Samsung UN40KU6300 40-Inch 4K

DooLocsta

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,693
can some one tell me the difference between these adapters, why does the Club 3D one cost more? i'm not really trying to spend that much on adapter.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00S0BWR2...UTF8&colid=JTD3GI989R24&coliid=I1BYCP6IA74KMV
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017BQCUG...colid=JTD3GI989R24&coliid=I15RTR0YWS4P92&th=1

You may want to double check to make sure the cheaper version will do 4:4:4 at 60hz, I didn't see it mentioned in the specs event though it looks like a solid choice.
 

GoLDii3

n00b
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
14
I played Last of Us on the TV. I didn't notice any trailing. Played a bunch of games, they all look fine.

I have noticed trailing on websites, and it can be annoying at times (but I've gotten used to it). Never saw any problem with games or movies.
It's definitly there,sometimes it's worse around NPC's i notice it because i sit very close.

By the way,i think i found a bug in the Samsung software.

If i use blurbusters blur trail/ PWM Test and:

Select thickness "moving edge" with Dynamic range set to "Full" and the TV's black level set to "Normal" with Warm2 color temperature.

You should get some pretty bad yellow ghosting. Atleast i do if i use Warm2.
 

remy199

n00b
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
11
So I was trying to see if there is any difference in terms of picture quality in PC mode versus out of PC mode so I set the Blu-Ray input label settings to exactly the same settings as the PC label and switched back and forth. For some reason the colors look slightly more vivid when it's on the Blu-Ray label, but that's about the extent of it. It seems weird that the exact same settings would give you a different picture. Does this have to do with PC mode disabling some processing that we cant control out of PC mode?
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
It's possible. Game Mode changes the processing. I think I like the way it looks in Game Mode so I leave it on.
 

GoLDii3

n00b
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
14
I would really appreciate if someone here could lend me a hand with something simple. I've been having some ugly yellow ghosting on warmer color temperatures. I don't recall having any of this until recent till i had to call Samsung because my TV had a power issue,but all they did is change the power supply and the board with the inputs,so don't know what could have any of that have to do with display issues but whatever.

Im on the latest 1154 firmware,if i go to the YouTube app and play a quick motion blur test called "Moving Text Motion Blur Test" everything is "fine" (as the TV displays the motion trail caused by the slow pixel response) but as soon i bring up the YouTube overlay (the one with pause,play) i get some weird yellow ghosting,it's even weirder that changing the color temperatura from Warm1/2 to standard it reduces it.

Can't notice it during normal TV vision but while i play games it's annoying. Mine is a KU6000 model from Europe with a 01 panel so Samsung.
 

Ashun

n00b
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
41
GoLDii3, on firmware 1142, I don't see any change on the youtube video you mentioned, but this TV in general has egregiously bad pixel response times. The worst "yellow" ghosting I can find is on an image like this:

LCDPixelTransition_ec73ifczk6.png


Moving that around quickly looks pretty bad.

I'm holding out hope for a future firmware update that gives us a pixel overdrive setting, but I have no idea who you could talk to at Samsung support who would even understand what that means.
 

Nick_Leo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,631
I notice the trailing quite a bit gaming and its making me hate this display. I first noticed it playing Forza with a white Subaru STI and the hoodscoop would cause horrible trailing when looking around the front of the car. Notice it all the times in the shadows too. Im prob going to pick up an acer x34 and retire this display as a tv/second monitor.
 

euskalzabe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
1,478
Yup, that dark block produces quite some trailing. I get mega obvious trailing when reading some articles, specially in The Atlantic with bold black text over white background. Check this and scroll, the title trails like whoa.

NOW, that said, if you bought this TV you knew what you were getting. Decent input lag for a cheap TV, crappy pixel response time. It's definitely there (in fact I think it's more obvious than my 8 year old Samsung LNA550, or maybe it's that the rest of the image looks good so this trailing sticks out more). Either way, when gaming, I barely ever notice it and when working with word documents I also don't for the most part. It depends how much it bothers you: I can live with it because I'm not looking for it and I forget about it, but if you're super sensitive to this... yeah, you'll be annoyed.
 

remy199

n00b
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
11
Is it possible that they could allow judder reduction in PC mode through a firmware update? I ask this because when I watch movies on my PC, I would like to take advantage of this option without having to switch out of PC mode.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
Ashun Yeah, that image looks pretty bad. But I will maintain that I don't notice this while playing games, even if I know it's still there. The TV looks great to me.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
I have a PS4 Pro and use HDR and Game Mode. HDR+ is a cheap trick to me (looks like a sepia filter) and looks much worse than leaving it off (my opinion).

If you have a PS4 Pro, check out Ratchet & Clank. Looks the best I have seen so far, especially on the Mars level it's amazing on this TV.
 

k3nnis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
150
ok thanks. No PS4 Pro for me. Only Xbox one S, not sure which games on this system show HDR the best. May give forza a go.

Do you have UHD blu rays?
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
Yes, I have an UHD Blu-Ray player (Philips). The Revenant probably looked the best out of the ones I tried. Jupiter Ascending was also good, if you like sci-fi.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
Did you use HDMI 1 for PS4 pro and HDMI 2 for your UHD player?

