Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD only shows 22.4GB capacity???

yenniedn

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,059
Hey [H]:

I picked up a couple of slightly used Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD's recently and one of them only shows a capacity of 22.4GB. The other drive works fine and show the correct capacity - but no matter what I do with the 2nd drive, it only shows up as a 22.4GB drive!

I've checked it under the Windows Disk Management menu and have tried formatting it several times but nothing changes. There doesn't appear to be any unallocated space on the drive so I can't just expand the volume. The computer just simply sees it as a 22.4GB drive (I've installed it on two separate computers with the same result).

Anyone know what's going on here and how to fix it? For example, would it matter if the drive was previously formatted for a Mac and I'm not trying to use it on a PC? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!
 

JBark

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
2,048
Might try installing the Samsung Magician software to see how it detects the drive. Maybe there's a firmware update, or maybe you can do a secure erase that will help things. I know you can set overprovisioning in Samsung Magician, but I'm not sure how that shows up in Disk Management. I don't know if it just leaves empty space, or actually has the drive report a smaller size.

Could be an old SSD stuck inside an 850 Pro case, which would be shitty.
 

SomeGuy133

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
3,447
SHIT!!!! I was drinking a bit of hard cider....and I thought this was 950 PRO 1TB thread...gahhhhhh!!! I got all my hopes up for nothing...FUCK!


FYI Yes I did read this and proof read my TBI :D hahaha

On topic...have you tried to format...wipe....secure erase...and all that jazz. My TBI isn't that bad I can still help :D

Explain in detail all you have done and we can give you much muh better info even a little blitz :D hehehe

FYI quote me so i see you responded... I am not surxribed...fuck proof reading this line :D
 

yenniedn

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,059
Might try installing the Samsung Magician software to see how it detects the drive. Maybe there's a firmware update, or maybe you can do a secure erase that will help things. I know you can set overprovisioning in Samsung Magician, but I'm not sure how that shows up in Disk Management. I don't know if it just leaves empty space, or actually has the drive report a smaller size.

Could be an old SSD stuck inside an 850 Pro case, which would be shitty.

Samsung Magician shows the same thing; it recognizes that it's a Samsung SSD but capacity is still 22.4GB. There are no firmware updates for anything newer than the 840 SSD's on the Samsung site. Secure erase isn't supported on Windows 8 and beyond so I'd have to do a bootable CD/USB stick to try it (which I will likely do soon if I can't get it figured out).

It would truly be shitty if someone stuck an old SSD in a 850 Pro 1TB case . . . but a 25GB SSD? Seems unlikely (I hope).
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
19,451
maybe 980GB have been used up and that is all that is left of good blocks on the drive.
 

JBark

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
2,048
It would truly be shitty if someone stuck an old SSD in a 850 Pro 1TB case . . . but a 25GB SSD? Seems unlikely (I hope).

Crazier things have happened, but it does seem unlikely. However, Samsung did make a 24GB msata SSD which was designed as a sort of Cache drive. 24GB will report as ~22.35GiB in Windows, which is what you are seeing. Any chance you can unscrew the cover without voiding any warranty stickers to see what's inside the case?

This is that 24GB SSD I'm talking about:
Amazon.com: Samsung Lenovo SSD24GB Mini mSATA MZMPA024HMCD-000L1 FRU 45N8377 SSD Hard Disk: Computers & Accessories

Would be pretty hilarious (not for you) if somebody stuck a sata -> msata adaptor inside the case and plugged in one of those 24GB drives. Usually they just stick a cheap usb flash drive on the inside and modify it so it reports the size you expect.
 

yenniedn

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,059
Crazier things have happened, but it does seem unlikely. However, Samsung did make a 24GB msata SSD which was designed as a sort of Cache drive. 24GB will report as ~22.35GiB in Windows, which is what you are seeing. Any chance you can unscrew the cover without voiding any warranty stickers to see what's inside the case?

This is that 24GB SSD I'm talking about:
Amazon.com: Samsung Lenovo SSD24GB Mini mSATA MZMPA024HMCD-000L1 FRU 45N8377 SSD Hard Disk: Computers & Accessories

Would be pretty hilarious (not for you) if somebody stuck a sata -> msata adaptor inside the case and plugged in one of those 24GB drives. Usually they just stick a cheap usb flash drive on the inside and modify it so it reports the size you expect.

