 4k type thread
     
  11. extide

    extide 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,198
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    AF has nothing to do with resolution. Blurry is still blurry.

    Even AA will still be useful at that high of a res, although you wont need to be cranking it up as high.
     
  12. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,869
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
  13. Filiprino

    Filiprino Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    With QFHD you can use FHD resolution with perfect pixel scaling.
     
  14. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    clearly because this is monitor (vs a TV) it internal scaler might not be the best.
    we always want to display at native rez of the monitor.

    What is the cost (to the video card) for scaling? clearly it will be less that running @ 4k.

    my guess is till I go quad sli/crossfire withthe next gen cards, I might have to run at a lower res in games.

    (of course that is just what filiprino said :) )

    oh god.. tessellation @ 4k is going to need crazy gpu :)
     
  15. houkouonchi

    houkouonchi RIP

    Messages:
    1,624
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Likely too expensive for me.

    4k is very nice for gaming. I have been gaming off a 4k monitors since 2006. The image quality is awesome.

    Performance really depends a lot on the game and graphics card setup.

    If I could get one on the cheap for like 2k or less I would seriously consider it.
     
  16. Ashok0

    Ashok0 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    507
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Does anyone know if this monitor is 60Hz?
     
  17. Quicksilver_

    Quicksilver_ Gawd

    Messages:
    989
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    For some reason, the idea of playing SWAT 4 at this resolution sounds incredibly appealing to me. I imagine most current gen games would hammer my computer at that resolution.
     
  18. Racer_J

    Racer_J Gawd

    Messages:
    657
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    If it's going to use the Sharp LQ315D1LG91, it will be 60 Hz.
     
  19. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
  20. geok1ng

    geok1ng [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,025
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Would you mind posting pictures of your lacie 730?:eek:
    You use it for what?

    And your SLI 680 HTPC? Is it quiet? does it play blurays without skipping frames?:rolleyes:
     
  21. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    pooo.. I can't upload pix here...

    as you can guess by my other hardware... games! :) (and work)

    no problems with skipping frames using sli or the 7970 crossfire I had before it. The only big issue I had was freak'n amd/ati non-stop up and down clocking which would freak out the A/V receiver with audio dropping out when it happened. I couldn't take it anymore and replace to with the 680s - zero problems.

    in gaming the SLI 680 can get loud, but not while watching TV. the evga 680 classified has a custom cooler - i'm not sure if it is louder or softer than other cards.

    are others have problems with frames dropping? i'd guess it doesn't even use the second card for video play back.
     
  22. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    [​IMG]

    blah.. how do I delete this post :p
     
  23. DViant

    DViant n00bie

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Anyone with the 32" Sharp PN-K321 4K display?
     
  24. ihavearedcouch

    ihavearedcouch n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    I'm looking at purchasing a Sharp PN-K321 in Japan, since I'm stationed in Okinawa. I would need a step-down transformer for on base and in the states but I would be able to get the monitor for 373,200 yen which is short of 4000 dollars. Pretty good deal considering it's supposed to go for 5500 USD when it gets to the states. Would give me room to buy a nice graphics card too.. say a GTX Titan? I wonder if that card is even good enough for it.
    But having that transformer on 24/7 would be a power drain..
    Still, amazing deal..
    Link when searching under Google Japan: http://online.plathome.co.jp/item/detail/41706393/SHARP/32v%25E5%259E%258B-4K2K%25E6%25B6%25B2%25E6%2599%25B6%25E3%2583%2587%25E3%2582%25A3%25E3%2582%25B9%25E3%2583%2597%25E3%2583%25AC%25E3%2582%25A4-PN-K321/PN-K321&sa=X&ei=r11AUY-aCuq5ygH61oCYAQ&ved=0CA8QqxI&usg=AFQjCNGzZmbMiEeQ7DbTF6RK-_RcTA-I9A
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
  25. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,601
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Ya the price isn't bad at all for being the first real consumer 4k monitor. Do they actually have it in stock? As for the transformer, just put it on a surge strip with a power toggle if you don't want it running all the time.
     
  26. Murzilka

    Murzilka Gawd

    Messages:
    555
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Looks like it's not going to take a lot of time for it to become affordable in a 2k price tag.
     