HDMI 1 is the only port that gives UHD color and HDR. You have to swap back and forth unfortunately. I've been looking for an HDMI switch that will pass 4k@60hz, 4:4:4, and HDR. Reading tons of user reviews and they are all over the place with reliability. Works for some, doesn't for others.
 

toddincabo

n00b
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
3
I have the 40" ku6300 with smart remote. I would like to know if there is any way to set the subtitles to "off" as default on initial startup of shows, instead of manually going over to settings each time.

I have searched everywhere on the set to no avail and am curious if it can be done in the service menu before I put in the effort of going down that road with with an older model remote that works on this set.

I read that to access service menu is as follows- Info-Menu-Mute-Power. Is that accurate?

thanks
 

Moonjock

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
265
Picked my 6290 up from BB just before Thanksgiving. It's defective (flashing blue on the screen off and on, source menu not showing the sources to select and no mater what I try can not update the firmware) I'm exchanging it this week.
 

GoLDii3

n00b
Joined
Dec 10, 2016
Messages
14
GoLDii3, on firmware 1142, I don't see any change on the youtube video you mentioned, but this TV in general has egregiously bad pixel response times. The worst "yellow" ghosting I can find is on an image like this:



Moving that around quickly looks pretty bad.

I'm holding out hope for a future firmware update that gives us a pixel overdrive setting, but I have no idea who you could talk to at Samsung support who would even understand what that means.
It's the worst around black and white only images. I tried Sin City yesterday and i get a yellowish type of trail. Its better if i use warm1 instead of warm2. I do remember having something similar happen when i just had purchased the TV but i though i fixed it when i disabled digital view or something like that.

The absolute worst and mind blowing thing i've witnessed was in a motion blur test on the youtube app. On a white background,if i did the same i described before,the moving black bar has a colored trail. Dont even know how its possible,it smears red yellow and green. Goes away if i don't bring up the overlay. Strange noneless.

Will upload a video to youtube of what i mean,looks like i will have to call support.

Not expecting anything as those problems are caused by the VA panel,even people who bought the ex flagship Sony 940D TV suffered from trailing.

On the bright side Samsung keeps adding features,such as HDR YouTube with the new 1154 update.
I read that to access service menu is as follows- Info-Menu-Mute-Power. Is that accurate?
thanks
That's right. The only thing is that first you need a normal remote,and the one that comes with the 6300 is smart if im not wrong.

Another thing is if you got a remote like mine that has no menu button,you have to use the settings button instead. Accesed it just yesterday,be careful to navigate with up and down and not left and right since those change values. To exit all i did was shut down the TV,it also soft resets your TV.
 

k3nnis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
150
HDMI 1 is the only port that gives UHD color and HDR. You have to swap back and forth unfortunately. I've been looking for an HDMI switch that will pass 4k@60hz, 4:4:4, and HDR. Reading tons of user reviews and they are all over the place with reliability. Works for some, doesn't for others.

Yep. Can't commit 100% on a switch yet. I'm trying to avoid swapping constantly as the HDMI socket or cable may damage rather quickly.
 

toddincabo

n00b
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
3
Thanks Goldii3:
That's right. The only thing is that first you need a normal remote,and the one that comes with the 6300 is smart if im not wrong.

Another thing is if you got a remote like mine that has no menu button,you have to use the settings button instead. Accesed it just yesterday,be careful to navigate with up and down and not left and right since those change values. To exit all i did was shut down the TV,it also soft resets your TV.

I should mention my tv is ku6000 which is the Mexican version. I have a remote from an old 22" Sammy I use as a secondary display and it works as if it came with this tv. It has a menu button which takes me directly to the settings screen, and all the other buttons function properly as well. Still for the life of me I cannot get into the Service Menu.

Also tried: To access the service menu (on a non-smart remote only) turn the TV off and press Mute followed by 1, 8, 2 and the Power button. This did not work either. So I'm stuck. Thanks for the reply.
 

StryderxX

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
1,409
How are you guys calibrating the color on this TV? Is there a profile out for it?
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
I've been looking for an HDMI switch that will pass 4k@60hz, 4:4:4, and HDR.
Look no further. I can confirm that the Expert Connect 3x1 HDMI Switch supports HDR.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MQM4GEV

I tested with the PS4 Pro and also my Philips UHD BD player. Both are working great in HDR. I also tried my PC with 4K60 4:4:4 and can confirm it's working (with the brown fox test).

The thing looks nice, and switching is easy with the remote. It also has auto-switch, so if you turn on a new device it will switch automatically. Pretty sweet for $26. Now I can use HDR on all my devices.

One minor downside is that now all the devices have the same TV settings. So, for example, I don't like Game Mode on Blu-Rays as color looks better for movies without, and I want to use Motion Plus. So it means when I switch to the BD player, I also have to manually disable Game Mode (and vice vera when I switch back to my PC/PS4). A minor inconvenience but much better than having to swap cables and risk damaging the port over time. Also, I should note when first connecting the switch, it was blacking out after 5 - 10 seconds and then refreshing over and over. Not sure why, after I got everything setup it's working good so maybe it just needed a second to work right.
 
