Samsung UN40KU6300 40-Inch 4K

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
texture resolution is the next Vram hog after overall game resolution.

i had a Korean (Shimian) 2560x1440 ips for around 3 years. i don't notice the lag at all. i'm not sure what the shimian was rated at but i'm certain it wasn't much lower (if any) than this Samsung. i tried "game mode" with the 20ms lag and "pc mode" with 34ms. i just leave it in pc mode even gaming.

Maybe I have something set wrong then? I used the edit input function to select game mode and in special viewing or whatever it's called it says game mode on and I can still feel the somewhat lagy mouse input. More in some games than others. I mean it's not terrible mind you but my Catleap at 100hz was better for sure.
 

DooLocsta

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
1,689
Maybe I have something set wrong then? I used the edit input function to select game mode and in special viewing or whatever it's called it says game mode on and I can still feel the somewhat lagy mouse input. More in some games than others. I mean it's not terrible mind you but my Catleap at 100hz was better for sure.

It is probably more the difference between 100hz and 60hz than input lag. My CRT running 110hz beside my 6290 seeems much different as well.
 

Moonjock

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
255
What is the most current firmware for the 6290? I have 1122 installed the TV sees 1142 but will not DL it (keep getting error message) and I can not find 1142 on Samsungs site.
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
Even in game mode the TV's 21ms input lag is 3-4x slower compared to high refresh rate PC monitors. I don't think it's suitable for playing online shooters but for everything else the size works wonders.

I have both on my desk so when I want to play BF1 I jump on the 27 144hz and when I want to kick back and experience a single player game it's much nicer on the Samsung.
I really wanna just use this one for everything. Games at 4k looks freaking beautiful.
 

jrcbandit

n00b
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
30
Even in game mode the TV's 21ms input lag is 3-4x slower compared to high refresh rate PC monitors. I don't think it's suitable for playing online shooters but for everything else the size works wonders.

I have both on my desk so when I want to play BF1 I jump on the 27 144hz and when I want to kick back and experience a single player game it's much nicer on the Samsung.

Incorrect, you are thinking of Response time which is typically 1-5 ms. The Input Lag on most gaming PC monitors is around 10 ms, so the 21 ms isn't very far off when playing in game mode.
 

NoxTek

The Geek Redneck
Joined
May 27, 2002
Messages
9,300
Incorrect, you are thinking of Response time which is typically 1-5 ms. The Input Lag on most gaming PC monitors is around 10 ms, so the 21 ms isn't very far off when playing in game mode.

You'd be amazed at the 'enthusiasts' out there who don't know the difference between pixel response time and input lag. :D
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
16.7ms of input lag = 1 frame. tournament grade monitors have less than 10ms (ASUS VH236H used in the EVO tournament had 8.3ms). this TV in game mode with 20ms is one of the best for a TV and as good or better than most standard (non gaming) PC monitors. you have to go down in resolution to 1080p and size (23") and shell out the same price (or a little more) as this TV before you get 10ms or less. if you want 4k and less than 10ms you are talkin ASUS ROG SWIFT PG27AQ for ~$900 and shrink down to 27".

if your mouse seems really laggy double check your refresh rate. more than one of us have had our refresh rate drop down from 60hz to 59hz causing bad lag.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,280
My sig rig has the Asus Rog Swift, certainly a high-end gaming monitor, at 144Hz and has around 4ms of lag (which is really good).

http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/asus_rog_swift_pg278q.htm
https://pcmonitors.info/reviews/asus-pg278q/

Some other monitors are in the 20 - 30ms range.

lag.png


I admit that I think I will still play competitive online games on that with mouse/keyboard because it is an advantage. The 4K TV is nicer for console style gaming with a controller.
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
So a fast question. I have uhd on in PC mode obviously because I want that for 4.4.4 chroma. I also see it's on in game mode. When I tried to turn it off for kicks I got a black screen. Should this be off in game mode? Is that introducing more lag because of additional processing? What are the correct/optimal settings for games mode? I don't mean picture settings like brightness and contrast and sharpness. Those are mostly user preferences. I mean the correct settings for the lowest input lag so as to have the TV generate the fastest image akin to a PC monitor with out all the extra processing nonsense.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
So a fast question. I have uhd on in PC mode obviously because I want that for 4.4.4 chroma. I also see it's on in game mode. When I tried to turn it off for kicks I got a black screen. Should this be off in game mode? Is that introducing more lag because of additional processing? What are the correct/optimal settings for games mode? I don't mean picture settings like brightness and contrast and sharpness. Those are mostly user preferences. I mean the correct settings for the lowest input lag so as to have the TV generate the fastest image akin to a PC monitor with out all the extra processing nonsense.

turning on UHD Color on HDMI1 adds no input lag according to Rtings. 20.4ms with it on and 20.4ms with it off. turning on "PC Mode" to get 4:4:4 bumps the lag to 36.7ms.
 

dinsum

n00b
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
8
What settings are you all using in PC mode?

