Samsung 840 Pro -- Owners Report

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Looking for feedback from those who have the 840 PRO, any size :)

I`ll have screenshots, and info for my setup within a few days when the drive arrives :D
I have a 256GB drive coming from AMAZON.

Going to compare/test in Win and OSX.

Currently using Intel 80GB G2 in Win, and Intel 510 120gb in OSX.
Also have Crucial M4s in use in some secondary systems.

I got a new MBAIR that has the 'faster' SSD, and I can tell the responsiveness is faster than my Intels, and Crucial, and the 840 PRO is supposed to be even faster... in all areas, but especially looking forward to the random reads/writes improvement.

Anyone else that has gone from any other SSD to 840 PRO how was your experience ?

I had a 512GB on pre-order through Newegg. I heard that Samsung is delaying the 512GB until the end of November. I really needed a new SSD a couple of weeks ago and I can't wait any longer. I just purchased a Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB.

Your Samsung will rock. I love my 256GB 830.

I've got a 256 inbound from Newegg. Should be here tomorrow. Probably won't get it installed until the weekend though.

Got mine day of. Pre-ordered with Newegg and had chosen overnight delivery.

Anyhow. I am coming from a Intel SSD 520. I had nothing but problems with the 520. Crashes, blue screens the drive was a total POS. So far not a single issue with the 256GB 840 seems fast. Glad I made the switch!

Got mine day of. Pre-ordered with Newegg and had chosen overnight delivery.

Anyhow. I am coming from a Intel SSD 520. I had nothing but problems with the 520. Crashes, blue screens the drive was a total POS. So far not a single issue with the 256GB 840 seems fast. Glad I made the switch!