  27. ganesh21

    ganesh21 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    I would like to pick one up in a heart beat if they price fall below 2k.
     
  28. ihavearedcouch

    ihavearedcouch n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    According to the page (after being translated in Chrome) you can buy 2,3+ for additional discounts. No grayed-out button and you can add it to card. I'm gonna start saving up money and if it doesn't show up stateside before I have my PCS to the states I'll scoop one up and TMO it.
    (PCS=Permanent Change of Station) (TMO=Travel Management Office. DOD organization which ships all your stuff for free)

    Good idea. I use the same thing on my Klipsch 2.1 speakers with a toggle button.

    I'd say about a whole year, because there should be enough demand to pay in the $5000 range. Unless Vizio and Westinghouse work some magic.
     
  29. Benny

    Benny Gawd

    Messages:
    582
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Did anyone find some information on the displays gamut and 10bit capability?
    (sharp support isn't very responsive on technical issues, even the Japanese one)

    It'd be a bit odd to sell it as a tool for graphic professionals/print if it was only sRGB.
     
  30. sfor

    sfor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    81
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    No info here from me.

    Good thing sharp has yet to go bankrupt and they can come up with such a thing. Although maybe if they had gone bankrupt and sold their ip samsung or lg maybe would have gotten this faster to the market at a better price point.

    I wonder how long until apple picks it up for it's cinema displays, they are heavily into sharp via foxconn, and the rumored atv set is one of the reasons... A year then? They could price this one around 2k and keep the 27 incher too. I can't wait for this panel to get to a manageable price point...
     
  31. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,601
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    I was planning on getting one of these monitors until I discovered 2D Lightboost multi-monitor. Although I am sure a single 4K screen looks amazing, I just couldn't go back to only 60 Hz and motion blur for gaming.
     
  32. zurv

    zurv Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    193
    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    I emailed Sharp today about when the monitor would be in the US:

    that is MUCH more than it is in Japan. (and more than I was going to pay)

    I might just import it - on amazon jp it looks like it is a little over $4,000 ( http://www.amazon.co.jp/シャープ-32v型-4...SC8M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363903529&sr=8-1 )



    edit:
    looking for the sites the price is lower than what sharp told me (about $6000... http://www.almoproav.com/products/Details.aspx?pid=PN-K321&m=SHPPRO ) and they distros.. which, if they sell to end users, normally cost more than a normal store..
    my guess is it will be around the $5,500 that I was planning on spending.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  33. uluvbs

    uluvbs Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Honestly, even if prices dropped 50% next year, and 50% the year after (which I cannot imagine will happen, but still), that's still an expensive monitor.

    I hope they start focusing on something a bit more pedestrian, like maybe a 1440p monitor in a 24" size? Yes, not Retina or 4K, but a major improvement.
     
  34. PAo_ReVoLT

    PAo_ReVoLT [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,042
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    can't wait to order one!

    come on sharp take my money please.
     
  35. Ahriman4891

    Ahriman4891 Gawd

    Messages:
    534
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Will wait for a version with a proper backlight, and hopefully at a sub-3000 price point. Otherwise looks exciting, hope other manufacturers follow suit.
     
  36. Tych-0

    Tych-0 Gawd

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    I have some cash burning a hole in my wallet, and I would LOVE more resolution, so this is very tempting for me, but if the input lag isn't improved from my U2011 I don't think this will be in the cards for me. Heh, I wonder when we'll see a 4k with lightboost? Pretty sure if a 1440p or better monitor came out with LB or something similarly dropping the response/input lag for anything under $2500 I'd instantly pull the trigger. Craving the CRT response, but I can't bring myself to drop back down to 1080p.
     
  37. houkouonchi

    houkouonchi RIP

    Messages:
    1,624
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    I will jump on this assuming it doesn't have bad input lag (probably doesn't have a scaler so probably no input lag) once its under 3k as well.

    For now I will have to live with my 22.2 inch 3840x2400 display.
     
  38. TotallyCool

    TotallyCool [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    You bought a 5,000$ monitor aimed at professionals to play games on? And you're planning to do it again? :eek:
     
  39. Mojo JoJo

    Mojo JoJo Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    good luck getting one. spec sheet says 1,500 production monthly.