Sharing Verizon EVDO internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by cleathco, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. cleathco

    cleathco Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    214
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Hi, I'm getting ready to move, and unfortunately the new address does not have cable or DSL internet available, leaving my only choices Satellite or Verizon EVDO.

    I'm leaning towards EVDO but since both me and my wife use the internet at the same time, can the internet connection be shared? It uses a little USB device to access the internet over the cell phone network, just wondering if multiple PC's in the same household coud access the internet using the single USB device.
     
  2. Vashypooh

    Vashypooh 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    What will you be using the internet for?
     
  3. computerpro3

    computerpro3 LightningRod

    Messages:
    8,727
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    You can't use it as a main connection. If you hit 5gb total bandwidth in a month they will either terminate you or throttle you to 200k, even with unlimited.
     
  4. Vashypooh

    Vashypooh 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Yup thats why i was bringing it up, it's against TOS to play games, download big files etc etc.
     
  5. swatbat

    swatbat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,844
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    The 5 gigs is a soft limit. Hitting it doesn't mean they throttle you down, it means they can.

    I have 4 clients that run a verizon card as their main home connection as they can't get dsl or cable. We are running them of the linksys routers that sprint cells.

    OP do you have a notebook with a pc card slot? If so get a notebook card and get a router that takes it. If you need to go with usb you still have a few routers you can buy still.

    Check out evdoinfo.com If you buy the card from them they might have a deal to get the router cheaper(and they make sure they are running the latest firmware) and sometimes they throw in antennas for free as promotions.

    I use my sprint evdo card pretty much as my primary connection even though I have cable at home as I have my notebook with me all the time and use it a lot. One of my friends used his sprint card as his only internet for like 6 months.

    Whatever you do don't go with Satellite. I would say go with dial up over it. It is that bad. Took 2 clients to the evdo cards to get them away from hughes net. It was bad when they had the download caps at 350 megs every 4 hours or so. Now it is 375 megs a day or something. You hit it and you stay at below dial up speeds for 24 hours. Thing is if you continue to use the service it doesn't reset the cap. We had one guy that would hit the cap and would be capped for months. Fucking joke for as expensive as it is.
     
  6. AMD_Gamer

    AMD_Gamer [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,290
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
  7. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Yes...there are broadband routers that are made for EVDO....they accept the PCMCIA cards (so exchange your USB one for a PCMCIA model). Linksys and Kyocera are just a few of the brands out there which make them. They operate much like any other home broadband router..have several LAN ports, web admin, etc etc.
     
  8. swatbat

    swatbat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,844
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    The new ones are supporting usb and their is at least one express card one now.

    PCMCIA gives you the most options right now if you have a notebook or a pcmcia adapter in your desktop to flash the card with updates and to activate it when needed.
     
  9. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    And better performance than the USB. I haven't seen the USB ported routers yet...haven't looked either.
     
  10. cleathco

    cleathco Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    214
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Sorry for the delay.

    None of my 3 laptops have PCMCIA. 2 have ExpressCard, and all 3 have USB.

    Most of my net usage is my wife chatting, me looking up news and downloading some game demos and the occassional Ubuntu or other Linux distro, which obviousy takes the most bandwidth.

    If the router with EVDO plugin is an option I may take that route.

    EDIT: Interested in the Kyocera KR1. Please clarify: if I get this router I won't have to buy a PCMCIA, USB, or expresscard EVDO Card? I can just use the router, which has EVDO built in, and connect multiple computers to it via 802.11 wireless for them all to connect, right?
     
  11. swatbat

    swatbat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,844
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    No when you buy an evdo router you will have to connect an evdo card.

    Pretty much you first install the verizon software on a computer and activate the card. If you ever need to update its firmware you would use the computer with the verizon software as well. After that you plug the card into the router via usb,pcmcia, or express card depending on the router and card and setup the router like you would pretty much any cable or dsl router via a web browser.

    In your case I would go with a express card one and the new express card router that just came out(evdoinfo.com for more on it).

    Also for what YeOldeStonecat said. Most of the tests I've seen show it really doesn't matter which formfactor you use for the card. USB, PCMCIA, or Express card all are the same speed. Personaly though I would prefer an express card or pcmcia card. PCMCIA cards still giving you the most options for setups.

    Also some of the express cards will work in a pcmcia slot with an adapter and I want to say 1 or 2 of them are supported in at least 1 pcmcia router.

    The KR1 is not a bad router but I would go with the Linksys over it. Easer to upgrade the firmware on and it does support vpn if you ever needed it(the KR1 has issues with vpn passthrough).

    The CradlePoint routers are looking good too but I have yet to try one. If you got an express card and one of these you could always take it with you for your notebook if you went on a trip
     
  12. goodcooper

    goodcooper [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,803
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
  13. NotSoSimple

    NotSoSimple [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,735
    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    We have deployed some of the Raven Airlink routers. Just slap a SIM card in for AT&T and go to town. Digibox makes some good stuff also.

    We have about 200 Sprint Aircards deployed, and we try to stick with Sprint. We have a couple Verizon cards that work great, they are Express Card also in our XPS systems.