Samsung 830 is sata2 and not sata3, can be fixed?

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by jonyyybe, May 18, 2013.

  1. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    hy my dear friends,

    If i have posted in the wrong area please move to the correct area, thanks for understanding.

    i have a problem with my laptop Asus X53Z with a motherboard K53Z which has an AMD A68M “Hudson-M3L” chipset that support Sata3 but I've tried 5 different versions of amd_sata drivers and none of them worked.

    I have an Samsung 830 ssd 128g sata3 and the laptop it's sees as sata2

    I've made some research myself and my A68M “Hudson-M3L” - Brazos 2.0 support sata3 but in win7-64bits it's working only as sata2.

    Down you have a text that I had made a copy from a website:
    The AMD A68M
    The new AMD chipset A68M “Hudson-M3L” A50M chipset replaces the “Hudson-M1″. Among the new features we are supporting 2 ports SATA-3 (with support for RAID 0/1), Gigabit LAN, 2 USB 3.0 ports and a native SD card reader integrated developments will help reduce the cost of the platform.

    Like the chipset A50M, A68M chipset is made from the manufacturing process of TSMC 65nm and has a TDP of 4.7W (0.75W in standby).

    I can not attach photos with wikipedia about A68M “Hudson-M3L” - Brazos 2.0 and more to see

    I've asked Asus help and they didn't know what chipset I have or if the laptop support upgrade for cpu(same name cpu); they will not help me, so you are my last hope.

    Please any questions that you have or if you want anything that help you to make this right tell me.

    Bios problem?

    I can't add photos....!

    I beg you to help me that my laptop to see my ssd how it should be.

    Thanks a lot. Warmest regards, Chris
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2013
  2. JayJapanB

    JayJapanB [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    If it is a driver issue between w7 64bit and w7 32bit there isn't really anything that can be done.
    It's Asus's responsibility to provide the appropriate driver.

    Driver hacks and fixes are only usually provided by the community when there is a strong demand as there are many driver issues which aren't easy to fix and need a lot of time put aside to fix.
     
  3. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    so the problem isn't from bios?
    if so, isn't a fix driver made by someone anywhere?
    so i should write again to asus? i think i would not get any help :(
    thanks
     
  4. JayJapanB

    JayJapanB [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Yeah, actually if it is to do with sata it is probably a bios issue,
    Got the latest bios? (BIOS 214)
    Checked over every setting in the bios?

    If there is no help there I think it is ASUS's problem.
     
  5. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    no, i didn't put the latest bios, because it's say that is an firmware update...so...i didn't try yet, but i will give a shot today
    i really don have what to check in bios more then ahci wich is enabled...
    i really don't know, i hope somebody else had this problem...
    cheers
     
  6. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Sometimes SATA ports are hardlocked to SATA2 even if the chipset supports SATA3.
    //Danne
     
  7. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    dizzy i'm totally agree with your statement;
    that's what i think, too, is in my case...but can this be fixed...?
    by driver? firmware? bios? asus?
    cheers
     
  8. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    how can i fix it?
     
  9. hotcrandel

    hotcrandel Gawd

    Messages:
    781
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Its possible they saved money and just put SATA II ports on your laptop, even if the chipset supports SATA III.

    Either way it sounds like a lot of work for 0 noticeable performance gain.
     
  10. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    it's possible to put sata II ports in order to put sata III to save money? so greedy to be? how can i check this ?
    to know for sure if it's from bios hardlock the ports to sata II or they really did put hardware sata II ports
     
  11. Aesma

    Aesma [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,844
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    No it's not possible. What is possible is to lock the ports in SATA2 to provide better battery performance.

    Anyway and especially on a laptop you're really not losing anything in SATA2, it's not like you have another SSD or an array to copy to.
     
  12. Warrior

    Warrior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,688
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Does the detailed spec sheet of your laptop say SATA3? If not then you ain't got it. And like everyone says, there is no noticable difference. Especially on some laptop....
     
  13. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    aesma, isn't true because i want raid in laptop :) and i have a hdd on usb 3.0 which is working according to detailed spec sheet of my chipset and that mean usb3.0 but only the sata ports are blocked in bios i think by asus; the bios is ami bios.

    another thing is that i want to make the bios update but i do not have the backup of actual bios, the tool to write the actual bios later if the update is not good for the laptop.

    let's say now i have (actual bios) AMI BIOS ver.211 and on the asus website at bios update is ver.214 and under it's says that the good thing it's bringing is firmware changed....so what's the improvements brought?

    warrior, yes i have, but i can not upload here the picture so everybody can see. please look here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_chipsets
    then go to
    Fusion controller hubs (FCH)

    and look at A68M because this says aida64 i have :

    i run aida64 for more information, but i have on cpu-z

    chipset : k12 bridge rev.00
    southbridge : A55/A60m rev.11

    i do believe that aid64 tell more accurate...

    but here is :

    A50M Hudson-M1[N 1] "Brazos" ×4 Gen. 1[M 1] 6 × 6 Gbit/s AHCI 1.2 0 + 14 + 2
    A60M Hudson-M2[N 1] "Sabine" ×4 Gen. 1 +DP RAID 0,1 10/100/1000 Yes Yes

    this is on the laptop:
    A68M Hudson-M3L[N 1] "Brazos" 2.0 2 × 6 Gbit/s AHCI 1.2 2+8

    so any chypset from a50m up, support sata3

    how somebody else told i think is from the bios, but how can be fixed? asus i'm sure they will not help :(
     
  14. Warrior

    Warrior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,688
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    So, like others have said, Just because your chip supports it, doesn't mean you have it.

    Please before you ask anymore questions, please update the BIOS, and report back.
     
  15. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    i want to update bios but can you explain or help me with what i wrote up?

    the necessary tools to do up and back for the bios if something is wrong and what does it mean :

    let's say now i have (actual bios) AMI BIOS ver.211 and on the asus website at bios update is ver.214 and under it's says that the good thing it's bringing is firmware changed....so what's the improvements brought by the firmware change?
     
  16. JayJapanB

    JayJapanB [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,448
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Who cares. Just try it out. We aren't going to know the changes.
    Hopefully there is a chance it fixes your issue.
    It's not a beta so there isn't much to worry about.

    Edit: In other words - It's your only hope I can see.
     
  17. jonyyybe

    jonyyybe n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013