Here are the settings im currently using for PC usage and I like it
-HDMI UHD Color on for hdmi1
-HDMI black level Auto
-standard picture mode
-disable all eco brightness settings
-20 backlight
-49 brightness (things are just too dark at 45)
-Gamma +1 (helps with the darkness problem)
-90 Contrast (100 is just too much, things look much better at 90)
-80% for digital vibrancy in Nvidia control panel (sadly the TV does not let you change the color settings while in PC mode, so need to use digital vibrancy instead)

I think these settings make it a much nicer display then the stock settings


what is everybody else using?
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
i've been using the settings and ICC profile from post 25 https://hardforum.com/threads/samsung-un40ku6300-40-inch-4k.1901160/#post-1042443776

i have hdmi black set to low and in Nvidia control panel output dynamic range to full.


When I se the HDMI black level to low or normal (and normal is what everyone usually recomends) I feel things like grey areas are a little too brightish. Originally in NV cpl the the dynamic range output was by default set to limited but when I set it to full I noticed grey (dark grtey areas) got darker. So I was in a situation where greay areas with dynamic set to full(where is should be) while using hdmi black level on standard or low was too light I then went back to auto and now the dark(greay ish) areas are pretty dam dark but I think I prefer it that way. Not sure yet tbh.
 

dinsum

n00b
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
8
When I se the HDMI black level to low or normal (and normal is what everyone usually recomends) I feel things like grey areas are a little too brightish. Originally in NV cpl the the dynamic range output was by default set to limited but when I set it to full I noticed grey (dark grtey areas) got darker. So I was in a situation where greay areas with dynamic set to full(where is should be) while using hdmi black level on standard or low was too light I then went back to auto and now the dark(greay ish) areas are pretty dam dark but I think I prefer it that way. Not sure yet tbh.

Yeah when you set it to auto it just uses the "low" setting, you can manually change it to normal but I find darks are way too bright this way, and it makes the viewing angle even worse as well so I leave it on low

The problem is things are a bit too dark on low, so I find bumping the gamma up +1 and changing brightness from 45 to 49 makes things more acceptable, not perfect but pretty darnn good


i've been using the settings and ICC profile from post 25 https://hardforum.com/threads/samsung-un40ku6300-40-inch-4k.1901160/#post-1042443776

i have hdmi black set to low and in Nvidia control panel output dynamic range to full.

I will give this a chance when I have some free time, but I honestly find the color accuracy to be good compared to pretty much every other 4k TV I have tried
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
So ya just playing some BF4 for the first time on this screen and wow wow wow I'm in love. In game mode hardly any mouse lag 4k res, all ultra 2xmsaa all 3 980's almost always maxed with great tri sli scaling over 100 fps at all times usually 120ish+ 64 man conquest server. Was smooth as butter and dam it looked amazing and more importantly it felt snappy! I'm very happy with that. :)
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
my Xbox One S should be here in a hour or two. mainly picked it up for the 4k blu ray player. gonna get Final Fantasy 15 and try it out as it supports HDR. hope it looks better than the regular PS4 version. i have a non S Xbone as well and will compare the two.
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
my Xbox One S should be here in a hour or two. mainly picked it up for the 4k blu ray player. gonna get Final Fantasy 15 and try it out as it supports HDR. hope it looks better than the regular PS4 version. i have a non S Xbone as well and will compare the two.


We have a regular Xbox 1 in the family room as a game center/media center/netflix/amazon family thing going on. I was sorta thinking of picking up an xbone s or ps4 pro but I don't have a 4k TV in there yet. I was sorta waiting on OLED to get down to reality before I make the jump for my main TV. I've been tempted to jump in but I really want OLED 4k. Plus I need a 70" so I don't want to buy a meh TV. I want a nice high ish end set when I do it. So for now I'll probably wait on the upgraded consoles. Curious to hear what you think though.
 

