Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US

Discussion in 'Memory' started by xsmokex, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. Tuppu

    Tuppu n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Works fine. Have been very pleased with this RAM. Using 4 sticks 16GB in total.
     
  2. clownshoes

    clownshoes Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Does anybody know if samsung stopped making this stuff? It looks like it's no longer available at newegg.
     
  3. leeleatherwood

    leeleatherwood [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,582
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    I haven't seen any instock in a while :(
     
  4. Cod

    Cod Gawd

    Messages:
    642
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
  5. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    I checked every warlmart and electronic stores and no luck.
     
  6. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    I find they're getting harder to find and prices are creeping up.

    Frys.com may still have the.m.
     
  7. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
  8. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Both Frys and micro center has them but one problem it's only a in store sell. Bad par is that neither are near where I live. Bummer :-(
     
  9. SHaFT7

    SHaFT7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    178
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    i'm hoping to find a set at my local micro center. turns out I need more than 8GB :)
     
  10. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    16 all the way. Also if remember right they are $59.99 a set at Micro Center. Good luck.
     
  11. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal [H]Lite

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    and to think, newegg had these last summer for under $40 for 2x4GB. Kicking myself for not picking them up.
     
  12. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
  13. aubsxc

    aubsxc [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,130
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Newegg had them for $30 per 8GB set with a coupon code at one time. Picked up 32GB for $120 shipped. Wish I had picked up more at that price.
     
  14. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,265
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    I have 12 sticks, 6 of which are being used in a couple of my rigs. Glad to see that they are still popular even after being discontinued.
     
  15. Josephson_Junction

    Josephson_Junction [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    I'm regretting not having bought another pair sooner. :( Shame, I hope Samsung releases a successor of some sort.
     
  16. Cod

    Cod Gawd

    Messages:
    642
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
  17. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    I called allot of places and asked if they would restock and they all said no due to higher cost.
     
  18. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Just received a pair and they are running at 1600 @1.28v.
    Not sure if it's just me but I noticed a big difference in boot time. Before I had the G-Skill and I though they where quick.
     
  19. Cod

    Cod Gawd

    Messages:
    642
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    What timings were you able to get?
     
  20. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    I haven't missed with it yet. I have been in and out. I'll report later today. But when I checked it was auto set to 11 11 11 28
     
  21. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Update
    Memory at 2133MHz 1.5V 10 10 10 28 2T. Can't go any lower on 2T. It won't boot at all set at 1T. Get BF on motherboard dionastic. Anyway it's stable and no BSOD. 24 hr test and running strong.
     
  22. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    the frys in my area only have open boxes of these. i grabbed one but have a question:

    the two have different serial numbers: one says 1151 after the -YK0 and the other says 1211
    also, if you look on the chips, one says SEC 210 HYK0, while the other says SEC 131 HYK0

    are they still paired if the numbers are different? if not, should I return them? I haven't tested them yet.
     
  23. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    You should be ok. How much where they priced?
     
  24. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    $49.99. i'm thinking of going back to buy some more and seeing if i can match up a set out of all the open boxes they have lol

    edit: if i wanted to overclock would they overclock differently or be less stable paired because they are from different batches?
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
  25. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Honestly I couldn't tell you. All you can do is try them. So why does Fry's have so many open boxes of these memory? If you do have issues you can always use the life time warranty and hope they send you a pair that matches.
     
  26. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    i guess people returned them... so this means that samsung doesn't always pair memory sticks from the same batch? or do you think it is more likely that the previous owner mixed two batches/sets when returning them?
     
  27. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Probably people have bought them until they found matching set. To be honest I would try them first then decide if you want to take them back. Also not sure what your setup is but the memory will act differently on each motherboard. I have a X79 board and I can run them at 2400MHz with no problem but I don't have any heat spread on them so I don't keep them at those speeds. Where are you located. I would be interested in another set myself?
     
  28. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    both mine match they are from 1221
     
  29. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    i am just slowly ordering parts for my next system (as i see good deals) which will be built in june (will be using a z77 mitx mobo) but right now I have an amd build (also uses ddr3 so technically i could test the sticks to see if they work, but not sure about overclocking since this current build is a budget build not designed to be overclocked)

    i wasn't planning on pushing the sticks to extreme frequencies like 2400 but hopefully to 1800+ and leave them like that 365/24/7

    so when you mean try them, what exactly should (or can) I do?

