Server 2008 - Home Server Use

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by StarsFan4Life, Nov 12, 2008.

  1. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Hello all!

    I wanted to double check with you guys on whether or not I should do this or not. I am currently using Windows Vista Ultimate as my home server. The home server currently is nothing more than a file server for all my media. I experience constant "hangs" when trying to access media from my laptop and main PC (also both Windows Vista Ultimate). All are on gigabit lan (DLINK DIR-655) and move things back and forth fast...but at times if I try to open a song or something from another machine...it hangs and generally takes 20-30 seconds before it plays the song. Something is screwy with Vista for sure!

    The current setup I have is as follows:

    * CoolerMaster Elite 330 Case
    * Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H 780G motherboard
    * AMD X2 AM2 BE 2400 2.3GHZ
    * 3GB Kingston ValueRam
    * 1 Samsung 80gb SATA (Operating System)
    * 2X Western Digital 500gb SATA (media is stored on these)

    Now, I would like to move to either Windows Server 2003 (which we all use at work....right) or Windows Server 2008 (something I am just getting into). I would prefer to install Server 2008 so I can familiarize myself with the OS, but is it a bit overkill for a "File Server"?

    I would like to setup an FTP server on this server so all my family can share all that they want and possibly access all of my media too. What do you guys suggest I do?
     
  2. vsboxerboy

    vsboxerboy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,662
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Try XP first, I had network issues as well that seemed to be resolved doing that.
     
  3. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    So use Windows XP instead of Windows Server 2003?
     
  4. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,841
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    First thing i would do is try disabling the network stack in vista. See if that resolves your issue
     
  5. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
  6. seanmcd

    seanmcd [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,431
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Do you have more than 10 family members? Technically either server OS is "overkill" for your needs unless you need more than 10 concurrent connections to the server. Especially if you are paying for a legal copy. Other than that it doesn't matter. Do what you want to do. Ever consider Linux?
     
  7. sdotbrucato

    sdotbrucato [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    If you can get a license from work or something along those lines, why not. Im running SBS03 at home. . . because I want to familiarize myself with the platform I use at work.
     
  8. Demon10000

    Demon10000 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,502
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    It's going to come down to cost and preference.

    If cost isn't an issue, then there is no reason to not use 2k8. It sounds like you're learning the OS, so thats almost enough to justify using it.


    Nothing is overkill if you're going to learn from it.
     
  9. Catweazle

    Catweazle 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,791
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    +10

    Can't really argue with that logic. Using anything is justified if you need or want to learn it, and if the economics aren't an impediment.
     
  10. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,841
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    netsh interface tcp set global autotuning=disabled

    Do that from a cmd prompt

    But like others have said, if cost is not an object, or you already have the server OS, learn from it. Explore all that server 2008 is great for.
     
  11. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,083
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    My vote is go for Server 2008 as well. I actually just did that myself. ;)
     
  12. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Will Server 2008 do away with this stupid response time when trying to access files on one of the drives?
     
  13. Milenko

    Milenko [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Are both on SP1?
     
  14. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,446
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    2008 came out w/sp1 in it
     
  15. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    The guys on here really like WHS. From what I've read up on it, it's very easy to use. It just works.
     
  16. scobar

    scobar .

    Messages:
    33,930
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    My file server is a duron 1ghz with 512mb of ram, supermicro 8 port sata card, and 4 sata hard drive, 1 usb, and a gigabit nic. It runs winxp pro and I have no streaming issues.

    I can't believe you got a server with that much muster for the little bit you are doing.

    If you went with a server OS, i'd say win2k3 it. I have 2k8, other then making everything stupid easy, and being stupidly bloated like vista, meh.
     
  17. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,002
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    I'm using Server 2008 at home as a file server, and I have no complaints about it.
     
  18. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Yes, Vista on my server has SP1 installed.
     
  19. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    You guys dont think this is my DLINK Gigabit router do you?
     
  20. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    12,222
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Why are we not pushing WHS like we usually do?

    WHS FTW!



    ok, there we go...
     
  21. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
  22. scobar

    scobar .

    Messages:
    33,930
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Was $100. Not sure now.
     
  23. dcds1

    dcds1 Gawd

    Messages:
    522
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    If you go to microsoft trial software you can get a trial copy. They will send you WHS on disk for free. I just recieved my copy last week and liked it so much purchased my license online even though my trial period wasn't over with. It was only 100 dollars direct from microsoft.
     
  24. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,002
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    *looks around shiftly* Good, drive up demand for WHS, so I can sell my copy.
     
  25. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    How much are you selling yours for?
     
  26. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,002
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    They've been going for $99 new, so I was planning on doing $75 shipped. My copy has been opened, but it's never been installed or activated. I can take pictures of it tonight to prove it is a legit version.
     
  27. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
  28. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,002
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    I'm in Philadelphia, PA.
     
  29. scobar

    scobar .

    Messages:
    33,930
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    So if you purchase the lic, do you have to do a fresh install or does it let you update your lic?
     
  30. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Also, need an opinion here.

    3gb of PC2-4200 ram or 2gb PC2-6400?

    Currently I have 3gb pc2-4200. Frys has Crucial 2gb sticks of PC2-6400 for $25 each. Thinking of upgrading the ram.
     
  31. griffinhart

    griffinhart [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    I just started using this and it works great. If you're going to buy anything for a home file server it's worth anyones while to at least take a look at Windows Home Server.

    It's a modified version of Win 2003 Server with some great automatic back up and restore features in addtion to basic file/printer serving.
     
  32. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    So is Windows Server 2008 just overboard compared to WHS?

    I'd love to eventually run my own exchange server, setup sFTP, domain controller, ect.
     
  33. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,720
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    if you are doing file sharing, seems to be no reason why u wouldnt want to go with

    freeNAS/freebsd/debian/centos

    if setting up a server, might as well go with the best...
     
  34. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    12,222
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    fixed:D

    simpler, much simpler. No need spend time setting up a *nix distro when you can just go WHS and enjoy all its easy to use features.
     
  35. Catweazle

    Catweazle 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,791
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004

    Unless your computer usage is lightweight and undemanding having more RAM shits all over having faster RAM, any day of the week!

    If that extra 1Gb of RAM is just sitting there for the sake of sitting there, and you don't actually ever need or gain benefit from having it there, then swapping to 2Gb of faster RAM might well help make the system a wee bit snappier. But if your usage sees that extra RAM being needed then changing from 3Gb of 533Mhz to 2Gb of 800Mhz woulkd just make your system more sluggish.

    Having 'enough' RAM is the most important factor. That adds the most benefit.
    Having faster clockspeed RAM comes next when you're trying to improve performance.
    Having RAM with tighter timings comes last in the list of options to improve performance.
     
  36. StarsFan4Life

    StarsFan4Life Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Went with 2 X 2GB sticks of Crucial PC2-6400. Best of both worlds!
     
  37. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,720
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    meh, takes all of 25 minutes to get an ubuntu or freenas server on the home network up and running, and no need to spend 100 bucks doing it too....
     
  38. griffinhart

    griffinhart [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    To get any version of Linux to do what WHS would take significantly more time than 25 minutes and more than a little knowledge of Linux. If WHS were merely a File Server then I would agree with you, but it brings a lot to the table .

    If you ever get the chance or time, download the trial version from MS and see what it can do.
     
  39. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,720
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    well yea... the OP specifically mentioned that he wanted a simpe file server....

    so seriously.... if thats what he wants, linux all the way... i agree, getting linux to do all that WHS does is a bitch, and to the people without the knowledge of linux, it is worth it....

    but for anyone that wants a basaic file server, like the OP.... not going linux would just be foolish..