There looks to be two little pentalobe (aka Apple) screws on the back, one of which is exposed and the other covered by the Samsung label. I can easily unscrew the exposed screw but the other looks to be fully covered by the original sticker and untampered with. If the guy did do a swapperoo, he did a helluva job. From the looks of it, this drive doesn't seem to be tampered with. I'll see what Samsung Tech Support has to say.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
6,617
There looks to be two little pentalobe (aka Apple) screws on the back, one of which is exposed and the other covered by the Samsung label. I can easily unscrew the exposed screw but the other looks to be fully covered by the original sticker and untampered with. If the guy did do a swapperoo, he did a helluva job. From the looks of it, this drive doesn't seem to be tampered with. I'll see what Samsung Tech Support has to say.

It's easy removing that label if you know how. Think heat gun.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
544
That sucks. Hopefully its something of an easy fix, or at the least hopefully you can get Samsung to do an RMA if possible.
 

cyclone3d

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
14,931
I would use diskpart and run a clean function on it. That will get rid of all partition info.

Go to an admin command prompt and type:

diskpart
list disk (this should show the disks and how much is used and free)
select disk (whichever is the disk number that is the one that is acting up)
clean
create partition primary
format fs=ntfs quick

If that doesn't fix it, then it is RMA time.
 

yenniedn

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,059
I would use diskpart and run a clean function on it. That will get rid of all partition info.

Go to an admin command prompt and type:

diskpart
list disk (this should show the disks and how much is used and free)
select disk (whichever is the disk number that is the one that is acting up)
clean
create partition primary
format fs=ntfs quick

If that doesn't fix it, then it is RMA time.

Thanks - that was helpful and worth a shot but after following procedure, same results. Already have an RMA set up with Samsung and drive will be going out to them on Monday. We'll see what they find.

Thanks all for the replies.
 

SomeGuy133

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
3,447
Crazier things have happened, but it does seem unlikely. However, Samsung did make a 24GB msata SSD which was designed as a sort of Cache drive. 24GB will report as ~22.35GiB in Windows, which is what you are seeing. Any chance you can unscrew the cover without voiding any warranty stickers to see what's inside the case?

This is that 24GB SSD I'm talking about:
Amazon.com: Samsung Lenovo SSD24GB Mini mSATA MZMPA024HMCD-000L1 FRU 45N8377 SSD Hard Disk: Computers & Accessories

Would be pretty hilarious (not for you) if somebody stuck a sata -> msata adaptor inside the case and plugged in one of those 24GB drives. Usually they just stick a cheap usb flash drive on the inside and modify it so it reports the size you expect.
how would they get a different drive to report through smart it is a 950 PRO though? ahs he tried any quality smart programs like a trail of HD sentienal to see if it gives better details?
 

drescherjm

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
14,936
I would have liked to see what Samsung Magician detected it as. And if it thought there was over provisioning.
 

yenniedn

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,059
Wanted to give you guys an update on this. I was all ready set to send the drive back to Samsung for an RMA (they thought maybe the controller was bad) - then the seller got back to me stating that he was out of state on business travel. He said that he wasn't aware of this issue, wouldn't knowingly sell me a bad unit, and we arranged to meet up after his return. I just met up with him this morning and he replaced the drive with another unit. I'll see how the replacement works when I get home tonight. I don't have any reason to believe there'll be any issues with this one as he seems like a legit guy.

Will post another update.
 

tran1981

Weaksauce
Joined
Aug 12, 2013
Messages
101
Wanted to give you guys an update on this. I was all ready set to send the drive back to Samsung for an RMA (they thought maybe the controller was bad) - then the seller got back to me stating that he was out of state on business travel. He said that he wasn't aware of this issue, wouldn't knowingly sell me a bad unit, and we arranged to meet up after his return. I just met up with him this morning and he replaced the drive with another unit. I'll see how the replacement works when I get home tonight. I don't have any reason to believe there'll be any issues with this one as he seems like a legit guy.

Will post another update.

Keep us posted.
 

yenniedn

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,059
The replacement drive works as it should and shows the proper 1TB capacity. The seller is going to return the other drive to Amazon for a refund. It all worked out in the end.
 
Top