Last edited:

k3nnis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
150
Thanks for the confirmation :) Will order one now :)

Cheers,
K.

Look no further. I can confirm that the Expert Connect 3x1 HDMI Switch supports HDR.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MQM4GEV

I tested with the PS4 Pro and also my Philips UHD BD player. Both are working great in HDR. I also tried my PC with 4K60 4:4:4 and can confirm it's working (with the brown fox test).

The thing looks nice, and switching is easy with the remote. It also has auto-switch, so if you turn on a new device it will switch automatically. Pretty sweet for $26. Now I can use HDR on all my devices.

One minor downside is that now all the devices have the same TV settings. So, for example, I don't like Game Mode on Blu-Rays as color looks better for movies without, and I want to use Motion Plus. So it means when I switch to the BD player, I also have to manually disable Game Mode (and vice vera when I switch back to my PC/PS4). A minor inconvenience but much better than having to swap cables and risk damaging the port over time. Also, I should note when first connecting the switch, it was blacking out after 5 - 10 seconds and then refreshing over and over. Not sure why, after I got everything setup it's working good so maybe it just needed a second to work right.
 
Last edited:

k3nnis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
150
Did you check to see if any local sites carry the same model?

Yeah had a look, and nothing :(

Is the packaging big for the switch you purchased?

My sister lives in Los Angeles, I could get her to ship it here but not sure how much that would cost or would it be much cheaper than using a mail forwarder.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
The box is 7.5" x 6" x 2". The switch itself is much smaller, so if your sister unboxed it, she could send in one of the USPS Priority Mail International Small Flat Rate Box for $35.
 

remy199

n00b
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
11
If you are playing video files from your computer, then you can try the Smooth Video Project: https://www.svp-team.com/wiki/Main_Page
Unfortunately I don't have the hardware to upscale video to 4k and use SVP. However I actually just discovered something interesting. I have MPC-HC with madvr setup to change the display refresh rate to match the video when going full screen, and when I do go full screen, I suddenly have access to all the options not available in PC mode while in PC mode. I also notice that the colors get a bit more vivid when going full screen just like when switching out of PC mode. I am guessing this is because the TV's input gets refreshed and it realizes it's receiving a 4:2:0 signal (the video) so it has enough processing power to allow for the other settings. I could be wrong about this though.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
Look no further. I can confirm that the Expert Connect 3x1 HDMI Switch supports HDR.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MQM4GEV

I tested with the PS4 Pro and also my Philips UHD BD player. Both are working great in HDR. I also tried my PC with 4K60 4:4:4 and can confirm it's working (with the brown fox test).

The thing looks nice, and switching is easy with the remote. It also has auto-switch, so if you turn on a new device it will switch automatically. Pretty sweet for $26. Now I can use HDR on all my devices.

One minor downside is that now all the devices have the same TV settings. So, for example, I don't like Game Mode on Blu-Rays as color looks better for movies without, and I want to use Motion Plus. So it means when I switch to the BD player, I also have to manually disable Game Mode (and vice vera when I switch back to my PC/PS4). A minor inconvenience but much better than having to swap cables and risk damaging the port over time. Also, I should note when first connecting the switch, it was blacking out after 5 - 10 seconds and then refreshing over and over. Not sure why, after I got everything setup it's working good so maybe it just needed a second to work right.

thanks!

did you notice any additional input lag in games using the switch?
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
It's possible. Game Mode changes the processing. I think I like the way it looks in Game Mode so I leave it on.

i just set my PC to "game console" for the first time and the text and colors look quite a bit better to me. it is also passing the 4:4:4 "brown fox" test in game mode. my understanding was that game mode was 4:2:0... my previous monitor was a Korean (Shimian) 1440p IPS. in game mode, this Samsung looks very close to the Shimian as far as text clarity and color. checking the TV settings the only change outside of "game mode" -on is "color space" set to native. Dynamic contrast is available but set to "off". switching back and forth between PC and Game Console is a huge difference. it's almost like a layer of film has been lifted off the screen when in game mode...
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
In terms of Amazon, you get free 2-day shipping as a Prime member. However there usually is a free shipping option otherwise, it just takes longer.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
playing around some more on PC in "game mode" and i'm almost to the point of thinking this was supposed to be "PC mode" and there is a bug/glitch in the firmware. text is sooooo much cleaner and clearer. i use spreadsheets on a daily basis and it's night and day better looking in game mode. watched a couple 4k youtube vids (switching back and forth between PC and game) as well, and they look better.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
I use Game Mode on my computer, even if that means giving up 4:4:4. I have it on 4:2:0 color and honestly it looks OK (aside from pixel fonts). Also watch out for the Sharpness setting, which changes in Game Mode.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,496
Just got my Oculus Touch controllers tonight. First thing I did was play Super Hot and not even 15 minute in I decked the crap out of this 4K TV! Straight into the screen. Luckily, it's built well. No damage.
 
Top