    @XFaega i live in the bay area, california
     
  30. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    What I meant is try to overclock them. See if both will overclock without conflict. As if both sticks have this on the memory chips then you should be ok HKYO K4B2G0846D.
     
  31. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    sorry, i've never done this before, can you point to a good guide for overclocking ram for amd systems (especially how to choose timings)? i was going to try and learn after i bought my new system lol but i guess i'll do it now :)

    btw my old system is on a gigabyte ma-770t-ud3p motherboard (socket am3)
    edit: amd phenom ii x3 720
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  32. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Do the Asrock X79 motherboards have a limitation on how far they can overclock ram? Reason I ask is because when I set oc the samung memory to 2400mhz and reboot I get code error b7 ( check to make sure our cpu or ram is seated correctly ) which they are. I'm using Asrock X79 Extreme 4 MB and bios 3.0. Doesn't matter what I try always get the b7 error code. But I can oc to 2133mhz with no problem. Anyone?
     
  33. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,265
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    I have the same board and it's extremely picky with this RAM or overclocking in general. I can boot at 2400 without touching any of the voltages and can boot into Windows but it isn't stable. If I try increasing any of the voltages, it fails to boot (same b7 code). I noticed that my board refused to overclock my 3820 past 4.6GHz, no matter what strap or CPU voltage I gave it. I don't know if yours has the same issue. Unfortunately ASRock's tech support is useless.

    I didn't have much issue with this RAM and my Gigabyte X79-UD7. Although I couldn't boot with it @ 2133 but 2000 has been running fine for the past 8 months.
     
  34. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    well i went to the frys and asked to look at all the open boxes... lo and behold i found a set of 1151 and 1211 that match my set exactly

    now i have 2 sticks of 1151 and 2 sticks of 1211... time to test them!

    so any advice for overclocking? especially if I don't want to overclock my cpu?
     
  35. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    ING TE=SolidBladez;1039825561]I have the same board and it's exdo turn y this RAM or overclocking in general. I can boot at 2400 without touching any of the voltages and can boot into Windows but it isn't stable. If I try increasing any of the voltages, it fails to boot (same b7 code). I noticed that my board refused to overclock my 3820 past 4.6GHz, no matter what strap or CPU voltage I gave it. I don't know if yours has the same issue. Unfortunately ASRock's tech support is useless.

    I didn't have much issue with this RAM and my Gigabyte X79-UD7. Although I couldn't boot with it @ 2133 but 2000 has been running fine for the past 8 months.[/QUOTE]
    I did a Google search and from what I have found is that ASrock uses outdated VRM controllers that overheat and causes issues with over clocking. It doesn't matter how much cooling I use on the VRM it still gives me issues. So I'm assuming it is linked to my MB not allowing the ram to overclock to a certain point. That also has to do our limitation of over clocking.
     
  36. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Glad you were able to find a matching ram. Not really sure how overclocking your ram works on a AMD board. But if it's is the same as Intel boards you should be able to over clock the ram. First go into your DRMM settings and slowly up the clock until you can't boot. Leave all the settings on auto. By the way how much ram did they have and how much was everything after tax?
     
  37. syncopied

    syncopied Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    496
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    yeah i had the impression that overclocking was much harder on amd boards for some reason because if i recall upping the clock will also up the cpu clock so i think i would have to lower my multiplier or something like that... i'll try to understand one of those crazy guides online and give it a try when i get the chance and let you all know how it goes :)

    it was 49.99 and about 9% tax here so a bit less than 55 after tax
     
  38. SolidBladez

    SolidBladez [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,265
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Ah bugger. :(

    Guess I'll be sticking with the UD7 then.
     
  39. XFaega

    XFaega Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    I'm thing of dropping the ASrock X79 Extreme 4 and picking myself up a Asus RIVE. I know for sure that I will be able to get 2400+ on the ram. Also I like their cooling scheme.