server 2012, AD, and Hyper-V

bobstone

Limp Gawd
so I configured my home server to run Server 2012, I had a few questions before I get to far down this road.

if I set up my home to use AD and my server takes a dump, how hard will it be to access the files and what not, will it just be a matter of starting up a server trial vm in my copy of workstation on my desk top and attaching the storage and taking ownership? or would it be even easier then that.

or might I totaly lock my self out of my own data? I am really new to using AD.

secondly I wanted to know if I could run a hyper-v VM of pfsense on my server? maybe vmware player would be better?

it is a supermicro atom d510 with 4gb ram, pfsense will only be used for 4-8 devices and the server has dual intel nics? I am running storage spaces so there is some cpu overhead, but I figure a 32 bit copy of pfsense should hardly effect my overhead... ( vm will be stored on a mostly dedicated drive not in any storage pool)

Thanks for any info.

You want to have 2 ADs, they don't take up much RAM or HD space, like 15GB HD and 1GB RAM is enough and since they need to be the DNS server even with cached credentials that would work just fine with the AD down you'd have to access all your servers by IP which can be a pain, stick one on your server and one on your desktop.

FYI, Recomended drive space for Server 2008 R2 is 60 GB and 2012 is like 65 GB,

I normally don't like going smaller than that, but I have installed 2008 R2 on a 16 GB SSD before, to little space for my confort

I meant my VHDXs end up being around 15-16GB on the host, despite the virtual size being like 1TB

FYI, Recomended drive space for Server 2008 R2 is 60 GB and 2012 is like 65 GB,

I normally don't like going smaller than that, but I have installed 2008 R2 on a 16 GB SSD before, to little space for my confort