Ocellaris

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
19,055
We have a regular Xbox 1 in the family room as a game center/media center/netflix/amazon family thing going on. I was sorta thinking of picking up an xbone s or ps4 pro but I don't have a 4k TV in there yet. I was sorta waiting on OLED to get down to reality before I make the jump for my main TV. I've been tempted to jump in but I really want OLED 4k. Plus I need a 70" so I don't want to buy a meh TV. I want a nice high ish end set when I do it. So for now I'll probably wait on the upgraded consoles. Curious to hear what you think though.

I don't think people are cross shopping a 40 inch high value 4K TV with 70 inch OLED displays :)
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
I don't think people are cross shopping a 40 inch high value 4K TV with 70 inch OLED displays :)

Lol neither am I. I use my ku6300 for my main PC which is primarily a gaming rig. When I'm talking about an OLED I mean for my main TV in the house.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
We have a regular Xbox 1 in the family room as a game center/media center/netflix/amazon family thing going on. I was sorta thinking of picking up an xbone s or ps4 pro but I don't have a 4k TV in there yet. I was sorta waiting on OLED to get down to reality before I make the jump for my main TV. I've been tempted to jump in but I really want OLED 4k. Plus I need a 70" so I don't want to buy a meh TV. I want a nice high ish end set when I do it. So for now I'll probably wait on the upgraded consoles. Curious to hear what you think though.

i've heard/read that OLED has very bad input lag for gaming.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
got the One S hooked up. the TV automatically detects it as "Xbox One" and turns on "game mode". it passes ALL 4k tests even in game mode. the menu and still images on the dashboard look fantastic. very crisp and detailed colors. still downloading Final Fantasy 15 (54gb). not sure if it is hardware or Microsoft servers, but my 220Mbps internet tops out around 75Mbps on the Xbox. my PS4's have always had the same problem. they are all connected with Cat6 cables and run to the same switch as my PC. when i download from Steam it uses every bit of the 220...

WP_20161129_16_38_05_Pro.jpg
 

Savoy

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
2,491
got the One S hooked up. the TV automatically detects it as "Xbox One" and turns on "game mode". it passes ALL 4k tests even in game mode. the menu and still images on the dashboard look fantastic. very crisp and detailed colors. still downloading Final Fantasy 15 (54gb). not sure if it is hardware or Microsoft servers, but my 220Mbps internet tops out around 75Mbps on the Xbox. my PS4's have always had the same problem. they are all connected with Cat6 cables and run to the same switch as my PC. when i download from Steam it uses every bit of the 220...

WP_20161129_16_38_05_Pro.jpg

Nice, looks like that's gonna be a nice setup.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
when final fantasy is first loading up, the TV has a popup saying "you are now watching an HDR movie on HDMI 1" (or something similar). i have never seen this before. i have watched 4k HDR content using the Amazon TV app and played The Last of Us Remastered on PS4. the Last of Us had an in game popup saying it detected an HDR TV and asked to turn HDR on but nothing from the TV.

i wonder if this was changed in a firmware update.

also, has anyone played a PC game with HDR? just wondering if the TV indicates it is HDR as well.
 

silent-circuit

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 18, 2005
Messages
16,133
texture resolution is the next Vram hog after overall game resolution.

i had a Korean (Shimian) 2560x1440 ips for around 3 years. i don't notice the lag at all. i'm not sure what the shimian was rated at but i'm certain it wasn't much lower (if any) than this Samsung. i tried "game mode" with the 20ms lag and "pc mode" with 34ms. i just leave it in pc mode even gaming.

The Shimian, assuming it was one of the single input versions (most common) had no scaler, so it was actually one of the fastest panels available at the time in terms of input lag, somewhere in the range of 10-12ms. If you can go from 10ms to 34ms and not be bothered you are (lucky for you) not at all sensitive to input lag. Unfortunately for me, I find anything above ~15ms becomes maddening very quickly.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,280
andy4theherd With the PS4 Pro (and I guess regular PS4) it goes into HDR mode when the console starts so I don't think you see the TV's message when adjusting in-game settings. But if you press the middle button on the TV remote it should say "HDR" on the top right next to the resolution info.

So far I haven't got HDR to output from my computer but it's supposed to be possible somehow.
 

euskalzabe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
1,478
Well mine finally arrived, but after an exhausting long day at work, I'd rather not set it up now at 10pm because I'm so tired I'll miss something and possibly break something. Short day at work tomorrow and no grading to get done until Thursday, so tomorrow early afternoon it's time to set this up!

BidDIiE68XcP53SoT3Qqc9WZ1G_K1pwyAGc03KnGAJXZQ2QhOl4so2yp80tyty1mIMPTtP0wi0o=w1689-h950-no
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
after several hours of playing and tweaking settings (mostly tweaking settings) i've come to the conclusion that 4 months of playing PC games maxed (or close to maxed) settings at 4k has ruined any console experience i can have. FF15 is a blurry mess on Xbox. i tried every setting on the TV and console to help but nothing worked. the game has a native 900p max resolution (gag) and uses a "dynamic" resolution change lowering it down to 720p when needed to maintain a constant 30fps. when you upscale 900p and 720p to 4k it's not that pretty. i'll mess around with it some more tomorrow, but as of right now i'm unimpressed with the Xbox One S. i have a 4k blu ray coming tomorrow. hopefully the 4k blu ray player adds some value...
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
andy4theherd With the PS4 Pro (and I guess regular PS4) it goes into HDR mode when the console starts so I don't think you see the TV's message when adjusting in-game settings. But if you press the middle button on the TV remote it should say "HDR" on the top right next to the resolution info.

So far I haven't got HDR to output from my computer but it's supposed to be possible somehow.

i think i read somewhere that Alien Isolation on PC has HDR.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,280
andy4theherd I played some regular PS4 games on the PS4 Pro and they looked OK on the Samsung. Not 4K great, but playable, if not a little soft and fuzzy. PS4 Pro games look really good though.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,280
Man, Ratchet & Clank looks amazing on this set. This game, more than others, seems to really work in HDR. Or even if it's not full HDR, it still looks much better than I've seen otherwise. The screen gets very bright at times, almost where it's hard to look at it.

I took these shots with the PS4 share feature. Unfortunately, they don't seem to look right on the computer. I guess the screenshot feature is not HDR and/or the PC is not (well I know my PC isn't, because it's not on HDMI 1).

But I assure you, they looked much better on the PS4 so I have to assume HDR actually IS working. I did not have this experience with Last of Us. It looked better, but it was subtle. With Ratchet & Clank it is simply incredible (especially the Mars looking level).

Ratchet_Clank_1.jpg


Ratchet_Clank_2.jpg
 

Zuul

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
850
Is there a European version? I can't find anything with the UN40KU6300 model number.
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
Man, Ratchet & Clank looks amazing on this set. This game, more than others, seems to really work in HDR. Or even if it's not full HDR, it still looks much better than I've seen otherwise. The screen gets very bright at times, almost where it's hard to look at it.

I took these shots with the PS4 share feature. Unfortunately, they don't seem to look right on the computer. I guess the screenshot feature is not HDR and/or the PC is not (well I know my PC isn't, because it's not on HDMI 1).

But I assure you, they looked much better on the PS4 so I have to assume HDR actually IS working. I did not have this experience with Last of Us. It looked better, but it was subtle. With Ratchet & Clank it is simply incredible (especially the Mars looking level).

those shots look great and 100x better than what i was seeing with FF15 on the Xbox One S. the PS4 Pro uses a technique called "checker boarding" to achieve 4k resolution. it isn't a native rendered image like a PC game but much better than just upscaling a non 4k image like the Xbox S does. i still think i have a setting wrong or something because it seriously looked like i was playing a final gen 360 game. i'll try swapping cables, but the dashboard and all images there look very good. it's just FF15. i read on other forums and reviews a lot of people complaining about how blurry it is on Xbox.

what TV settings are you using for PS4 Pro?
 

andy4theherd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 3, 2016
Messages
145
those shots look great and 100x better than what i was seeing with FF15 on the Xbox One S. the PS4 Pro uses a technique called "checker boarding" to achieve 4k resolution. it isn't a native rendered image like a PC game but much better than just upscaling a non 4k image like the Xbox S does. i still think i have a setting wrong or something because it seriously looked like i was playing a final gen 360 game. i'll try swapping cables, but the dashboard and all images there look very good. it's just FF15. i read on other forums and reviews a lot of people complaining about how blurry it is on Xbox.

what TV settings are you using for PS4 Pro?

just remembered that the cut scenes in the game also look very good so it's definitely not a bad HDMI cable (using the one that came with the S).
 
Top